Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for INO Records Hymned Again CD

INO Records Hymned Again CD

MercyMe lead singer Bart Millard infuses traditional hymns with his signature vocals, touches of Texas blues and southern gospel, and a bold up-tempo beat. Includes "What a Day That Will Be"; "I Stand Amazed"; "Brethren, We Have Met to Worship"; "Grace That Is Greater"; "I Saw the Light"; "Down at the Cross"; and "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms."
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Hymned Again CD
Review 1 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Calico
Excellent CD! Such a pleasant surprise to hear melodies and words true to the original hymns, but so creatively repackaged in blues, zydeco, jazz, bluegrass, country type styles. More please!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ashley Gibbs
Did you like Bart's first hymn album? If so then you'll love this one. "Jesus Cares" is a beautiful original also. I wish I could delete some of the electirc guitar but that's just me. Over all I really enjoy this and so do my kids (ages 2-8). Hymns are timeless and this gives them a fresh feel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brandon Garrett
A job well down and another excellent CD. I was raised up on all these songs growing up and Bart does a great job adding a little twist to these all time favorite hymns!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ralph Plummer
This album is a great collection of classic hymns with a contemporary feel. Bart offers some compelling arrangements of of these timeless classics. You will find yourself playing this album over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel Campbell
This is a great CD, for any age. We have listened to it again and again. I would highly recommend it for an uplifting C.D, great music to new arrangements.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather Castellana
This is such a fun CD to listen to! The whole family enjoys this "twist" on hymns we know so well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Pacheco
I am only 45 years old, but I can remember a lot of these hymns! It is so good to hear them revved up a bit, but keeping the sweetness of the deep, deep truths that hymns are meant to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrea May
This music is fantastic! It is a really creative approach to the old hymns. I heard the music and an interview with Bart Millard on a Christian radio station. I ordered both CDs at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mike Pritchett
This cd is well worth $11.99 This could have been named Hymned Alive because Bart brought these hymns to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christie Dunn
It is a creative, sweet, strong southern take on hymns that I forgot I adored. After my mom-in-laws funeral I needed to get back to some of the church music I was raised on and this fit the bill. Sometimes it was just a bit twangy. But the diversity of each hymn made up for it. They were given a just dessert.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hymned Again CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Trish D
I loved the first one, and eagerly preordered the follow-up... but am a bit disappointd with this album. Too much banjo and trumpet (Dixieland groove as opposed to the warm gospel sound of the first), and a jive sort of thing going on with "Victory in Jesus." Interesting arrangement with ukelele of "Grace That is Greater," but it doesn't really flow with the rest of the album. The vocals seem a bit forced on several tracks, too. While I am not disappointed that I purchased it, I won't be listening to it nearly as much as the original.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.