Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Fiction Series Through the Deep Waters, Large Print

Christian Fiction Series Through the Deep Waters, Large Print

After escaping a Chicago brothel, Dinah Hubley becomes a maid at a Kansas hotel where local farmer Amos Patrick delivers goods each morning. She believes no respectable man will want a sullied woman; he's convinced no woman could ever see past his limp. Will these two wounded souls find a place of belonging with each other?
Average Customer Rating:
4.659 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
39 out of 4195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
Review 1 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amos Ackerman wants to be a prosperous chicken farmer. He has left his family of wheat farmers to strike out on his own in this new venture. Due to an accident when he was a boy, he has a bad hip and walks with a pronounced limp so crop growing isn’t an option. He meets Dinah and is instantly smitten. He begins to court her through exchanging letters, even though they live in the same city, and meeting twice a week for lunch at the hotel where Dinah works. He thinks his plans are working well and his life on the right track when he discovers something about Dinah that causes him to break off their relationship. He is angry with her, himself and God. He feels compassion for her stirring, but ruthlessly stomps it out. He wants to hold on to his bitterness. Can he realize his dreams of prosperity in the midst of his upside down life?
Dinah Hubley is a young woman born to a prostitute, unable to attend school regularly so has only an 8th-grade education and another secret that haunts her. She is initially nervous around Amos and other people, being afraid they might learn her secret. She also knows nothing about God until her roommate Ruthie invites her to church. Dinah wants so much to have someone love her unconditionally, but fears the discovery of her secret will banish her to a life of loneliness. As she gets to know Amos better, she imagines a permanent future with him. Then, a chance encounter with a hotel guest has a disastrous outcome for her Cinderella future she has imagined for herself.
This is a heart-warming romance that depicts the all too human consequences of trusting ourselves and avoiding God. God’s love for us knows no limit and His forgiveness is complete, which is aptly demonstrated in this story. Dinah had endured such an awful life. I could feel how very painful her past was to her thanks to the character development and skilled writing from the author. I also could identify with Amos’ sense of betrayal and anger over what he thought he had lost. These very realistic human emotions are deftly penned. Dinah’s healing transformation once she accepts God into her life was just wonderful to read, and her newfound strength, poise and confidence supplied by God very satisfying. I look forward to reading more of these novels of hope and God-centered lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Through Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer was a bit harder for me to read in the beginning, but I kept on as I am a fan of her work and I knew it would be worth it in the end and it was. It was only hard because of the content.
17 yr old Dina Hubley is the daughter of a prostitute who didn't want her. Dinah wants to escape the Brothel to become a Harvey Girl waiting tables along the railroad in a respectable hotel. Through some very sad events, she is able to start our as a chambermaid at the Clifton Hotel because she is not old enough to be a Harvey Girl at the time.
She falls for Amos Ackerman, a chicken farmer and has to decide whether to leave her dreams behind to be a Harvey Girl or keep following her dreams. She doesn't feel worthy because of her past, but Amos has struggles of his own.
I re'cd this as an ebook from Blogging for Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall, the story was sweet and refreshing.

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my, what a sweet, sweet story! Kim Vogel Sawyer chooses tough topics and turns them into grace filled masterpieces. Dinah's story is no exception. From the first pages of the story to the end, I was captured in the emotions. The story flowed smoothly over the pages. It's been a while since a book has moved me to tears, but this story did that and more.
The characters, especially Dinah, were flawlessly written. I've read several stories about girls with Dinah's background, but I can't remember one that has faced the same turmoil and degradation as Dinah. Watching her struggle through life afterwards was heartbreaking and at times I wanted to shake her! That, to me, made the story more realistic. Amos Ackerman was also a refreshing character. He wasn't the "perfect" male character that a lot of romance novels contain. He had a physical imperfection, and was also starkly human. He had his flaws. Ruthie was a breath of fresh air at some points, and also a great supporting character for Dinah. Even though she was written very human, she exemplified the Christian faith and how a Christian should act.
All of the characters, Dinah, Amos, and Ruthie, had to struggle to accept the message God had for them. Dinah struggles to accept the fact that she is not worthless in God's eyes. Amos struggles to come to grips with the fact that God knows what's best for him and keeping his eyes on God's will for his life. Ruthie struggles to understand God's will for her life might not be her own and she needs to pray and listen for her answer.
Overall, the story was sweet and refreshing. It provides an overwhelming sense of God's grace and love for all of us. I thoroughly enjoyed the story.
"Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace: whose mind is stayed on thee..." Isaiah 26:3
**I received this book for free from the publisher through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It didn’t quite hold my attention...

