Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Teaching Textbooks Inc Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)

Teaching Textbooks Inc Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)

All the fantastic features that have made other Teaching Textbooks are so popular are included in the new Math 5. Designed for independent students, the Teaching Textbooks learner will discover a wealth of instruction written directly to them, clear examples, fun hand-drawn illustrations, highlighted important concepts, and of course, step-by-step solutions to every problem. Plus, a 5-10 minute interactive lecture is included for every lesson, and includes a print summary that reinforces the key concepts to remember. Automated grading, non-required additional practice problems, lectures and step-by-step audiovisual solutions to every homework and quiz problem make for a thorough and easy to use curriculum for both parent and student. Consistent review and real-world illustrations help reinforce both concepts taught, as well as the relevance of what they're learning.

Fifth grade topics covered include operations with whole numbers, adding and subtracting with multiple digits, multiplication, rounding and estimation, fractions, decimals, money & measurement, division, percents, number lines and more. Teaching Textbooks Grade 5.

The new hybrid CDs feature multiple improvements, including:

  • Easy multiple user setup (built into program)
  • An area where parents can access all of their students' gradebooks.
  • An editable gradebook where you can reset a particular lesson(s) without having to uninstall and reinstall.
  • Easy gradebook backup and/or transfer.

    This kit includes:

  • Student textbook: 558 pages, softcover, spiral bound.
  • Answer booklet: 34 pages, softcover.
  • Four hybrid CD-ROMs with lectures, problems, quizzes and solutions arranged by lesson.

    System Requirements:

  • PC Requirements:
  • A CPU of 1.0 GHz or faster
  • A Windows XP or later operating system
  • 256 MB RAM
  • A 4x CD-ROM drive
  • Speakers

    MAC Requirements:

  • A CPU Processor type of: G3 PowerPC / Intel Solo
  • Processor Speed of: 500 MHz / 1.0 GHz or faster
  • Mac OS 10.4 or later
  • 256 MB RAM
  • A 4x CD-ROM drive
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.45 out of 5
    4.4
     out of 
    5
    (20 Reviews) 20
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
    5 stars
    16
    4 stars
    1
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    2
    17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    1 Question | 6 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Review 1 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    product has great features

    Date:August 20, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Wendy
    Location:Macon, GA
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is the best teaching method for math for homeschoolers. I've used teaching textbook since pre-algebra and was thrilled to see that teaching textbook was available starting in the 3rd grade. My youngest son loves it...he's been using since 3rd grade and now is on the 5th grade....Thank you!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 25, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Glory
    Location:Kamloops,Canada
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    My Son loves this program so much! He can work independently. The program would be a good fit for several types of learners. He used to complete one math lesson a week, now he completes up to three in one day. We will continue to buy this curriculum.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Easy to use, and it works!

    Date:December 23, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Rafismom
    Location:Minneapolis, MN
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I had previously tried non-curriculum, and 4 other curricula for my son. He had learned to say "I can't" in school and had particular difficulties in math. This curriculum, which we began using at the "third grade" level and have continued with, has worked well. We supplement with the word problem materials from Critical Thinking Publications, and with the online drill program of Reflex math - and my son wants to do his math first!. As he has difficulty with the physical acct of writing we use this on a split screen with the MathPad Plus program, to work out the problems. This means I don't really need the book, but I get it anyway so I can review what is coming up first.
    Concerns that it is "not at grade level" don't matter to me, as we are working at several grade levels, catching up on math by completing 1.5 levels per year, and I don't care what level the program says it is -- only that my son is learning the skills. I have no intention of putting him back in school , so the level just is irrelevant.
    +5points
    5of 5voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    5th Grade Teaching Textbooks

    Date:November 5, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    PamperedPumpkin
    Location:California
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We LOVE Teaching Textbooks!! Three weeks ago we made the decision to remove our son from the public school system, and start home schooling. Math is not my best subject, and I didn't want to hold him back. With such huge pressure falling on my shoulders, I researched curriculum for 3 days. What a blessing to have found such a fantastic program. We are both learning to actually "enjoy" math time!
    Gone are the tears and 3 hour homework battles. Thank You so much for creating such an awesome program, and easing some of the pressure! Now if only they would create programs for the other subjects! :)
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    The BEST math curriculum ever!!!!

    Date:October 29, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Kristin C.
    Location:Dallas, TX
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We have used about 4 of the levels now and have NOTHING negative to say! It is an amazing program that I recommend to ALL of my friends and any homeschooler I meet! It allows our kids to work independently and they have gained sooo much self-confidence. We have many learning disabilities in our home...some with major auditory & visual processing disorders, as well as fetal alcohol effects, and they ALL do amazing with this program. I don't know how, but it works with all 5 of our kids that have used it, and I am so thankful for it! On a side note...we only buy the CD's alone...the workbooks etc are optional & we have never needed them (saves money). And it is VERY simple to reuse the CD for another child...I am computer illiterate & have called the customer service a few times when forgetting how to 'erase' a CD for a new student to use, and they have always been so wonderful!! It is worth every penny to purchase this program!! (just wish they would make other subjects!!)
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 17, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    9yr old twins
    Location:Baton Rouge, LA
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Love it -- It makes math so much more fun and kids look forward to it and they also like the bonus points.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Very user friendly for student!

