Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Behind The Musik CD

Capitol Christian Music Group Behind The Musik CD

Regardless of where he's working- from churches and huge Christian festivals to the heart of the hip hop club scene, KJ-52 can hold his own, with ease, against the best rappers in the business. Behind the Musik features guest shots from Jeremy Camp, Rebecca St. James, Kutless' Jon Micah Sumrall, and more. Songs include "Are You Real", "Right Here", "Never Look Away", and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Behind The Musik CD
Review 1 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim D.
Possibly the greatest the christian rap/hip hop album ever! Almost perfect; it is bouncy, but not near as silly as some of his other cds; Some songs are rockish, which is also nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
The Lone Reviewer
WOW! KJ-52 just can't stop! He has continued to bring out another blockbuster, bestselling CD! I have two of KJ's previous albums. It's Pronounced Five Two was amazing and if you've listened to that I'll tell you now that somehow KJ has made an album way cooler. There are many great songs on BTM featuring top Christian artists. He's managed to get them all packed onto one CD without filer.I highly recommend this CD to Hip Hop or, surprisingly, Rock fans. There is a great mix of the two genres (sort of like TobyMac but with more rapping) making some of the tracks amazingly catchy.Anyway, by this CD! You're missing out if you don't!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
natc4God
After reading some of the reviews of this CD, I decided to go ahead and buy it because everybody said that it is more serious than his other CDs. And, it really is! I love listening to this CD. Rock (or rap) on, KJ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jason Reads
Good job to 52. But he could do better. I listened to this cd and thought it was good for a Christian artist but he doesn't have the beats or creativity of mainstream rappers. But he does have God unlike them and thats what matters most. The 'plain white rapper' is cool along with 'things I like' because of goldinchild's voice. 'Cry no more' is a sad yet hopeful song. Again good job to Kj-52 looking forward to his next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Natalie
I LOVE KJ-52! The song "Are You Real" is my favorite for several reasons. First, John Micah Sumrall sung on it, and I am a Kutless fanatic. But, most of all, this song was the title song for Acquire the Fire this year; and it touched my life! Go KJ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
Brandon
This cd has really cool songs my personal favorites are Fivetweezy, God, Right Here, and of course Video Games. Dude how did you possibly get Rebecca St. James and Jeremy Camp on there? Rock on KJ-52
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
Matthew Rivera
Like Everett, I expected more christian rappers to be on this album. However that doesn't make it a bad album, in fact it is one of the best albums I've ever heard. It goes"Behind The Music" to the man that he is. KJ makes funny yet christain valued lyrics. I'm Doin a music appreciation assignment for school and the song I picked was "Cry No More" by KJ. I want to help get out the word that touched my life. Anyone with any problems in thier life should get this, and any other albums by KJ-52. I made up an extra verse for KJ's Cry No More. I want to say thanks to KJ for his inspiration to me. I now know that I can Shine my light by my gift of rapping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chris Mead
Great Album!!! KJ seemed to drop all of the silliness in this record and focused more on God and on his testimony. He still has some funny songs, however, like fivetweezy and plain white rapper. I like his collaboration with Jeremy Camp, Right Here, and Life After Death, a song with great background music and an even greater message. I also like For the Ladies, a song inspiring Christian Girls to not fall into temptation in this world. KJ is definitely the most humble rapper I have ever heard. This is an inspiring CD for any Christians who like rap music. He gives us a reason to listen to Christian Music!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
Everett Fowler
Although this album may look like your typical KJ album, the tone and lyrics are totally different. For example, who knew KJ was twenty-nine years old or his full name was Jonah Sorrentino? Anyway, "fivetweezy", the second track of the album, is hilarious. Once again, KJ takes the listeners back to the controversy about him making the "Dear Slim" video; I think the TRL fans got intimidated by hearing a christian rapper, so they diss KJ like he can't rap. Other tracks I enjoy were "Plain White Rapper" and the haunting track "Life After Death"; the lyrics are repeated to understand the significant about how your life can end in a second. Overall, "Behind the Musik" expand way too much on KJ life story, also, I was looking for more rappers to appear on the album than Goldenchild, but this album is a gem. This album could've been nominated for Best Rap album of year at the Grammy's, but alas, they put christian MC's in the Rock catergory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Ken
This is the first album from KJ-52 that I've heard. I gotta say that it's great to hear awesome rap music that's hard and driving, yet also Christ-honoring. His duets/remixes with other artists are really cool, and all his original songs make me want to just crank it loud. The lyrics are awesome too, because there's no wishy-washy stuff here, just plain, straight-up God-loving words. This album is a must if you like good, hard-driven music that gives God all the glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
Michael
This is his best cd by far. I've enjoyed them all, but this one does seem to get deeper and more serious than past efforts. However, there are still fun songs such as Fivetweezy, Video Games, and Plain White Rapper. Now it is even harder to wait for his NEXT cd release since this one is so wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Behind The Musik CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2005
Customer Avatar
Mike
KJ never ceases to drop great music. The best part is, this CD is more personal and gets pretty far outside the conventions of his last two albums. Props to KJ for this album. For a while, I wasn't sure if he had it in him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.