Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Provident Music Distribution The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]

With a deft combination of rock gems, driving pop songs, and heartfelt ballads, Jars of Clay is back with The Eleventh Hour, a record that reclaims the passion and honesty that captivated millions of music fans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
4
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
TLala
Location:Boston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I Need You is the best song. I was disappointed that it is so unevangelical. The name of Jesus isn't mentioned once. I recall that His Name wasn't mentioned in their first album, either, but it was so obvious they were talking about the Lord in songs like Love Song For a Savior and Liquid. I like their debut album and Much Afraid much better than this one. The second best song, in my opinion, is Silence. It was worth buying, but I'd hoped for better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The cd has great music.

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
jimm
Location:akron, ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this cd for my wife who likes jars of clay, she really liked this cd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jen
I love this CD. There is not one song that I didn't like. I guess I'm just being biased because they are my favorite Christian band.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
brit
I liked some of their old cds and they were pretty good and stuff, so I give half a point for that but I couldn't even listen through this cd. Booooring it made me fall asleep.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Ouch, what happened to the real Jars of Clay that we have grown to know and love. Their first two albums were just amazing, but with this album it seems as though they (pardon the cliche) sold out, it sounds like everything else on the contemporary christian market today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ray
This is the album I've been waiting for from Jars. You can tell they've matured and are feeling comfortable with the style they've developed. Great lyrics, too (and unlike some reviews on this site, God does not have to be mentioned in order for the song to be incredibly touching and spiritual). And to see this band live now compared to 5 years ago is like night and day. Amazing stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2003
Customer Avatar
Andrew Wilbanks
Most of Jars of Clay's albums have been very worshipful, but this seems just like a secular release. The name of Christ was not even mentioned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2003
Customer Avatar
Alan Doty
I was very disappointed in this album...it doesn't sound like classic Jars of Clay music...I would like to see them put out an album more like their debut. I found that many of the songs just didn't click with what the Jars did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ben Kunstman
I like a lot of the songs on here but it just does not sound like classic Jar's music. A lot of slow songs but I'm hooked on the song ''Revolution'' ! I would love to see an album from them that is more like there first CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2003
Customer Avatar
Lily
I believe this is a really good cd. I loved it ever since the first time I heard it. I do agree that Jars should mention God and Jesus more in their lyrics, but everyone should also listen carefully and understand the lyrics, for they are great and they have helped me a lot. And as for the music... Jars keeps getting better and better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
Ryan
I would think people would have better things to do than question a band's spirituality and the way they write songs. I'm sorry that they don't live up to your expectations. It's refreshing to hear a band that glorifies God so much, NOT have to have so many JPM's(jesus per minute) in their songs. I wish people would think more when it comes to lyrics and not need everything spelled out for them. This album was so awesome and minstered to me more than any SCC or MWS album could ever do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2002
Customer Avatar
Keith Kerscher
Honestly, I have never heard a pop/rock album with such depth and spiritual passion; and I think that the reason many Christians do not appreciate this work is that they cannot get into the minds and hearts of the artists themselves. I was especially impressed with the songs written "in persona Christi" (from Christ's perspective): namely DISAPPEAR, FLY, and SCARLET. The title track simply blows me away. If these fellows don't pick up a third Grammy award this year, I'll be astonished. God bless the Jars for having the guts to go against the grain in both the secular and Christian music industries, and for "being a revolution". ALRIGHT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
scott