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebekah M
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Dinah Hubley didn’t have much of a childhood. Her mother is a prostitute and she grew up in popular Chicago brothel. Her dream is to become one of Harvey’s girls--a well-respected hotel waitress. When a tragedy occurs and her mother dies, Dinah tries to move on from her painful past and becomes a chambermaid at the Clifton Hotel. Amos Ackerman is a chicken farmer who has been the subject of ridicule his entire whole life due to an old injury that gives him a limp. He immediately takes a liking to Dinah--but will they be able to move from their pasts to embrace a beautiful future?
I have kept up with all of Kim Vogel Sawyer’s latest releases ever since reading My Heart Remembers, one of my favorite books. I immediately snatched the chance to read Through the Deep Waters when it came out. As much as I love the author and really wanted to love this book, I thought that it was just ok. Although the premise of the story was interesting and the message was beautiful, I didn’t connect with any of the characters and found myself bored and reading it quickly just so I could finish. However, this book did have a good message. It shows that matter what you have done in your life or how broken you are, you can find peace and healing through Christ. I thought it had a nice ending as well.
To sum up, Through the Deep Waters had a touching story, sweet romance, and a powerful message. Unfortunately it didn’t quite hold my attention. If you enjoy uplifting historical novels, then I recommend you try out this book.
**I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Through the Deep Waters was a very powerful book! I was so drawn into this story and felt very connected with the characters. The author did a wonderful job of capturing human nature in this book. Whether she was relating the sense of loneliness and hurt that Dinah usually carried around, the jealousy that sprung up from another chambermaid when she felt slighted, or the hope of true love, I rode the highs and lows with these characters.
Dinah has only known hardship in her life as the daughter of a prostitute, and hopes for a new start in Kansas. Amos has known his own hardship and carries the evidence in a noticeable limp. One person damaged on the inside and one on the outside. Watching the hand of God moving through this story was amazing! Dinah’s hurt and guilt is so deep. Will she ever be able to understand that there is a way to be truly washed clean? And when Amos learns the truth of Dinah’s past, will he be able to see her through God’s eyes or will she always be stained to him?
I was very impressed with this book. Even though it dealt with some pretty heavy issues, including prostitution and rape, it was an amazingly uplifting book. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and highly recommend it to fans of historical fiction.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A tough subject, handled well

Date:May 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dinah Hubley is the daughter of a prostitute, living in her mother's brothel in Chicago. When her mother falls ill, and her madam threatens Dinah with eviction for both of them, Dinah agrees to sacrifice her innocence for her mother's security and her own escape. However, the choice damages Dinah more than she could have foreseen, and as she flees to Kansas to work in a Harvey hotel, she longs to put her past behind her and work her way to a life of respect. Once in Kansas, she's forced to hide her true self from all of those around her, lest she be fired for an immoral past. This includes distancing herself from her friendly roommate Ruthie, their coworkers, and the intriguing egg man Amos Ackerman. Can she continue to keep herself removed from the people in her life who are trying to show her kindness? If they learn her secrets, will they distance themselves from her?
Oh, how this book made me hurt for Dinah. Everything she'd worked so hard to avoid while living in the brothel came crashing in on her in one self-sacrificing decision. It's easy to look at what was coming for her and think that she should have known what she was sacrificing, but the author does such a good job of painting Dinah's innocent nature and remorse, that Dinah becomes the wronged party and you only hope for things to turn out well for her.
I also appreciated the author's handling of Dinah's search for God's love. She desperately wanted to believe when Ruthie told her that God loved her, but her internal guilt and shame make it hard for her to trust that God cares for her. Even Ruthie's relationship with Dinah felt realistic - she'd been raised as a pastor's daughter to treat others with kindness and point them to God, but in her own desires she found that jealousy and envy sometimes got in the way of doing the right thing.
There were several side story lines that I wish the author had followed up on with more detail, but it would probably have made for a more scattered feeling story, or else it would have made the book too long to be enjoyable. Overall, I give this book 4 stars. It dealt with topics not discussed easily, and it did it well, while keeping the characters well-rounded and honest. Not everything worked out the way the characters wanted, there were consequences to their actions, yet there was God's grace and love to bring healing.
Blogging for Books provided this book to me for free in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite from Kim Vogel Sawyer

