Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]

Capitol Christian Music Group A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]

The third full length studio album from the David Crowder Band once again offers their unique brand of rockin' acoustic worship, laced with vertical lyrics and positive attitude. A Collision includes "Come and Listen", "Be Lifted", "Rescue", and others.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Okay... this is going to be a difficult review. It's definitely a different album, and that makes it stand apart from many other worship acts. In fact, most critics say that David Crowder Band's creativity is their most appealing aspect. But this creativity (being much longer than most albums and supporting very different styles of songs) also comes with a flaw. Many of the songs are very repetitive and feel like filler, and I find myself simply skipping over them. However, only half of the songs on the album suffer from this. The rest are actually VERY listenable (not sure that's a word) and overall I would call this a good album. However, don't expect every one of these songs to be a runaway hit, as only about half of them are. It's a long album though, so half is already more songs than your average cd. Also worth noting is the hilarious "A Conversation" before the final track. I don't think it'd be a stretch to call David Crowder the "Lemony Snicket" of the Christian music community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paula
I love this album! It really speaks to me. From DCB's 'normal' music to the country old time hymns! There's no guessing where they're coming from as far as the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
DC*B fan
The Crowder* Band does it again. This is my favorite CD of all time! Here is Our King is a great song. BUY THIS CD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chriss Grosvenor
Love this CD. The David Crowder Band is truly all about worship. The songs are unique and put me in a very worshipful mood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michael Pekarek
Great music, I think they really created something new in worship music here. It's definitely different from all the other popular CCM. I love the music, lyrics, theme focus. One of my all time favorite CDs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Schwarz
I really like this CD. I heard it on a friend's CD and purchased it here. THANKS!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Katherine
This CD is one my favorites to pop into my stereo. I had to listen to it all the way through, twice, to understand the message and story, but man, when it hits in the heart: BAM. The creative and poetic depth this CD has is phenomenal. I love listening to "Come and Listen", and "Shout Loud". The care and time put into this CD shows, and it will definitely be one to always love, and appreciate. Thank you David Crowder Band, for your ministry and talents you're allowing God to use through you, to give to others. We are continually humbled..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jeremiah Rivera
David Crowder* Band has done it again. "A Collision" is a worship masterpiece. Even though there are some songs on the album that are either instrumentals or very short, it is impossible to say that any part of the cd is not good. From hearing this album, I truly believe that David Crowder* Band is the absolute best worship artist there is. The best songs on the album are "Come and Listen", "Here is Our King", "Wholly Yours", "Foreverandeveretc.", and "Rescue is Coming".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
clark miller
Wow this cd is awesome. It has bluegrass and the songs Here is Our King and Wholly Yours are my 2 favorite songs!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Craig Walters
"A Collision" brings a fresh spirit to worship with epic themes and gigantic sound. For those seeking the cutting edge of Christian music, "A Collision" is a must have. Crowder and crew are redefining the sound of Christian worship...come along for the ride.I liken this CD to the Christian version of Pink Floyd meets Moby.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
David Crowder Band has produced yet another amazing CD. They lyrics are uplifting, God-centered, and God glorifying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Derrick
Okay, I admit I don't really like David Crowder. He looks like a grungie, sings quavering notes and, in general, annoys me. Some of his songs are over-long and don't ever seem to end. This also annoys me. But, since all his lyrics are so worshipful, I really can't give him a bad review. This also annoys me. Still, it isn't all bad and fans of his other CD's will probably like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Laurie Moe
I did not appreciate DCB until I saw them in concert last weekend. I am in love. This band is gifted/annointed. They have so much energy and the music is amazing - every note played and sang - goes together perfectly! Thank you DCB!!! :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kenny
This cd grows on you. At first listen I would have given this cd a 4.0, but after a couple listens you realize that the cd is a brilliant way to worship God. This cd is not the paint by the numbers worship that we are used to. The album stretches you both musically and intellectually in your walk with Jesus. After a while you will surprise yourself by singing along. This album should be up for a Grammy and a Dove because it is so unlike any other "worship" cd Christian music has ever heard. By the way I love the cover art for the cd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kevin Earnst
Wow what a CD. So many different styles and musical thoughts are expressed on this project. However you see it, whether extremely odd or intensely creative, the music on this CD has David Crowder and his love for his Creator written all over it. (visit other musical & media reviews at www.kevinearnst.com )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Amy
DCB's music is so creative, innovative, & inspiring. They're constantly taking you places further...deeper...higher in worship you never thought you could go. I think this is their best album yet. Be careful, you might find you just can't help yourself breaking out in dance to "Here is Our King." Everyone needs to experience this "Beautiful Collision," not only in the music, but also with our Divine, Victorious King. Come to the water & prepare for the flood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chappy Gordon
yet another release by DCB. This time, they ventured away from what would seem to be a crowd pleaser album, and went towards what suited them and their current place with relationship. While the style may not appeal to all people, like "illuminate" , A Collision is mixed with everything from a soft pop to funky rock, bluegrass, and even a few older classic songs resampled. The diversity of this album stretches over all 21 tracks. While not every song would be a "worship" song to be sung sunday mornings, every song is worshipful in a sense that its to God, and about him and his love. This album is a progression in sound and talent, and you can see the musical and spiritual and intellectual growth of Crowder and the band.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Collision, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
Barb
I love DCB's unique style and sound. I've not been disappointed yet! So I would recommend this highly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.