Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]

Capitol Christian Music Group Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]

From the high-energy trio that has won Dove Awards, Billboard Music Awards, a Grammy, and has shattered the secular barriers of MTV comes 13 new songs that showcase a range of vocal styles from alternative rock to rap to melodious pop harmonies. Includes "Day by Day," "What If I Stumble," and the hit title song.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alina
Even though it was recorded in the '90s, these songs display "song character and characteristics" as if they were recorded yesterday. All I gotta say is: PRAISE GOD! Thank God that there is awesome music that praises the Lord Jesus and has popular styles to put the praiseworthy lyrics with. It fits the styles of us teens, but how the songs worship and praise God is even greater!!! Praise God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
cj
THIS IS A GREAT CD!!!!!! I LOVE THE JESUS FREAK SONG! "MINDS EYE" WAS GOOD TOO.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2005
Customer Avatar
john
I love this cd. it rocks!awsome riff at beginning of the title song. "in my mind's eye" was good to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
Joshua Clayton
There's only one reason I didn't give this a 5.0. The production wasn't as good back in 1995. Other than that, I must agree with the last reviewer, this is a must have CD for any Christian music collection. Let's take a look back at what has been considered (by some and rightfully so) as the definitive Christian rock album of all time. Although I have albums I enjoy much more musically, this album has the greatest vision and purpose behind it. You can sense the intense vision behind the vocals of these three guys. If nothing else, get it for the title cut...which is brilliance: opens with an eerie acoustic riff to take a sudden turn into rap with crunchy grunge guitar, then the chorus, then it settles down again, then the rap comes back heavier than before, and before the final chorus screams in...the final guitar solo is almost haunting. But the other songs display such eclectic tastes...and aside from the music: you will NOT find more sincere lyrics in exalting Jesus Christ in CCM. Period. End of discussion. They may not have been the best artist musically to grace CCM...but the DC Talk brothers established a lasting tribute to sincere Christian rock with this album for all time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
wtonysimpson
Their best album of all time. This is a "must have" album. I am not a fan of the DC Talk style of music, but this album reaches across a lot of boundries and styles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2003
Customer Avatar
Emily
This cd is awesome. I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2003
Customer Avatar
Joel
This CD is great!!!! It is great to listen to any time. AND YOU ARE THE BEST DC TALK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2002
Customer Avatar
KING
This is the BEST CD FROM EVER FROM THE BEST BAND EVER!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2002
Customer Avatar
Chris
This has to be the best DC Talk CD since Nu Thang. Jesus Freak has all of the best songs. I recommend Jesus Freak to any DC Talk fan or any fan of Hip Hop, Alternative, Rock. DC Talk is one of my favorite groups of all time. God has certainly blessed Toby Mac, Michael Tait, and Kevin Max. I also highly recommend going out and buying all three of the group members solo CDs. DC Talk will always be one of my all time favorites. Go out and get Jesus Freak today! Peace. God Bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2002
Customer Avatar
Laura
I figured that after this cd went double platinum, it was probably worth getting, and I was right! There's not a weak track on here; my faves are: Jesus freak, colored people, help me God, between you & me, and mind's eye. It's definitely worth the money!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2001
Customer Avatar
Eric Anderson
This cd is truly my favorite of all. The group shows their great faith and message through all their songs. The message is outstanding. In my opinion this is the best cd from the best group ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Cameron
THIS IS A MUST BUY CD!!! My favorite song of all time is "Jesus Freak", but I do like "Day by Day" a lot. Get it, you know you want to...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Aaron
Dc Talk makes a huge transition from hip-hop to rock on this CD, and comes out even better. None of the 10 tracks that are songs leave much to be desired. Ranging from the social commentary of Colored People and What Have We Become to the bold declaration of faith in So Help Me God and Jesus Freak, dc Talk consistently gives the listener something applicable to their lives. The combination of their intelligent lyrics and great vocals make this a must have CD, and in my estimation, one of the Top 5 Christian albums of all time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2001
Customer Avatar
Joe
I would put a 6 but it didn't have that choice. The best Dc Talk songs ever are on this CD. A must have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2001
Customer Avatar
Philip Jackson
THIS CD HAS THE BEST SONGS OF DC TALK. I TELL EVERYBODY WHO LIKES ALL KINDS OF STLYE OF MUSIC TO BUY THIS CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
Clayton Rogers
I am new with christian music and I have to tell you that this is the best CD that I have ever heard. Its really cool to know that its Christian. This would be a good gift for your non-christian friends. Better Buy It!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
David McAfee
JESUS FREAK IS THE BEST ALBUM I OWN!!! IT HAS THE MOST THOUGHT PROVOKING LYRICS CONTAINED IN ONE ALBUM. WHETHER YOU LIKE POP, ROCK, ALTERNATIVE, WHATEVER, YOU WILL LOVE THIS ALBUM!!! IT'S A MUST HAVE FOR ANY CHRISTIAN, AND IS GREAT TO GIVE TO YOUR NON-CHRISTIAN FREINDS!! JESUS FREAK ROCKS!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2001
Customer Avatar
Andrew
Jesus Freak is one of the best cd's ever. Dc Talk really proved on this cd that they can do it all. A good mix of soft and hard really makes it great. Everyone should have this cd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2001
Customer Avatar
Dave
This is the best cd in my collection and will be for a long time. You can feel the spirit in every track.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jesus Freak, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2001
Customer Avatar
Aaron Nyquist
This is the greatest Christian CD ever made. End of story. No one else comes close to duplicating dc Talk's combination of soulful lyrics and awesome music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>