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved every book I have ever read by Kim Vogel Sawyer, but I must admit that this one has been my favorite of all. I have always been a bit intrigued by the Harvey Girls (I love old movies!), so learning more about the lives of some of these girls and the standards of behavior required for them to maintain, along with the prestige and privileges of different positions was enthralling. But the circumstances of Dinah's upbringing and her progression as she slowly learns about God and tentatively puts her trust in Him is also like watching a flower slowly bloom and come to life. The novel has conflict and situations that affect people always, and the characters do not remain one dimensional through out the book. It has been a while since I have read a fictional novel that I only put down because my eyes literally would not stay open, but this one kept me wanting to read just one more chapter before falling asleep. Excellent historical novel that can speak to those who prefer contemporary stories. Well done!
I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kim Vogel Sawyer's latest book

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rose McCauley
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer's latest book was something I may not have chosen to read from the back cover blurb if I hadn't read all of this author's others books and knew I could trust her writing.
Blurb: "Born to an unloving prostitute in a popular Chicago brothel...Dinah feels more worthless than ever, based on a single horrible decision she made to survive." The short beginning section was difficult to read because Dinah Hubley lived a difficult life in Chicago, but it also made me even more sympathetic to the heroine, and left me cheering on her and the hero, chicken farmer Amos Ackerman, as they encounter the bumps along the way to finding their true happiness.
Like Dinah, give yourself a chance to experience God's love and the love of a good man in this novel.
This book was a gift from the publisher, but this review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A thoughtful and moving story.

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book I've read by Kim Vogel Sawyer and I think it is my favorite of hers thus far. I tend to like stories with a little grittier background to it. I find that certain difficult situations help make characters more life like and it also brings problems that people don't think about forward.
I will say as a disclaimer, this story deals with a topic some people may find hard to deal with, rape, but it is handled in a respectful way. As I said, certain situations allow characters in a story become life like, and these circumstance made Dinah come to life with the emotions she battles and the thoughts that plague her afterwards.
Dinah is a girl who has not led a happy life. She is the unwanted child of a prostitute. She has no real friends, expect for the cook in the brothel....she was born and raised in the brothel, so because of the circumstance she born into, she is shunned by everybody. When she finds out her mother is sick, she wants to help, but the method that is provided is not the way she wanted to help. Unfortunately, her say was stripped from her and scars she carries makes her close up to those around her. When her mother passes away, Dinah flees Chicago to a smaller town to have a fresh start. Here, she can bury her past.
In Florence, Kansas, Dinah is introduced to a new way of living. It is a smaller and quieter life then she has experienced, and new people. One being her new roommate, Ruthie. I'm just going to say it, Ruthie rubbed me the wrong way from her first introduction. She reminded me instantly of a couple of people I've met and as I progressed, my thoughts proved true to how her role would shape up, but thankfully, lessons are learned.
Another person that Dinah is introduced to is Amos. A local chicken farmer who was disabled in an accident when he was a boy. He is a hard working man who has had to deal with a tough situation, but instead of wallowing in grief, he has risen to the occasion. I enjoyed reading about Amos. He was laid back and a little naive about women, but it made him all the more real.
This is a story of brokenness and emotional scars. They are the injuries that can't be seen and unless you can read a person thoughts, you won't know what they are going through. It's like the saying I've seen floating around, "Don't judge. You have no idea what trials they are going through." This story is a good reminder.
Thank you to Blogging for Books, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Heartwarming story

Date:May 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book I've read by this author and she continues to impress me with her story telling ability. Each story she develops at least one character that I find extremely endearing. In this story there are two, Dinah and Amos, our two main characters.
Both of our main characters are broken in their own way. Each struggle to find acceptance, yet Amos had his faith that he leaned on. Dinah broke my heart with the depth of her pain and the feelings of worthlessness. I saw myself in Dinah as I think many women will. Ruthie, Dinah's roommate and co-worker was also a great character and I enjoyed watching her as she struggled with how to handle her new roommate. However, in many ways my favorite character was Mr. Irwin.
The story itself is well told and not completely predictable. It's well paced and I found myself drawn in from the opening pages.
This is a stand alone story. If you've read and enjoyed other Kim Vogel Sawyer books you will absolutely love this story. If she's a new author to you this will give you a great introduction to a talented writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's love can wash away our shame!

