Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)

Capitol Christian Music Group Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)

The third album from the dc talk solo projects has Tobymac going back to his hip-hop roots, with samples of familiar hooks combined with catchy rhymes and layered with gritty hard rock guitars. This album easily moves you with the smooth grooves of "In The Air" and rocks you with the blood pumping "Extreme Days."
Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Review 1 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My least favorite Toby CD

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rose Waldron
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I own all of Toby's Cds, but this one gets the least play at our house. It is a little too loud and rock for me although I enjoy a good fast beat on songs like Boomin. Pretty much the only songs I like here is Yours, Irene and sometimes Lets Get This Party Started. He screams into the mike a lot and to be honest Extreme Days gives me a headache. I prefer the remixes of these songs he has on his live CD/DVD.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
JOSHUA.L
I really enjoyed this CD. My top 5 favorite songs are "Extreme Days," "Momentum," "Do You Know," "J Train. I've colected "Portable Sounds," "Welcome to Diverse City," "Renovating Diverse City," and "Remix Momentum."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim D.
This is my favorite cd by tobymac... Diverse City and Portable Sounds weren't bad but this one tops both.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becca
Momentum is a GREAT cd! My favorite songs are Irene, Whats goin down, Love is in the house, and YOURS!!! But, i really like every song on the cd!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Duke03
This is an excellent debut solo CD for a guy who seems to have done it all already. It is full of energy and is fun to listen to. You can really tell that Toby works hard making his music.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Thomas Patton
i loved this disk it rocks toby mac is one great performer so my review on this cd is a 10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Caleb Brasher
Well, I was stunned by how great this CD was. Momentum, Get the Party Started, and most all the other songs were AWESOME. You should buy this Thang!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Adam (Age 14)
Yo man, this album was great!The best songs were J Train, Momentum, Love Is In The House & Extreme Days.Keep up tha good work Toby!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
olivia
tobyMac ROCKS!!!This cd should have a rating of 5 from everybody. The lyrics are awesome and the background music....BLEW ME AWAY!!!I was a tobyMac fan right from the beginning. Keep up the work 'CAUSE YOUR CDS ROCK!!! My fav.song is #9 "Yours". OH YA TOBY!!!YOU ROCK!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Katherine
WOW THIS IS SO GREAT. THIS CD IS THE GREATEST CD EVER MADE. I DONT KNOW HOW TOBYMAC DOES IT. HE IS SO EXCELLANT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2005
Customer Avatar
Hannah Adams
Great album!!! I love the energy that Toby has in this album. It just makes you want to get up and dance around! My favorite songs on this album are "Let's Get This Party Started," "Irene," "Momentum," and "Somebody's Watching."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Vince
This is definitely the best cd I have ever gotten. If you are into rap and hard rock music you've gotta get this cd. You won't be sorry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
Will Curry
On April 3rd. I got to see Tobymac live at ATF Stand Up. I loved their performance. It was awesome. I recommend that you purchase this album, it rocks. ROCK ON!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2004
Customer Avatar
Missy
I really like this cd. In fact I can't wait for the second one to come out. I really recommend this cd. It is a good cd and it is good for preteens and teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Elisa
I recently went to a music festival, and Tobymac was there. His concert was really really good, and everybody there just went wild for him. I was impressed, and I bought his CD. When I got home and listened to it, however, I was a bit disappointed. I found that some of his songs were a little too repetitve and they consisted of too much yelling into a microphone. Some of his songs I do like, such as Irene, Love Is in the House, and In the Air. Although his style isn't my favorite, I know there are lots of teens out there who are into his kind of music. I give Tobymac tons of credit for reaching those people with his God-centered music. But if you're like me, the type who likes stuff like FFH, Rachel Lampa, Stacie Orrico, and Big Daddy Weave, you probably won't like Tobymac too much. (But if you ever get the chance to see Tobymac in concert, I highly recommend going, because he puts on an awesome live show!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2003
Customer Avatar
Roy
Can't hear the words? What?! I can hear the words fine. If this album gives you trouble try Living Sacrifice (you can even understand their words!). I found the album to be really cool. I've been getting sick of the whole rap/rock scene, but something in this ablum struck the chord. GREAT jobT-Mac, and keep up the God-filled lyrics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
Shonda
To quote dc talk "Tobymac, and the Mac is back no slack"(Jesus Is Alright). I've always been a DCT fan but lately I'd been missin' the hip-hop days. And if you've felt the same then this cd is a Godsend.(har har) T-Mac blends blazin' guitars with laid-back(and not so laid back at times) rhymes for a style that's all his own. I love all the songs on this cd. If you're a fan of hip-hop and rock then treat yourself to this cd. Oh, and go see Tobymac live...HE ROCKS!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jay Cast...
Come on toby, you can do better then that! I know you want to please your Lord and Savior but you can't do that people can't understand the words. Your solo project was somewhat noisy. What about the rap style that dc talk used to do? You say you are doing that but as a loyal fan to dc talk, I personally don't think you are. Sorry, its not what I expected from you. Still your lyrics are dynamic and can reach people who like that stuff. It's just not my personal favorite. Keep praising the Lord!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Caleb
This CD ROCKS!!!!!! I love the songs Yours, Momentum, and Get the Party Started. This CD should get a 6!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Momentum, Compact Disc (CD)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2003
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Hunt
I really love the group DC Talk. They have some really diverse songs and listening to the members on their individual CDs really show you how they bring their own style to the songs. This is an awesome cd for anyone who loves Christian Rock and Rap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.