Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]

Provident Music Distribution City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]

This special album is a part of a community collaboration of musicians and artists in both solo and joint efforts. Features Jars of Clay, Sixpence None The Richer, FFH, Caedmon's Call, Third Day, The Choir, Gene Eugene, and Sonicflood with Peter Furler (of the Newsboys).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
JAGreene86
I own a lot of Christian Music CD's, but this one is probably one of the most relaxing, but yet most prominant Worship CD's that I have ever known. Each song has it's own genuine characteristic, and all of the different voices (Mac Powell of Third Day and Leigh Nash of Sixpence None The Richer) add different colors to each song. Even Peter Furler from Newsboys is in one of the songs. If I had to pick one CD to listen to every time I went to bed, this would be the CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2002
Customer Avatar
Melody
I like the idea of having such a variety of artists. I absolutely have fell in love with worship music here lately. I didn't give this CD a 5 because of the 2 whole tracks done by Sixpence. I don't like all the whining sounds she makes. I don't think that contributed to the CD. She sounds ok with other artists however, but not all by herself. Other than that an awesome CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Joshua
I have found this CD to be one of the most intriguing of "various artist" genre in praise and worship. What I found most appealing was the adaptation of theme weaving into one general message, utilizing vocal and musical arrangements from talented artists of faith. Here is a chance to hear some of these artists in a humble, "unplugged" soulful depth not commonly found on some of their "music of origin". I was impressed with each and every members contribution and especially appreciative of the mixing of artist to achieve the quality and depth of worship that this project delivers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2001
Customer Avatar
CL
This is a great CD! My 3 fave groups (FFH!, Third Day, Caedmon's Call) all in one place. "God of Wonders" is AWESOME beyond belief, as is "Where You Are." The only low point is the Sixpence song, In my opinion. Goandgetit! Goandgetit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
Zach
Sorry, I didn't at first much care for this cd, but I now take back ANY negative thoughts/ideas that were expressed in my previous review. This cd rocks. Not in a sense of beat, but in a sense of putting you in a peaceful/worshipful mood, and focusing on God. I still say that Sonicflood and FFH are awesome on this cd. Buy it, I'm glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2001
Customer Avatar
T.M. Pehns
I was disappointed when I heard this CD, especially after all the hype - and seeing some of my favorite artists on it. If found this CD slow and boring. If anything, it is good for lulling you to sleep. Despite the few good songs in the beginning, all the tunes and vocals seem meshed together and repeat itself as the disk plays on. Perhaps it is one of those albums where you fall in love with it in time, but for this audience, a nap is all it can afford.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
Dustin
An excellent CD! I don't write many recommendations, but this one definitely deserves it. This has to be the best compilation I have listened to in a long time. Great stuff from ALL the bands!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
lennon baksh
A perfect compilation. When I first listened to it I could not believe what I was hearing from sixpence. I was stuck there listening to it over & over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2000
Customer Avatar
Carla
I just thought I'd defend FFH and Sonicflood, I thought their parts were great, too! I love all of the songs, not too often do I run into an entire album of favorites, but this is one of them. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2000
Customer Avatar
Tom
I like this CD a lot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2000
Customer Avatar
Anteater
I highly recommend this CD! Great new songs from great Christian artists! The only low point is the 2 songs by FFH, but besides that, smooth sailing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for City On A Hill, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Xena
This is such a wonderful and anointed CD! I personally wouldn't have added the FFH and Sonic Flood w/Peter Furler in it, but other than that, it's awesome! I haven't stopped listening to it! The first couple of songs and the Caedmon's song are my absolute favorite. Definitely a CD that you can listen to in your room and humbly enter the presence of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.