Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Madacy Entertainment Group Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Madacy Entertainment Group Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set

What happens when classic hymns meet classic rock? High energy praise & worship that sets your feet tapping and spirit soaring! The beat goes on in "Amazing Grace"; "Crown Him with Many Crowns"; "He's Got the Whole World in His Hands"; "Stand Up, Stand Up for Jesus"; "There Is Power in the Blood of Jesus"; "Blessed Assurance"; and more. Three CDs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.031 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
11
6 out of 1155%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Review 1 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not what I expected.

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really disappointed with this CD. The music was to loud and raucous and I couldn't enjoy the hymns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Project with Terrific Quality

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Just Thinking
Location:Richmond, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Combining the powerful lyrics of these hymns with the irresistible rhythms of classic rock is an outstanding idea which was brought to amazing fruition in this compilation. The up-tempo arrangements bring more drive and more energy to the songs. The musicians and vocalists are top quality.
Any fan of classic rock, or anyone who grew up in the 70's or even 80's, will truly be impacted by this music - even if you know all the songs by heart, you'll be amazed at how they touch you anew!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah in WV
Location:West Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids love it! They listen to it regularly @ night & wake up singing hymns! Surely blesses a mom's heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really like some selections but not all

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
randpmom
Location:Hamilton, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many of the selections are wonderful but some are hardly recognizable. The good ones are REALLY GOOD but the awful ones are REALLY AWFUL. On the whole it is a good CD but not quite what I was hoping for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

terrible

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
cmcc
Location:tulsa, ok
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
did not like at all. all songs sounded the same terrible guitar and singing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

From glam to Glory!

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roy Neilson
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This album is done by Dez Dickerson, the guitarist for Prince during his early years who also inspired Prince and many others of that era. Having been born again, Dez quit the band mid tour during the height of his popularity and gave his music to the Lord. I think the songs are great and he does a good job offering his God given talent as a sacrifice of praise to the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NOT WHAT I HOPED FOR

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor don
Location:Belen NM
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I LIKE OLD HYMNS THAT ARE UPDATED TO NEW SOUNDS, UNFORTUNATELY THESE CD'S JUST HAVE HARD ROCK THROWN AT THEM FOR ROCKS SAKE WITHOUT ANY NUANCE OR MUSICAL DRAMA AND TEXTURE. NO UPLIFTING OF THE SPIRIT ... JUST NOISE.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Megan Huddleston
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! So much fun to hear great, classic hymns modernized and made enjoyable for a brand-new audience!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

don't waste your money

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
threecancowhorse
Location:Western Montana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was disappointing. My son plays classic rock , so thought add hymns to his playlist. Well, this album is like a grown-up version of Kidz Bop. The singer is ?? mediocre at best and blaze. The songs start out like a classic rock song, but fall into some kind of beat that has way way way too many symbols clanging in every song.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

definitely not my style

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mitch
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am trying to like this music but I am having a tough time with the distortion. the words and music mostly did not compliment each other.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
DARRYL LOYD
Location:LOUISVILLE KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IT WAS A GOOD PURCHASE FOR THE PRICE- I ENJOYED IT
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Although some songs seemed forced or kind of cheesy, I think for the price, it is a good product. It's nice to have classic hymns set to a new tune. I think that young children would certainly enjoy this CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Juanita Hernandez
Very nice CD. I love the hymns and the classic rock put together. I listen to it while doing house chores and in the car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Ross Jones
Was disappointed in the CD overall. I love hearing the old hymns played in new ways but this CD was not what i was hoping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
wayne
Sorry guys, I think the heart was to make something good to listen to(glad I did not buy it) but from just a few sample listens, I could tell that this would not be enjoyable nor something I could recommend. I don`t want to sound mean... but please save your money! Your church praise band at could probably pull these songs off as well or better than what I`ve heard here. There are MANY christian artists that have covered many old hymns with a rock edge that are more enjoyable to hear. Sorry guys!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolann Weisel
This music was by no means original. You could recognize the music from familiar hit songs that someone tried to fit these lyrics into. I was very disappointed - the music/singing was horrible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tim Brady
Christian rock music fans (especially southern rock) will love this cd set. Would have given 5 stars but vocals on some songs are a bit weak.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ropper
I bought this for my 13 year old son for Christmas and he really loves it and listens to it regularly, we also enjoy listening to it when travelling in the car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Veronica Morgan
Awesome! Gives praise singing a whole new lift! This set of CD's will have you tapping your foot, or straight up dancing! A must for anyone who appreciates rock music and/or traditional hymns. Will appeal to a wide audience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rock Of Ages: Where Classic Hymns Meet Classic Rock! 3 CD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hazel Beresford-moore
I am so happy to have Rock of Ages: the 3CD Set. It is wonderfull to hear the classic hymns with a rock beat. I will certainly buy more of this type of gospel music, it lifts me up, and I love to sing along as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>