    Date:August 16, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Christine
    Location:Waterloo, IA
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The program is very easy to use and my daughter loves it! I love how it checks her work and I can see the results easily. I don't see a need yet for the printed book or answer book. Next time I will just get the discs! Love it!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 8, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    homeschool mom
    Location:Lancaster, Pa.
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This math program has saved my sanity! Some say it is below grade level so I put my gifted 5th grader in Math 6th and he has done well and gets his work done in no time flat. He does 2 lessons a day and does not complain at all. (This is after 2 years of struggling to get 1 lesson done a day! When I asked him what the difference was he said his previous math curriculum bored him to tears!)
    My daughter always struggled with math before but she loves Teaching Textbooks! She loves that she can listen to the lectures by herself. If she forgets how to do something she will go back to the lecture that explains it and listen again. Also, the fact that the program lets her know if she did a problem wrong right away has been a HUGE help! (This ensures that she is doing it correctly and not learning something incorrectly and then having to RELEARN it again the correct way after I grade her papers)
    We love this program! :)
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great Math program

    Date:April 11, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Farmermom
    Location:Elma, Wa
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I started my kids on this math after struggleing with other math program a friend told me about this and it has worked great for all my kids
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful Product

    Date:February 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    BeckyE
    Location:PA
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My daughter has always struggled with math. I have used many different types of math programs, and this seems to be the perfect fit for us. She really likes it. She actually wants to do math!! I will continue using Teaching Textbooks for my daughter and will be purchasing it for my sons next school year also.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Not on grade level shown

    Date:February 8, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Persi
    Location:NC
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    This kit is great if you want your child to gain independence skills, or if he's struggling with math. It's fun and easy to use. However, it is below the grade level shown. In addition, it's not organized by topics, so it's very difficult to supplement with other materials. Problem solving is limited. We're half way through the school year, and my son hasn't learned much of anything new. I'm searching for a new curriculum now.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Excellent program

    Date:January 7, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    kabob86
    Location:Long Island, NY
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We took our daughter out of public school at the end of last year in 4th grade. She was struggling, getting 10% on math tests and average 2 out 4 on her report card. We did Teaching Textbooks Grade 4 over the summer and caught her up so she could start 5th grade in September. She has gained confidence and now she is getting 90%-100% on her daily work and tests as well on this program. This program is made her more motivated as well. Her frustration level is diminished and she now knows she can do Math! We will use Teaching Textbooks through high school!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This product meets our needs

    Date:December 17, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    peaceful mom
    Location:Midwest
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I am so happy to have purchased this math set. I was a little hesitate to purchase it because of the price. This is our third math program we are trying for our 6th grade son.
    My son is a different child now. He now loves doing math and now I don't have to tell him to do his math. He does the computer and workbook everyday.
    This program is the BEST for my son. If you have a struggling math student, then I recommend Teaching Textbooks to you.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Not at appropriate grade level

    Date:September 15, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Sandy
    Location:Castle Rock, CO
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    This math program has an excellent method of presenting and teaching the information from the CD's. My kids liked it for awhile.
    However, I have found for grades 4 - 7 (at least) that it falls a year behind of Saxon and other reliable homeschool math curriculum, and is not very challenging. My kids became bored about half-way through the book. If your child must take a standardized test under your state's homeschool law, he/she may have trouble with the math portion.
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 9, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    wenluel
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I love how this product has EVERYTHING your child needs to learn how to be a self-starter for this subject. All the teaching, help, solutions, and support are right there!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wow!

    Date:August 5, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Rebecca Blaise
    Location:Northern NY
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My daughter used to hide when it was time for math! Now she *asks* to do it. She loves seeing her progress, as do I. This curriculum is great! If you want to see a demo, the company has a website with a great demo feature for each grade level. I just can't enough good about it! Be sure to have your child take the placement test before selecting a grade level. BTW, I am a homeschooling mom of three and have been schooling since 1998. We have also done Algebra 2 by Teaching Textbooks and my eldest says that now she REALLY understands math. You can't get a better recommendation than that.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 13, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    jndean
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Math is a chore in our house, usually. Now my children fight over who will do their math first.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    very engaging

    Date:April 26, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    heather
    Location:Sumter, SC
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    You will never need to remind your student to get their math lesson done. They will be reminding you.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:August 31, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Lisal Mcdonald
    The CDs did not work in our Mac computer. We ordered Mac CDs but they did not work. We talked with TT and they determined that the CDs weren't formatted correctly or that we were send Window's CDs by mistake. We had to exchange them with IT. Two years in a row this has happened.
    -12points
    2of 16voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for Teaching Textbooks Math 5 Kit (Windows & Macintosh)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:August 30, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Momto4LittleLambs
    After I tried many different math products in our homeschool experience (to include nice programs like math SOS, Horizons), we decided to try this. It is outstanding. The ease of use for both the student, and the teacher is great. The "grade book" is very well laid out, and shows you so much information on the students progress. Math time was a hard time for one of my children, and this gave a new perspective as it is on the computer. I do tend to think it is somewhat on the lighter side, and not an advanced grade level program (it does not claim to be advanced...it clearly states it is a basic math program), but math is founded on basic principals and I want my children to be grounded in them, so this works for us. (You can always add "specials" to your math time, like a Keys To... workbook (a personal favorite) or the like to "kick it up a notch" from time to time!)Despite the price, or even if you go for just the books, I am pleased with this program, in fact I am planning to put another child in Teaching Textbooks very soon!
    +8points
    8of 8voted this as helpful.