Date:May 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes the person we have a difficult time forgiving is ourselves. Sin has a way of doing that. Ingraining itself into your soul, tormenting you every minute of the day and night, reminding you of your mistakes over and over again. Yet nothing can free us from that feeling unless we are willing to turn it over to God first. Nothing we do, can erase that guilt and sin like He can.
In Kim Vogel Sawyer's latest novel, Through the Deep Waters, Dinah Hubley has lived every girls nightmare. Making a decision at 16 to save her mother from being thrown out on the streets when she became ill working at the Yellow Parrot, a brothel in 1883 in Chicago, she does the unthinkable. When the owner of the brothel, Flo, informs her that no one stays for free in her hotel unless she can pay, she offers Dinah a one time opportunity for just the man willing to pay her to settle her debts to care for her mother. She takes Flo up on her offer and suddenly realizes her mistake, But before she can leave, the man refuses to let her go and forces Dinah to fulfill her commitment.
Knowing that she will be forever scarred by that one act, she flees to Kansas to work as a Harvey Girl as a server in their hotel. She hopes with distance, she can leave her past in Chicago. Only the night terrors and guilt will keep her in bondage even at her new job. Since she isn't quite 18, she takes a position as a chambermaid, cleaning rooms with another girl, Ruthie, who hopes that they will become close friends. But since Dinah carries so much guilt with her, she can't even see the honest friendship that Ruthie is offering her. Instead she forces herself to remain alone in a self imposed prison hoping to do her work well enough to get hired as a server.
But Dinah's beauty will only serve as an invitation to many men who fancy her good looks, and none more so than the local chicken farmer, Amos Ackerman. He's been praying to God to send him and wife, but knows that the wagon accident he had a child living him with a limb, will likely live him living alone without the possibility of a wife or family. He can only hope that someday, someone like Dinah might see something more in him than the disability that limits what he can do! Will God find a way to answer his prayers or will be forced to live a life all alone with nothing but his chickens for company?
I received Through the Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer compliments of Waterbrook Multnomah for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This is such a beautiful story of forgiveness and redemption among the least of us that deserve it. It also highlights the awareness to childhood sexual abuse and the implications that can be carried throughout the lives of those impacted for years. Just the burden they have to carry with them can be more painful than the act itself and one they feel that they are to blame. Such a beautiful story of how happily ever afters can happen even in light of something so horrible! I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. A reading discussion guide is included at the conclusion of this novel for book clubs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Through the Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Date:April 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dinah was not only born in a brothel but was raised there until she turned seventeen. The cook at the brothel told her about advertisements for Harvey Girl waitresses in hopes of getting her out of the brothel before she became like the others. To her disappointment she would have to be eighteen to be a waitress but to her great surprise they would hire her as a housekeeper at the hotel. She will finally be able to put the stigma behind her of being shunned by the community as being tainted.
She is determined to stay to herself and work hard at Clifton Hotel in Florence, Kansas so she can move on to becoming a Harvey Girl when she turns eighteen. She catches the interest and admiration of a Florence local chicken farmer, Amos Ackerman. She is flattered by the attention but stays in fear of someone finding out about being the daughter of a prostitute. She avoids making friends with the girls she works with but takes up their invitation to join them in going to church. She is shown nothing but love and respect from everyone. She wondered why anyone, much less God, would care about the illegitimate daughter of a prostitute?
The author has written a sad tale of an illegitimate girl searching to find respectability. More so she yearned for unconditional love. The character Dinah had little confidence in mankind and for good cause. She was shown little more love than an unwanted rodent. This story reveals God had other plans for Dinah beyond anything she could ever have imaged. It was a heart-wrenching tale turned by redemption and reconciliation. Then there is sweet tender love growing in the heart of a most unexpected young man for this lovely lost girl.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books/WATERBROOK PRESS for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story of redemption

