Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Oh! Gravity CD

Capitol Christian Music Group Oh! Gravity CD

Spiritually evocative and socially aware, your favorite power pop band returns with a whole new string of gritty rock 'n' roll anthems! Includes "American Dream," "Awakening," "In This Life," "Yesterdays," "Just," "Dirty Second Hands," "Amateur Lovers," "Circles," "Burn Out Bright," "Let Your Love," and the mainstream-single title track.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Oh! Gravity CD
Review 1 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Danielle
What an incredible cd! Jon Foremans vocals flowed from the fast pace punk sound of Oh Gravity! to the beautiful lyricism of Let Your Love Be Strong and Head Over Heels (the latter two would make great worship songs to possibly be sung in church!) To all you music lovers out there, from Coldplay and U2 fans, to Green Day fans, who want to find a very Christian album that speaks honestly and intelligently to todays culture: This Album Is FOR YOU!!! The only weak spot on the cd is possibly Amateur Lovers, which yes speaks about meaningless love, but doesn't sing about a way out. However, as preacher's kids they wrote other songs included on the cd pointing to God, and indeed borrowed some references to the Bible. They are, in my opinion, still strong in their faith and coming up with positive new tunes that still end up finding their way to mainstreem music stations. My bottom line is: they might now have a strong mainstream appeal but they haven't lost their Christian roots or their faith. They have updated their sound but haven't lost their soul in the process. Go for it Switchfoot! By the way Hello Hurricane is coming out later in '09. Don't miss it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Abinya Clark
Switchfoot is a very good band. Their songs are catchy, and lyrics good. I don't know how anyone can not like Switchfoot!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maximus Christian
After reading many of these reviews, and seeing that most are very positive, it makes me sad that I have to give this one a negative review. Having said that, this is why I say that this release from Switchfoot is bad.Dont get me wrong I like Switchfoot. I have liked their previous 5 albums. There are a few good songs on this album that are lyrically thought-provoking and flow well, such as Dirty Second Hands and Awakening, which to me are the picks of this album. The rest, well, they seem to be very mainstream and average. Amateur Lovers seemed to live up to its title it sounds very amateur-ish in its lyrics and song flow, as did Circles, Yesterdays is ultimately very depressing to listen to, and as a result, I always skip it, American Dream doesnt seem to apply for anyone living outside of America, and the rest seemed to lose their flow midway through the song! Many of these songs are not catchy enough, and I think that really does count against this album badly. Although I dont think that Switchfoot have lost their Christian faith, this album seems to show otherwise in some areas. If you are looking for a mainstream/secular album, this may fit the bill for you. If you are looking for a Christian music album, this is not an album to buy.I was overall disappointed with this release, and I hope Switchfoot does better than this in future.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
michael hildreth
Switchfoot is the best band i have heard in a long time. They have given me christian music that even the people who are secular and have secular music can relate to. This is a very catchy album that anyone could could get used to in the first time listening to it. I cant wait until there next album comes out it'll be the best one yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Katy
I thought that this was even better than Nothing is Sound! They kinda changed their sound from rock to punk rock but I think that they sound even better than before! People have reviewed this and said that the song "Oh! Gravity" has no meaning but it does. It's a cry for peace and love. I personally think that this CD was easier to understand than Nothing is Sound. I never get tired of listening to this! It's awesome! SF ROX!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Steven Miracle
I, like many others have been a big Switchfoot fan since their incredible mainstream breakthrough album of 03', "The Beautiful Letdown". The thing about Switchfoot is some of their songs you love right off the bat at first listen, and some of them you have to listen to a few times or more before you develop an affection for them, but almost all of their songs have the ability to grow on you. The thing I love about Switchfoot is like some previous "christian" (I use this term loosely) bands who also went mainstream like Chevelle or Lifehouse, who either no longer sing about spiritual things at all or you can't even tell what they are singing about, Switchfoot doesn't appear to have lost their spiritual focus. Although their songs may not be what some would call "bold" in nature, there is, for the most part, no doubt about what they are talking about. And even for those who are not Christians or "religious", their music definately points you in a divinely inspired direction. I, at first listen, was dissapointed by "Oh! Gravity", but a few listens more and I was hooked. Although it is not as "catchy" as "The Beautiful Letdown" or "Nothing Is Sound", it is a little deeper musically & lyrically than those two previous albums.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leslie
