Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gia Publications African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)

Gia Publications African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)

Featuring traditional, gospel, and modern worship compositions, this special collection of 586 hymns includes contributions from Thomas A. Dorsey, Andrae Crouch, and others. With large, clear print and musical notation, it also provides 52 Sundays of responsive readings and litanies based on the African American liturgical year, extensive indexes, and NRSV Scripture references. 1100 pages, hardcover from GIA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.862 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Review 1 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronald
Location:Baltimore Md.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Hymnal was a great addition to the United Methodist Hymnal we used for years. It provided new songs we implemented into our Worship service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trit
Location:Salisbury, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our congregation is highly pleased with the African American Heritage Hymnal. The array of Negro hymns is astounding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Hymnal

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gunny
Location:Kansas City, Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This Hymnal was requested by a church mother. She was so excited to receive it. Now every Sunday, she sings a hymnal out of this book. We have decided to make this book our official church hymnal book. We will be buying many more soon.
-Pastor Cortez Liggins-
Renewed Hope Christian Center
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!!

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adrienne Egerton
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this hymnal. There's nothing like the spiritual hymns and songs that have substance to get you through your tests and trials!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great hymnal

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Location:Sacramento, Ca.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great hymnal, some many great songs all found in one book. Everyone needs one of these books. The price is great for such a blessed hymnal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great value to Ministers

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sr Pastor
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
The value of this product will help anyone who is seeking a worthy tool to administer appropriate Worship methods and practices. Young ministers can use this as a way to equip themselves with practice and procedures as well as appropriate music for the Church that they serve.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Herbert Thompson
The songs that I have looked at have placed me in the mood to sing and look forward to additional songs which fill the spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
DMH
I saw this hymnal in a church in D.C. when I was visiting and wanted to buy it for myself. I'm glad I did. It is a great addition to my collection of hymns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cynthia A Horne
Excellent source for african hymns. I found it very useful, enlightening, interesting, and fulfilling. This product is a great resouce for providing a variety of songs for childen, choir, and vocalists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valarie Kendrick
Wonderful resource for songs of of long ago as well as other information to incorporate into the worship service! Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Dickerson
This hymnal has a great selection of songs old and new.I recomend this very highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Ellerbe-maycock
I think that is a great hymnal and the price was very reasonable. I purchased it as a gift and the recipient loves it. I think I will come back and purchase one for myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth C Tucker
African American Heritage Hymnal is excellent. It has a majority of my favorite songs and excellent ministry aids. We were able to use some for Black History month. After ordering my copy, I ordered 4 more for gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard
A beautiful hym book to have when looking for that special hym you grew up with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Norma J Bean
I was very pleased with the hymnal. It hasVERY THING a musician needs. I recommend it for church musicians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ronnette Alston
This is very good hymn book. You can find all the hard to find songs that you can't find in other hymn boks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eddie Patten
Great hymnal, the congregation absolutely love them! Immediately upon the introduction several of the members begin without prompting to sing with a "new voice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Meral Palmer
This is a perfect hymnal. It arrived in perfect condition, and just what I wanted
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynne Cullins
I am a hymnal collector and like to compare the selections in them to see what has made it to a newer hymnal and what has been added. I like the new hymns in this hymnal very much and I am glad to see some old standards have been retained. Easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for African American Heritage Hymnal (Hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pages Of Life
I review this product as a five star product, please never remove it from your ordering list. customers are amazed when they come and see this book on display.Thank you for carrying this item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>