Date:April 28, 2014
Through the Deep Waters by Kim Vogel Sawyer is a story of extreme sadness but also of extreme joy. It even has a magical Cinderella quality in some parts of the book. Honestly, I wasn't sure if I would like this novel when I realized it was based on a girl who grew up in a brothel because I wasn't sure how much they would say about it. But when I started to read it I found it to be a powerful story of redemption filled with needed reminders to Christians on how we should react to ugly situations in life.
Dinah has hated her life for as long as she could remember. Growing up in a brothel has brought her nothing but grief so when an opportunity arises for her to leave she grabs it. Leaving her ugly past behind, she travels from Chicago for a job as a chambermaid at the Clifton Hotel in Florence, Kansas. Her goal is to become a Harvey girl when she turns eighteen because she wants the prestige and respect that comes with it. Even though she has moved far from home and past, she is still beset with fear. It governs her life so much that she can't see or accept any good in her life.
Amos Ackerman walks with a limp from a wagon accident when he was a child. Because his leg didn't heal right, he is limited in what he can do. He started a chicken farm so he can support himself and has been doing quite well with it. During one of his trips to town, he meets Dinah. Immediately drawn to her, he thinks he may have met his future wife. When he sees her at church, he is almost positive she is the one. But their journey together isn't as easy as he thought it would be. Why is Dinah so timid and fearful?
Even though this isn't what I would typically read, I found it to be one of the best books the author has written. I really liked Amos. He has a lot of perseverance, and I loved how realistic the author wrote him with his physical and spiritual struggles. One of my favorite parts of the story was when Dinah got saved. Finally free of fear and shame, she blossoms into a confident lady. What a wonderful story of hope and the redeeming power of God.
I was given this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uplifting, Spirit-filled Book!

Date:April 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
pitkinchick
Location:Pitkin, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Dinah, a young lady raised in a brothel, who is broken and scarred. She meets Amos, a chicken farmer who is crippled from an accident as a child. She asks him, "What broke you?" She doesn't realize that she is broken. I thought about this statement and realized that in some ways we are all broken like Dinah and Amos. We are all in need of God's mercy and Forgiveness. Mrs. Sawyer brought this out so wonderfully in her story. I was so touched by the tender story of Dinah and her desire for forgiveness and love, of Amos and his desire for God to send him a helpmeet. This book is such a tender love story. But it is also a book of encouragement and faith. I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah for an honest review. I am so glad that I did because it really touched my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Known and Loved... and Healed.

Date:April 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer's latest novel is one that has been on her heart for years. I can see why.
Dinah is a girl fighting a battle every day just to keep living.
She's paralyzed by fear and bound by shame, and both were bequeathed to her by one abuser, one man.
Dinah is extremely sensitive to other people's suffering. That's why she asked a limping stranger a very pointed question: "What broke you?"
In a world where we avoid addressing people's pain- perhaps because we are impotent to fix it?- Dinah stood out.
Little did she know that this stranger would soon see *her* brokenness and be drawn to her. That man was Amos Ackerman.
Amos's time with Dinah is less about him and her than about God changing him, because even tender-hearted Amos will judge a person without knowing them. His story is about how God changes his attitude, showing him how he could easily be part of Dinah's problem instead of Dinah's healing.
Then there's Ruthie, a fellow chambermaid at the Harvey Hotel.
A young lady from a wholesome home who doesn't fear the dark or shy from men's attention.
Ruthie must crack open her heart and realize that not everyone had the beautiful, innocent early years like she did.
She must learn how- reluctantly, falteringly- to give kindness to Dinah, and be glad instead of jealous when Dinah is blessed.
Ruthie's part in the story serves to remind us that we don't know somebody until they reveal themselves.
We can guess and assume and judge but until we communicate honestly we can't meet their needs.
Another truth comes through in this story, if you know where to look. Prostitution is not a choice women make, it's a situation that they're forced into.
In our sin-sick world we don't always gather the vulnerable and broken and destitute under our wings. Sometimes, we push them out onto the street. And once there, whether you're a 24 year old mother of three with nobody to help provide, or a 15 year old runaway with self-absorbed or abusive parents, what do you do to stay alive?
Whether you're forced into sex slavery out of poverty, or because you've been bombarded by the message that you're good for nothing else, or because a boyfriend/pimp has taken control of you, every woman deserves better. The evils of others are not her fault.
She didn't bring them upon herself, and she does have a future ahead of her if we will step up and help her heal.
Fellow reader, if you have a passion for helping women be healed and set free after abuse and mistreatment, then I suggest that you read further. Educate yourself about the psychology of abuse. Study the patterns of shame that bind a woman when she's told that someone else's crime was her fault. Try Naomi Zacharias' book The Scent of Water. Try Mary Pipher's book Reviving Ophelia.
Look up Vicki Tiede and Shannon Ethridge, both of them speak hope into women's lives.
The sex slavery that Dinah was surrounded by still goes on, and will until theres's no one left who thinks they can purchase a woman.
Read The White Umbrella by Mary Francis Bowley. She believes that it can happen: Sex Slavery and Prostitution can be ended.
That's the vision. That's the goal.
It will involve large-scale work like is done at Wellspring Living, and personal restoration like what happened to Dinah.
The results will be just as beautiful as a confident, peaceful, loved young woman.
Thank you Waterbrook for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite Kim Sawyer by far.