I LOVE SWITCHFOOT! Their lyrics are great and so is the music!I love the album Oh Gravity. It's really good you have to buy it!GOOD BLESS SWITCHFOOT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ashley
I was really REALLY MAD when i got this CD. The only good songs were "oh! gravity/american dream" and they were a little weird. I thought that Switchfoot was going to make an awesome CD~ like in nothing is sound, "politicians/stars/lonely nation"~ and they didn't. So, if you like the hard rock/punk style, you're PROBABLY NOT GOING TO LIKE THIS CD!!!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Heidi
This CD rocks!!! I thought that Swithfoot was totally changing their sound from anything they've done. They are DEFINITELY a progressive band. This IS a must buy CD. the sound was a little suprising, so don't expect it to sound like the other cds. the change was worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jonathan
Switchfoot is back with their unique sound. Responding, I think, to the "Nothing is Sound" flop with the style that caused the mainstream to notice them when they released "the beautiful letdown." My only problem with this album is that it's lyrics seem swallowed up in overtones of "politically correct" christian lingo (in other words, don't mention anything Christian - except some Christian concepts - or you're wrong). To see a popular Christian band becoming less Chrisian lyrically is always a sad note for me to hear.Great musically, lyrically I would have liked to see a little more improvment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Derrick
Switchfoot has done it again! The only place where improvement could be achieved is actually one line. "Train the monkeys on my back to fight"!? what does that mean?! By the way, that song was the album closer and if anyone could explain it, I would really appreciate it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
megan
I love Oh! Gravity! I was amazed the first time I heard this cd. It's great. The lyrics are really meaningful. The songs are a lot of fun and you can tell they had fun making it. Buy Oh! Gravity. It's worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
a rock fan
This CD ROCKS!! A fun rock cd. BUY IT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
"Oh! Gravity" is an amazing album full of creativity, experimentation, and rocking riffs. But, most importantly, the insightful and meaningful lyrics of Jon Foreman aren't lost in it all. From songs such as "Awakening" to "Faust, Midas, and Myself," this album will bring you through a journey of pure, edgy rock but also will touch upon times of reflection and deep thought. So, if you are a lover of raw rock 'n' roll, yet not scared to dabble into a world of lyrics which will challenge you, I definitely recommend "Oh! Gravity"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
jamila
rock out good time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
EFrump
Switchfoot does it again! Oh! Gravity is an amazing CD that you will love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joseph
If you love Beautiful Letdown and Nothing Is Sound, then this album is for you! It has the classic Switchfoot sound with great lyrics. I highly recommend Oh! Gravity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tone E
WOW!!! This is not your average Switchfoot CD... they have taken their music abilities to a whole new level. Buy this cd and sit back and listen, it will take you to new listening heights!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
mtdrew30
IT WOULD BE LAME FOR ME TO SAY THIS ALBUM,"OH!GRAVITY" IS GREAT. WAY LAME! THIS ALBUM RAGES WITH SUCH DEPTH! THIS ALBUM IS BEYOND ANYTHING I'VE EVER HEARD FROM THE BAND BEFORE! IT'S ONE OF THOSE ALBUMS THAT REACHES INTO YOUR SOUL AND CAPTIVATES YOUR MIND ALONG WITH YOUR SPIRIT! MAKES YOU FEEL YOU CAN ACHIEVE ANYTHING WITH THE STRENGTH OF THE LORD! THIS ALBUM IS SLAMMIN'! IT KNOCKS YOU DOWN WITH THE SOUNDS OF UP-BEAT ROCK! IT'S A COLORFUL ALBUM WITH MANY LAYERS AND STYLES! WAY TO GO SWITCHFOOT! WHAT A BLESSING FOR US TO HEAR! IT'S NOT UR GRANDMOTHERS MUSIC, BUT DON'T BE SURPRISED TO CATCH HER DANCING TO A FEW TRACKS! THIS ALBUM HAS EVERYTHING FOR EVERYONE! THEY UNDERSTAND THE SPIRITUAL STRUGGLES WE FACE DAILY..IT'S IN THE DEPTH OF THE LYRICS! WHAT'S THE BEST TRACK ON THE RECORD? ALL OF THEM,MAN! BUY IT AND SEE WHAT I MEAN! WORDS ARE USELESS IN IT'S DISCRIPTION!UNBELIEVABLE ALBUM! OUTSTANDING!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Oh! Gravity CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ben
Well I have been a Switchfoot fan for two years now and I am amazed at their talents. They not only have great lyrics, but they have great sound. I listened to clips of all the songs and they are incredible. After Nothing is Sound I didn't think it could get much better, but it sure can. The best song from what I've heard is Awakening. I haven't heard all of the song, but I do believe that this is going to be a great song and a great Cd. The bands nag for attacking some of the most popular issues in the modern world and making great songs out of them seems to show once again in their new album Oh Gravity!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>