Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress The Practice of Godliness

NavPress The Practice of Godliness

How can we develop a character that's steadily transformed into Jesus' likeness? By laying an inward foundation of God-centeredness! Discover how to seek a deeper devotion to the Lord; train yourself to be godly; clothe yourself in Christ; cultivate humility, contentment, thankfulness, joy, self-control, peace, love, and other fruits of the Spirit; and more. 233 pages, softcover from NavPress.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The Practice of Godliness
Review 1 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Martilou
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great study, for new Christians and also for the older Christian. It gives you explanation of the fear of God, fruit of the Spirit, and lots, lots more. Great Great Study!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MyNooker7
Location:Orrington, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book to enhance Christian growth. A great
book for small group study and discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book!

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
DaveRC
Location:Boston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this book for small groups in my church. This book is readable and challenging but not divorced from the power to change: the Holy Spirit, the gospel, and the love of God. Read all his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Jerry Bridges talks about Devotion in the first few chapters of the book, he emphasizes the importance of having the proper motivation and how to arrive to that place. Each chapter thereon focuses on godly traits, namely: humility, contentment, thankfulness, joy, holiness, self-Control, faithfulness, peace, patience, gentleness, kindness, goodness and love. All these godly traits is not new to any of us. Even non-Christians are familiar with all these. But the lovely thing about this book is how Bridges is able to articulate the practical guidance on how we can develop that. It is downright amazing!
Read more: http://www.marriageandbeyond.com/2011/01/19/book-review-the-practice-of-godliness-by-jerry-bridges/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

uplifting and encouraging

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
donaldmurdo
Location:Isle of Lewis
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
’How can you develop godly character?’ is a big question and one that is rigorously and practically analysed in this book. Set out as a workbook with 18 chapters divided into 12 manageable sections for individual or group study, it is a useful and challenging meditation on what it means to establish and grow in Christian character.
One criticism of books like this would usually be that they centre themselves on one area of striving towards ‘godliness’ at the expense of overlooking other areas for consideration. That would be invalid here as not only are eighteen areas outlined, but readers are invited to interact with the materials and with each other through ‘study questions’ summarising the content and prompting learning through personal application. This is a well presented book and I enjoyed the study guide format and the way that the ‘look’ of the pages allowed a very personal interaction with the content.
As a study guide it is excellent, as a book it is well constructed and helpful and as a reading experience it is challenging. The study guide format works well for this title and as a personal observation, I would say that with a skilled study group leader, there would be some very interesting sessions arising out of some of the topics. People and groups that use this curriculum should get a spirited discussion out of sessions such as ‘self-control ‘as the themes presented are honest and provocative. I would willingly recommend this to a Book Group or a Christian Study group as the lessons are of wide application.
You will not finish this book without being affected positively and if one powerful lesson to come out of the book is that when God speaks, we should listen – not argue, debate or consider but listen and obey, then that is all for the better. I would recommend strongly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
What is godliness?What Makes someone godly?These are some of the questions that Jerry poses in the beginning of his book. He provides a captivating study of God's word and how to understand our part in learning to be godly. This is his follow up book to Pursuit of Holiness (which I have not read).The book is broken deliberately into three sections - each covering parts of godliness such as humility, contentment, thankfulness, joy, holiness, self-control, faithfulness, peace, patience, gentleness, kindness, goodness and love.I really liked this book though a few times I felt like it was a little over my head. I found my head swarming with all the verses and quotes and had to step back from it time and time again to take some of it in. I am pretty sure I'll be doing it over again at some point. It is a very convicting read that will not allow you to stay as you are in your Christian walk! So be prepared to move forward and learn through this study!The Practice of Godliness can come be accompanied by it's study guide if you want to do it in a group setting. Personally I found that I would have been totally lost without it, so I will recommend it for those who might struggle like I did through it. That being said Jerry gives a great examples and digs in deep. I think all of us need to learn how to be more godly.** review copy provided by NavPress
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ben Hatcher
I have one of the first editions of this book since the mid 80's and taught classes from it!This is an amazing book on the study of the Fruit of the Spirit and living a godly life! It really made an impact on my life! It is now even more amazing for groups with the addition of the Study Guide and the AudioBook. I highly recommend this book and the study material!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael
A wonderful book that has helped me to understand the real depth of the fruits of the Spirit. The first few chapters were quite juvenile (that I almost stopped reading the rest of the book), but as the book went on, it started to get really interesting and challenging as a mature Christian. I love it! Bridges is one of my favorite authors for many reasons!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jon Anderson
VERY GOOD! A great follow up to The Pursuit of Holiness, some really challenging and 'do-able' advice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Practice of Godliness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2002
Customer Avatar
Dave Lewis
Very practical and easy to follow. This book is a must read for Christians who are serious about growing in godly character. A committed devotion to God is essential for a quality, Spirit filled, walk with the Lord. Jerry Bridges has done a tremendous job in showing his readers how to apply "The Practice of Godliness" in their daily lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.