Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Green Hill Productions Big Band Hymns CD

Green Hill Productions Big Band Hymns CD

Turn back the clock to the golden days of the big band era and enjoy the swinging sound of the Chris McDonald Orchestra. Upbeat and jazzy, this release features all-time favorite hymns like "I Love to Tell the Story"; "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot"; "I'll Fly Away"; "Shall We Gather at the River"; "He Keeps Me Singing"; and more!

Note: CD and Download albums offer different track listings. The songs included in the Download package are shown in the media player, while the tracklist for the CD can be found on the Back Cover image.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Band Hymns CD
Review 1 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent big band CD!

Date:August 5, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my husband and he LOVES it...highly recommend!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian jazz.

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Lubbock, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like big band jazz as well as hymns, this is the cd for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great CD for those who love the Big Band sound!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Vermont
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This CD is a very good value--has the Christian hymns we love in the Big Band style. Bought it for a friend who plays sax in the Army band, and he loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael D.
Nice sound! It is an upbeat and jazzy rendition of some of the Traditional Hymns. Of course, it is not any rendition of any of the Big Band/Swing hits from Glenn Miller, etc. And, I don't think that it was ever meant to be. The description of the musical content is accurate, as written. For anyone to think of this to be otherwise would be mistaken. If you are someone that likes the SOUND of the Big Band/Swing era, then this might be a welcomed addition to your music library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Douglas Reiche
Great Big Band sound. It will get you moving. What a great way to hear the old hymns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Garry Koop
It is so good to hear that big band, gospel, jazzy sound with a Christian focus. For anyone who likes this type of music this is inspirational, and uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Craig
This CD is little overpriced but it is a good one! I have enjoyed it many times over already.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Skip Bernacki
Very nicely done. It may not be on the lines of Glenn Miller or Goodman, but then again, who wants another Christian album sounding like the world's. A unique sound complete with a few vocalists!! Where is the sequel?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carl Anderson
Please pay specific attention to the "...upbeat & jazzy" words in the description. The music is definitely jazz, and not "...the golden days of the big band era". It is well done, but not reminiscent of the likes of Glenn Miller, Tommy Dorsey, etc. The jazz saxophone is largely featured, and I'm not a fan of jazz sax.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrew Brown
Oh boy, do I ever enjoy this one! If you think the old hymns are boring and stuffy, then you need to hear this CD! It really is a "joyful noise unto the Lord".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2003
Customer Avatar
Wallace B
This is an album that is long overdue in Christian music. I play bass trombone & tuba in several Church orchestras in Bowling Green, KY & surrounding areas and it is like prayers answered to finally see big band Christian music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2003
Customer Avatar
Justin
This a a great cd of hymns that is a glorifying work to God. Also, one of the best big bands I've heard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Cheri M
I bought this CD for my Dad for Christmas and he LOVES it! He said if he could find a church that played music like this he'd be a regular attender!!! So, if anyone knows of churches playing Big Band in Las Vegas, please email me. I wish there were more Christian Big Band albums like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Big Band Hymns CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2000
Customer Avatar
Donald James
A fine group of arrangements and an outstanding group of musicians assembled for this recording. The music is in excellent taste. It glorifies Jesus as was the original intent and it certainly does not insult the "Big Band Jazz" idiom. I would like to see many more efforts like this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.