Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word Entertainment Inc BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]

Word Entertainment Inc BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]

This isn't the Partridge Family, but BarlowGirl sure smacks of family values. It isn't the Go-Go's either, but this chick band can write songs and rock with the best of them. And while there are some similarities, these girls show a lot less bellybutton than Josie and the Pussycats. For as much as BarlowGirl is about rock that showcases their sisterly harmonies and diverse musical talents, this band is about a message-the message that it's okay to be different, because no matter who you are, you have perfect value in God's eyes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We Will Miss Them!

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarlowGirl disbanded on Nov 3, 2012 and will be greatly missed. Thier sisterly harmony is easy on the ears and pleasant to listen to. They will always be remembered for "Never Alone" and all of their other great songs!
I am and always will be a BarlowGirl fan. God Bless and Keep them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Music!

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonshine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard the samples of this CD and thought it was OK, but when I actually got the CD I was amazed! I love their bold stand for what they believe in, being God, modesty and purity, and the music is simply amazing. Love their voices. The lyrics are great. Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Revived
First off, Never Alone captured me. Awesome lyrics, awesome voices, awesome music... its an amazing song. She Walked Away is one of my favorites, and I also like the gentle feeling of Surrender and You Led Me. For a guy, a few of the songs are a little girly... which was a little disappointing to me, because I am a guy. But who cares? They all give positive messages and many of them are in my Favorites playlist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
I love the songs "Average" girl, "Clothes", and "She Walked Away" best of all. Their new cd I don't like very much, but I LOVE this cd!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debbie
This is a good CD for teenagers, but not for anyone younger. (Many of the songs deal with tough themes that are not appropriate for younger listeners.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
M.P.G.
THIS IS A GREAT CD. MY FAVS ARE. ON MY OWN, NEVER ALONE, MIRROR, AVERAGE GIRL. I LIKE THIS CD AND I'M A GUY BARLOWGIRL ROCKS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rebekah E.
One of the best groups out there! I am a new Barlow Girl fan. I had never really heard their music until late last year. They have such a unique, incredible sound! They are so talented and can really rock. It's not your standard girl group. A lot of their songs have really spoke to me. It's hard having virtue in this world. We don't have any role models around us to encourage us to stay pure and dress modestly. It is so encouraging to hear their songs pertaining to these subjects.If you like superchick you will most definitely like Barlow Girl as well. I am huge fan of both. GO BARLOW GIRLS! I hope they keep making awesome music for a very long time!!! I will continue to buy their CDs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2007
My sister has this cd and I love it. Its the best all girl band. Their other cd is really good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lauren
They are very talented. They have some really good songs like "Average Girl"&"Mirror". BUT there second CD is a lot better. Still its a good cd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
kara
Barlow Girls is Awesome all of their CDs rock. What I love so much about them is that they are 100% GOD focused. Although alot of bands claim to be christian not all of the songs sound like they are talking about God. But with barlow girls you never have to worry about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tim
Their music is awesome. I was at a youth conference this year with my youth group and they performed. That's how I learned of them. They were way better in person though. So if you have a chance to go to one of their concerts I would go if I were you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rachelle
This is an awesome cd!!! It sends a great message to teens everywhere, that you don't have to dress like a hooker to look cool. Modesty is cool!!! BarlowGirls rocks! If you have a teenage girl at home, I encourage you to buy this for them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Audra
Not the best cd. I only like a couple songs on here, but overall, a good cd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sir Iliad
Okay, so I am probably the only guy that has listened to, what's more, reviewed this band. I hafta say that when I heard one of their songs I borrowed the album from a friend just to hear the rest! BG sings about some of life's toughest topics for teens to face, guy or girl. With songs that deal with modesty, purity, and dating, I found this very refreshing to listen to. They have a very important message, and they address it boldly. Give God Control of Your Life. Man, I didn't know bands like this existed until I heard Barlow Girl. It encouraged me a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
Amanda
YAY! I loooooooove this CD, I totally recommmend it to anyone who doesn't have it. It's AWESOME!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
This is an awesome cd!! Never Alone is the most amazing song! Barlow Girl has an awesome message! They write songs about things that I didn't think would sound good as a song, but the songs are great! All the songs are great, but Pedestal is kind of annoying. I would totally reccomend this cd!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
Bethany Ramus
this is a great cd. I love it and so does my sister. Becca, Alyssa and Lauren have such wonderful musical talent and they definately use it the right way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2005
This CD is amazing!! These girls have a great message to spread, and with God's grace people will listen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
Nicole
I love this CD. It 2nd only to my Jesus Freak CD.I don't get why every one thinks the song Clothes is cheesy. It's one of my favorites. Buy this CD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BarlowGirl, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Ashley C.
This album ROCKS!!!!!It was so great to find a band that shares my view points on dateing and modesty (I'm 13 but I've already dacided not to date). I would give it a higher rateing if I could.I hope their new CD coming out this fall is just as good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.