Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Saxon Publishing Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit

Saxon Publishing Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit

Developed to follow the classic Saxon model of incremental development and continuous review, Hake's Grammar and Writing is a comprehensive English language curriculum that incorporates grammar, writing, spelling, and vocabulary development. Core-knowledge content, such as history, geography, science, and literature, is also embedded in the curriculum.

This kit includes a Student Textbook with 112 lessons, a Student Workbook, and a Teacher Packet. The Student Text is written directly to the student and provides instruction on key grammar and usage concepts with bolded words and examples; writing exercises are provided, while the workbook provides additional practice opportunities.

The Teacher Packet includes a short message to the teacher, schedule, a complete set of answer keys (for the textbook practice and review sets, writing lessons, tests, and more practice worksheets), and test masters. Tests and writing lessons are designed to be administered every 5 lessons (after the first 10).

This Grade 5 kit includes:

  • 1 Teacher Packet, 232 pages, softcover.
  • 1 Student Text, 631 pages, 112 lessons indexed, softcover.
  • 1 Student Workbook, 130 pages, softcover.
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.75 out of 5
    4.8
     out of 
    5
    (8 Reviews) 8
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
    5 stars
    6
    4 stars
    2
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    2 Questions | 4 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Review 1 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Love it

    Date:September 24, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Dolwen
    Location:Florida
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This curriculum is just what I was looking for. I love the way the Saxon/Hake curricula continue to teach the lessons throughout future lessons in order to ensure the lessons are mastered. My son has always been a reluctant writer and these writing lessons take the subject bit by bit and are not overwhelming to him. I like that vocab is included daily as well. We are only 20 lessons in at the moment but I haven't been disappointed so far. There doesn't seem to be specific spelling lessons included but the weekly dictations cover that for strong spellers in my opinion. If your child isn't strong with spelling I would recommend a separate spelling curriculum. There is nothing flashy about this curriculum and no colors and illustrations but it just isn't needed. It has substance where it counts, the lessons.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Good Homeschool Product!

    Date:October 26, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    LivandTor
    Location:Arizona
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I purchased Saxon Grammar 5 to use in homeschooling my 4th grade daughter. She is somewhat advanced in grammar, so the material presented in this book is perfect for her. I love the Saxon method of incrementally introducing new concepts, then constantly reviewing previous concepts, in each lesson. The tests presented after every 5 lessons are a great way to ensure understanding and retention.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Hake Grammar and Writing 5

    Date:September 20, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    kandjmommy
    Location:nashville,tn
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    So far, this has been the best Grammar program I have ever used. It's clear, to the point and intergrates 2 vocab words into each lesson. I thought I would have to use a separate vocab but realized that at 2 words a day (10 a week) that it is complete. Not only is adding the vocab words in great but it constantly is reviewing them so they are actually applying them more than we did with other separate programs. The lessons are just the right amount of work. The reviews make sure that the information is retained not just introduced. I like the way the grammar info is presented at the top of each lesson with samples and solutions. I'm very impressed with this curricula and would highly recommend it if you want clear, serious & direct learning. We usually like pictures and colors and the program does not have any but its okay because no distractions and to the point learning is working for my daughter because she doesn't get frustrated. The pages in the book are thin and that's the only thing I would exchange for a spiral notebook. In additon to the large Grammar book it comes with a Student Writing book all about composition. So far, this has been broken down in easy formats that is clear and direct also. It gives adequate opportunies to observe things like topic sentences and to identify before asking the child to write their own. I think the program is EFFECTIVE, EFFICIENT & COMPLETE. It's my new favorite program and I wish I had used it the last 2-3 years! Anything that works right is worth the money. Good luck.
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    very pleased

    Date:March 8, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    merry
    Location:MN
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I used this set for the first time this year and I am so pleased. Short to the point lessons and then good continuous review of topics covered. My son really enjoys the Vocabulary portion (it's only 2 - 3 words) but they are interesting and just so happened to correspond with some geography we were doing. We both delighted in the cross-over! (We also use the Wordly Wise 3000.)
    Writing is NOT his strong point but this set has increased his confidence and mine that I'm doing what he needs. I'm ordering the 6th grade kit for next year!
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This product Wonderful!

    Date:March 2, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    my4ronas
    Location:Maryland
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I cannot fully express how wonderful this Saxon product is. I used the math and thought that if the grammar was like this, I needed it. I love the Math and the Grammar. The constant review keeps my son fresh with his grammar and the writing. I can't wait to use the others. Very simple instructions. My children love to do the work... AAAAA+++
    Saxon for this curriculum.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:March 22, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Chelle
    I am impressed with the scope of these texts as well. I believe they are going to be a great fit. However, I need to echo that the book itself is very poor quality. The main manual is basically put together like a giant phone book. The student workbook is thin, but has the same newsprint quality paper. Even with taping the covers, the pages are so thin I am doubtful they will hold up through one year of use. The teacher packet is three hole punched and has to be placed in a binder, but is made of regular paper. So, great material but high priced for the quality.
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:February 5, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Cathy
    I love the way this is laid out, similar to Saxon's math program, which we have used for many years. The only quibble I have with this program is the paper it's printed on. It is not standard textbook paper; it's more like a smooth newsprint. I don't know how long this is going to hold up in our home school. I was planning on using the same books for three students this year, with four more (so far) coming in the years to come. We have had our hard cover Saxon math texts for more than ten years, and should be still using them ten years from now. I don't see that happening with the grammar/writing books.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Hake's Grammar & Writing Grade 5 Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 21, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    Elena Callens
    So far I love it. My son loves it. Everything is explained very well, and he is able to work through it on his own. He likes writing the answers to the grammar questions staight in the book. The fact that past lessons are reviewed continually in subsequent lessons is great.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.