Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]

Provident Music Distribution Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]

It's a title that does more than simply describe the themes of the record it names. Run the Earth... Watch the Sky does an accurate job depicting how its creator, singer/songwriter Chris Rice, approaches his life, his music, and his faith. Musically this time around, there's still the modern folk reminiscent of David Wilcox and James Taylor, but fans will also notice Rice's newfound admiration of earthy but radio-friendly pop in the vein of John Mayer and Travis.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jeff
I was down one day and I heard "Me and Becky" and that song kept me uplifted and kept me out of trouble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2004
Customer Avatar
Mister B
I have to say that if you are a fan of Chris's style (I refer often to him as the James Taylor of Christian music), that this is Chris's best work to date. I highly recommend this CD to anyone who enjoys Chris Rice. "Spare An Angel" touches me deeply, in that it makes me think of someone near and dear to my heart who is experiencing a tremendous amount of stress and needs the Lord. Chris, I didn't think you would be able to top "Past The Edges", but I was so wrong. Keep up the good and faithful work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2004
Customer Avatar
Madison
I have been taking ballet for a while and this year I did a solo toCome to Jesus. This song really touched me and (hopefully) the audience. I am very thankful that Chris Rice wrote this song, it's meant a lot to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Greg
This is my first brush with Chris Rice music, fueled by my passion for the sensational "Untitled Hymn (Come To Jesus)", a true classic in the waiting. While there are several other nice cuts, this album is weighed down with silly lyrics and over-reaching songs (especially "Other Side of the Radio").
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ellen Underwood
It's True Chris's music may not appear to be over worshipping. That is how I viewed his music when I first heard it, however, if you really pay attention he is more of a comparative writer/composer. His songs are indeed spiritual but are done in a way of parables. He is a poet to music with his very own unique and gifted style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2003
Customer Avatar
Bill Harper
Chris Rice has a talent for writing catchy tunes with a Christian message but I would not really call them "worship" songs. Nevertheless I enjoy his music. I am going to see him in concert later this month and I get the feeling that he is one of those artists who are better live than in the studio.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2003
Customer Avatar
Charles Stricklin
I agree with Carole that much of this CD seems to be directed toward worship, but I was hoping that after the last two piano releases, this CD would be a little more radio-friendly material. "The Other Side of the Radio", "Everything's OK", "8th Grade", "Me and Becky", "Wonder" and "Spare an Angel" are the best tracks, and overall it's a fine effort, but you'll forgive me if I prefer "Past The Edges" or "Smell the Color Nine." (BTW, nice horn arrangements on "8th Grade"!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Run the Earth, Watch the Sky, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
Carole
This CD has some fantasitc worship songs that attach themselves to the beauty and the wonder of the things God has made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.