Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word Entertainment Inc The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]

Word Entertainment Inc The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]

In loving tribute, this double CD features a remastered demo tape of 10 songs Rich recorded just days before his tragic death. It also includes performances of those songs by Rich's Ragamuffin Band, Michael W. Smith, Amy Grant, Phil Keaggy, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Portia
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cassette of these songs as originally recorded by Rich Mullins (and recorded here on CD) as a demo is a treasure. The lyrics of all the songs including the song by Rick Elias bring me to think of Jesus in a new and real way. The song 'Jesus' brings me to tears each time I hear it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Timothy E Delullo
Very inspiring. Gave some out as gifts with happy results. The Joy of Christ shines through in Rich's Music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl King
This CD set touches my heart. The demo tape is wistfully loving and longing. The remastered demo just stays with you, a fine performance to Rich and our Lord. I'd given away 3 copies in the past, I hope to hang on to this one-it carries an intimacy to Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Panas
I love Rich Mullins'work and have most of his music; however, I have been looking for an accompaniment track for "That Where I am"....and can't find anything...would be great if you would put one out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alyce Estrem
Because this is a posthumous release the music is even more meaningful. The orchestration is lush and the original recording of Rich working on the songs is a look into the man himself. Wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chuck Bristow
Rich Mullins has long been an inspiration for me... For me he has always provided a powerful yet gentle witness for Jesus and the way of the Kingdom of God. Recently I noticed I'd missed out on this album when it first came out. Very strong and poignant recording. highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Sheldon
Great album, have owned it for years, bought this copy for my daughter's birthday. She heard it while riding with me and was totally wowed. A wonderful tribute to one of the greats of Christian music.Really am moved by In my Father's House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2004
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Beautiful. Some of the greatest songs ever written are contained on these CD's. There is not very much music that you would do as well to own. If you listen to christian music to worship and to be edified, then get this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2003
Customer Avatar
Angela
I just love this album. Like so many others, I didn't realize the blessing that Rich Mullins was until after he had gone to glory. "Hard to Get" is just so brutally honest. What I love about Rich's music is that he was willing to show his vulnerability, and his neediness. "My Deliverer" just makes me so long for the return of my Savior. "Surely God is With Us", "Man of No Reputation", "Nothing is Beyond You", I could just go on and name every song. These songs still move me to tears, because they are layered with meaning. Can you tell that I love it? Oh, and one more thing: "That Where I am..." is a great song for kids. My three year old dances around the house singing it, which is such a joy!Buy this album, you will be blessed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2002
Customer Avatar
G.E. Liang
Years after purchasing this double CD album, it is still a joy and a boost to put both the studio produced disc and the disc of demo tracks into the player. While the lyrics and tunes of this album are excellent in their own right, they hearken me back to the classics Rich Mullins gave us over his all-too-brief career.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2002
Customer Avatar
Charlie
This is one of the greatest CD's ever! Rich's songwriting is wonderful and moving, while the Ragamuffin Band (plus special guests) put together a truly unique and wonderful album!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
jesse
All the songs are awesome. My favorites are "My Deliverer" and "That Where I am, There You." Rich Mullins fans will love this album.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2001
Customer Avatar
David Parker
The straight-from-the-gut passion expressed in this music is amazing. However it is done, the sheer simplicity of the music is masked by excellence. Music is a medium of expression and, similarly to the written word, the gifted use it well. Rich used his gift well to glorify God and minister to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2001
Customer Avatar
John Moss
I've always felt that Rich's music takes us places other musicians fear to tread. This CD is tangible proof. "Hard To Get" expresses how a lot of us feel sometimes, that God is so far away. "Jesus" is truly a song from the heart. "My Deliverer" is a true statement of faith that the Lord is returning. "Nothing is Beyond You" reminds us that no matter what, God is all-powerful, and that His love is totally unconditional. "That Where I Am, There You" is an excellent interpretation of the Ascension. This CD, and everything Rich wrote is pure gold. The world needs this music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
Sven Wikstrom
I dont know very much about Rich Mullins but I have been blessed with his last "Jesus Record". My brother told me that Rich has written the famous song "Awesome God". All songs are very strong on "The Jesus Record" but there is especially one song that describes God in a simpel but powerful way "Nothing is beyond You". I hope more groups and new artists discover the anointing and lyrics in Rich Mullins songs and record them. Give it 5!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2001
Customer Avatar
karen gee
I just received this cd. I am still trembling from hearing Richs version of "hard to get", it is true beauty... I miss Rich but his music still is here to comfort the ragamuffins left waiting for the day we meet our Savior. I am sure Rich is at peace and walking with the saints. Thank you Rich for helping me on this rocky road to get closer to Christ, thru your music. If I could have I would have given 6 books. Buy this cd now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2001
Customer Avatar
Rachel Moody
This CD is the absolute best I have ever heard! Rich Mullins was an inspired singer and songwriter. The whole world was touched by his music and this album is a great example of his artistry. It is as though you can feel the spirit of God moving through every word and note of the songs. It's a great piece of work and an excellent way for contemporary artists to honor a fellow Christian and musician.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2001
Customer Avatar
Victoria
I never had the honor of seeing Rich Mullins perform live though he ministered to me in music for a decade.I was horrified to know I never would in this lifetime.Having the honor of seeing this band perform Rich's songs live was releasing to my soul, to mourn yet rejoice, in celebrating a life fully lived more abundantly for the Glory of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2001
Customer Avatar
Sandy Cassidy
Has anyone else felt the ANOINTING of the DEMO version of THE JESUS RECORD?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Jesus Record, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Sandy Cassidy
Did anybody else notice how ANOINTED the DEMO part of THE JESUS RECORD is?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.