Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5

Bethany House Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Review 1 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Learned So Much

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
nelle
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a blessing to have read and learned so much in these five books! I devoured them, one a day! I pray that there are more out there like these!
Thank you Heavenly Father for giving Lynn Austin the words in these books to share with us! Amen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend, Excellent read

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Windsor, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started to read this series after being recommended to by a friend. This series is amazing. It’s historical fiction about the life of King Hezekiah and his family. It’s biblical history come to life. I was totally hooked and could not put these books down.
I love how the author uses scripture and brings the Old Testament to life. I truly felt like I was a part of the story. Austin connects you with the characters and their lives so easily. You feel their pain, excitement and fear.
I did read through Kings and Chronicles in the Bible to compare and Austin does a great job of telling the true and also historical story. She did her research and it shows. Impressive.
I was sad to finish the last book, I wish it would have kept on going. But it did stir a desire in me to read the Word of God and find out more for myself!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous Read !!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Location:Fruitvale, BC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These books are fabulous as everyone else says. I learned so much. God has no grandchildren and these books show that so clearly. I bought these as e-books, but am now seriously considering buying them as printed books so that I can mark them up or lend them out!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Follows the Bible in the kings time.

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
lissie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book has you hooked! I loved the series. I love historical fiction, and you never want this series to end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Series!!!

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
a2j4eternity
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are the first books I read written by Lynn Austin. I have now read everything of hers I can get my hands on! Love her writing style but more importantly I love how she makes the Word of God come alive! I will never look at these Bible characters in the same way. The history of the time period is described so vividly. I would recommend these books to anyone who wants to be stirred and go deeper in their walk with the Lord!
Thank you Lynn!!!! Keep writing ~ we love you!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
barbie
Location:new york
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read for everyone, you feel as if you are there in their midst. an excellent series... wish there were more books in this series. Hope Lynn Austin will write more of the biblical novels, which you can back up with scripture also makes it so real and alive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joann
An absolute must read. A great series that kept drawing me back to self reflection and prayer. I saw myself in so many of the different characters at different points in my spiritual walk. I felt it was clearly on track with the OT account.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Victoria
I love these books and learned so much from them that I didn't know. We need more books like these to teach us how to live the way God intended. I absolutely thank God I came across these books. I would give them 100 stars if I could.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Giffin
This series is WONDERFUL. I have loaned my series to two people in my Bible Study and they loved it as well. We all found it riveting, couldn't put it down, discipline went out the window with these. We need more of this type of literature. Draws us to the Old Testament, the foundation of our LIFE! FIVE STARS for Lynn Austinustin
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Johnson
My favorite Author has always been Francine Rivers because she explores the background of her books and writes from God's perspective. Lynn Austin takes you deep into God's Word also. God's Word convicts and humbles you through the series of The Chronicles of the Kings Series. God's Word comes alive through her writings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Dasher
This was a wonderful series, I could hardly put these books down after I began reading. Not only are they entertaining but give great insight into the Biblical period in which the stories are set.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vickie Sellers
I read through the Bible every year. While reading this series I found myself truly falling in love with the Old Testament even more!I read though them in a week and then read them again. Of the fifty plus books I read in the past year these were the best !!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brianne Dirks
This series provided such an incredible snapshot into the Old Testament times. The characters came alive and the the character development was excellent. This was a treat to read. Thank you for such a great Christian fiction series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Corn
This series is my favorite out of all Lynn's books. It truly brings the Bible to life before your eyes. It gives you an understanding of what it was like to live and worship in Israel during the time of the kings. I would recommend this series to anyone who wants a better understanding of the heritage and lineage of our savior.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dena Howard
This series is literally one of the best I have ever read. Lynn Austin pulls you into the story in a way that leaves you with a desire to know more of God's word. I found myself putting down the books and looking up the psalms that Hezekiah was quoting. Superb!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Laura Martin Andrus
Absolutely the best. She made these Old Testament stories come to life in a way that makes them more understandable for us today. They are so well written, I read all five books in just about a week, one after another... I couldn't put them down. Thank you Lynn Austin for your research, biblical understanding and imagination...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chronicles of the Kings Series, Vols 1-5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sandra J. LeBlanc
In all categories this is an exceptional Non stop read!! Most important of all it drove me to read more of my Bible. Highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.