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zelma
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This by far is my favorite book by Kim Sawyer. The subject matter is a bit hard to read, in the beginning. BUT stick with it. It has such a wonderful message of Love, Strength, and a deep longing to become something more.
Dinah grew up in a whore house. Her mom hid her away, She was not even allowed to call her mom, MOM. She would lose business that way. Dinah had a deep respect for the cook, and he loved her too. What she needed more than anything was a desire to be loved. Then when her mom took sick, something terrible happened. She was able to leave and start a new life as a Harvey girl.
There she goes on a path of self discovery, friendship, and possibility of love. What would people do when they found out where she grew up? Would they shun her and fire her. Or would they love her. This is a charming story with a very strong message, I feel will touch the hearts of so many who have been hurt in the way Dinah has. If her heart can be mended so can Yours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful book!

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
LeaD
Location:Hutchinson, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is Kim's best book yet! I could not put it down. Kim deals with a hard situation and handles it in a way that is not indelicate. If you have never read a Kim Vogel Sawyer book, you won't be disappointed in Through the Deep Waters. I stayed up late to finish it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good Book

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
marybeth
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book deals with hope, faith and belief in Christ. How as a believer you can live your life in Christ.
A perfect setting that deals with forgiveness. A good book that you can read right through. Although is was good I didn't feel it was a 5 star book. I give it four stars as it lacked things like depth of characters and complexity. It did get a little boring in areas as well. I don't feel this was one of the authors best books. I have read many and they have been excellent. This was not one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
gatorade635
Location:Midland, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is my favorite of the three books I've read by this author. Both of the main characters were very broken and it was cool to watch them let God heal their brokenness. Amos was such a sweet hero, he didn't have much and he walked with a limp but he never let that affect his personality and he was kind and gentle with everyone. And my heart broke for Dinah and what she'd had to endure and while I kept wanting her to open up and let people in I completely understood why she closed herself off. Ruthie, Dinah's friend, was a pretty good character who I either really liked or was really annoyed with. I did like how she presented a good picture of what being a Christian is like in the day to day. She would mess up but she repented and did her best to change. All in all this was a sweet story!
I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Through the Deep Waters, Large Print
This review is fromThrough the Deep Waters.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

emotional roller coaster

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Greer, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book description: "Born to an unloving prostitute in a popular Chicago brothel, timid seventeen-year-old Dinah Hubley was raised amidst the secrets held in every dark, grimy room of her home. Anxious to escape, Dinah pursues her dream of becoming a Harvey Girl, waiting tables along the railroad in an upscale hotel. But when she finds out she isn’t old enough, her only option is to accept a job as a chambermaid at the Clifton Hotel in Florence, Kansas. Eager to put everything behind her, Dinah feels more worthless than ever, based on a single horrible decision she made to survive.
The Clifton offers a life Dinah has never known, but blinded to the love around her, Dinah remains buried in the shame of her past. When a handsome chicken farmer named Amos Ackerman starts to show interest, Dinah withdraws further, convinced no one could want a sullied woman like her. Despite his self-consciousness about his handicapped leg and her strange behavior, Amos resolves to show Dinah Christ’s love. But can she ever accept a gift she so desperately needs?"
My review: Kim Vogel Sawyer takes the reader on an emotional roller coaster in "Through the Deep Waters." On one hand this was a difficult book to read, but on the other hand I couldn't put it down! Prostitution is a very difficult but real subject. Ms. Sawyer did an excellent job portraying the horror and the devastation that results from that kind of lifestyle without going into inappropriate detail. Even through the horror, a feeling of hope is woven throughout the story with the plan of salvation clearly given in the culmination of our ultimate hope and forgiveness being revealed. I would recommend that mothers read this book before allowing their daughters to read it. While there is nothing inappropriate, the content is such that each mom will need to make the decision as to whether their daughters are old enough/mature enough to read this book. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook Press in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.