Let me say first that I am not one who likes to compare a groups' music with (a) other artists or (b) their own previous work. That being stated, Jars are similar to many of the ground-breaking bands over the decades whose first release was so compelling and inspiring that nothing that follows will ever quite measure up to it -- nor should we expect it to. The Jars debut cd was one of those rare masterpieces that will be a landmark in Christian music for years to come. With The Eleventh Hour, I had just sampled a few songs here and there for quite a spell. Then tonight I gave it a serious listen. Bands with a talent level such as this continue to evolve and grow, whether we like them to or not. The songs on "Hour" have a musical and lyrical depth that is very difficult to find in any form of music anywhere. Yes, Jars set the bar immeasurably high with that debut disc a few years back, and so go our expectations. While opinions will vary, I feel that Jars never disappoints, and The Eleventh Hour includes some of their "finest" hours in quite some time. If you feel a need to do comparisons, then measure it against what is passing for quality music on Christian hit radio (or mainstream, for that matter). In my view, few are reaching the high bar that Jars does, and this band does it consistently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2002
Customer Avatar
Matt Ward
Masterfully straddling the fence between overt gospel sharing and overly secular Christian music, The Eleventh Hour is completely consumed and overcome by the deepest of Jars' passions. This album seems to come so close to the heart of the band that the introspective and existential lyrics become haunting to the listener. Jars manages to blur rock and worship to an extent rarely seen in music today. You can't listen openly to the music without feeling intruded upon. The music begins to trespass on the thoughts that we as Christians have felt in our lives and maybe never even realized or been unable to convey. The poetry of this album stirs deep, often too deep for some listeners to see into. I can't help but wonder if I fell in love with Jars for the poetry or the music. I'd like to think that it's this blend that makes Jars the masterpiece that they are. However, I shouldn't fear. The album is musically flawless. The technical and stylistic talent of the band should cause Jars to clear a space for a third Grammy. The only thing better than listening to The Eleventh Hour is seeing the tour. The passion that you can hear on the album undulates live, and you can only then see their hearts on their faces and fingers. World's Apart's effects have still scarred me too deeply to let it slip from my all-time favorite song, but the Eleventh Hour has all too quickly become my favorite album, not simply by Jars, but of anyone. Matthew Turner of CCM said of The Eleventh Hour, "No one can be certain we are living in the eleventh hour, but if this is the last new music I hear before meeting my Creator, that is all right with me." I couldn't agree with him more. Listen to this album closely and often until it becomes etched in your brain and see if God doesn't use it to change your life like He does mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2002
Customer Avatar
Dr. Funk
JOC is not elevator music. Take another listen, because its awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Honestly this CD has not been the best material J.O.C. has done in my opinion against everyone else. Lyrically they have gone further and have grown more into a God-sended band. However, music in this CD has taken a downfall. The only real music to this CD have been tracks, 1 3 4 8 9 and 10, the rest needs a serious remix. I would have to say that the music has declined since their 2nd CD. The talent that J.O.C. once had has gone away. I credit them for the time, effort, and message, plus creating their own studio for this CD. If you are interested in the neat lyrics then I recommend this CD, if you are interested in the music quality, and the rock driven sounds from them, you will be severly disappointed. Save your money and get another CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2002
Customer Avatar
Dissappointed
I got this cd used for the price of $5.99 and I'm sure glad that I didn't pay the full price elsewhere. As someone stated before, most of it's sleepy elevator music. I wish that Jars would've stayed in the direction of "If I left The Zoo". That cd had some great radio tunes on it. The only songs that I like are "Fly", "I Need You", "Silence" and "The Eleventh Hour". The rest just didn't do it for me. Although, if you're into really deep lyrics and slow songs than this cd is great for you. But for me it's zzzzzzzz
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2002
Customer Avatar
Laura
I love this album! There must be something wrong with you people who say it was disappointing! Jars of Clay is without a doubt my favorite band ever! My favorite songs on this album were Revolution, Fly, Eleventh Hour, and I Need You. P.S. What is the matter with having a few songs that don't mention Jesus or God?! You just have to listen for the hidden messages in each song.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2002
Customer Avatar
Dave
Elevator music. The life and passion doesn't seem to be there in this collection of songs. To me, Jars music has progressively declined with each album. I hope they tap back into the type of inspiration that got them started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Eleventh Hour, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2002
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I think that this cd is a great cd, no matter what anyone says. Even though all of the lyrics may not be God based, they are still encouraging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.