Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]

Provident Music Distribution Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]

This quartet's major label debut blends poetic lyrics, programmed rhythms, keyboards, and traditional instruments like acoustic guitar, violin, cello, mandolin, and recorder to achieve a critically acclaimed alternative folk/rock sound. Includes the hit "Flood," plus "Liquid," "Boy on a String," and seven others. From Essential.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patty
Yes, this is an incredible cd, and you should get it. But you should get Jars' whole catalog, or you'll miss out on the wonderful progression of each release. And get their new one, "The Long Fall Back To Earth" on April 21st!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
C-Man
Excellent is the only word that comes to mind. What can I say? This is truly their best work "LYRICALLY". Much Afraid is better "MUSICALLY". Get this and snag Much Afraid, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jordan
This album is one of the single greatest things to happen to the music industry ever. The songs go from awesome rock songs to amazingly beautiful ballads. I recommend this album to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
JAGreene86
Jars Of Clay is hands down the best band in Christian Contemporary Music. I've heard and listened to so many Christian songs, and it seems like Jars Of Clay always comes out with amazing songs. Even though they have recorded so many albums since their self titled album, none have been able to surpass their first one ever, and don't get me wrong, all of their other albums are incredible as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kevin
The best album from the best band in CCM history, "Much Afraid" is up there too, but this one takes the cake. One listen to the lyrics, and you can tell god is truly working through them. "Love Song for a Saviour" is truly perfect. The album, and most of JOC's impressive catalog of hits deals mostly with the age old struggle between the spiritual world and needs and that of the flesh. "Worlds Apart" is one of the best songs I have ever heard, because of it's perfect aproach to the struggles we all face everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2002
Customer Avatar
Peter Walton
Dudes n dudets, this is seriously the best album JOC has ever made...and its their 1st! You need to listen to Flood, love song for a Savior, Liquid, World apart. on the 10th song, let the CD run for like 10 minutes because there's somthing else on the CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2002
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Awesome album with heartfelt lyrics and terrific guitars!!! I could listen to it forever~! "Love song for a savior" is a great song just to pray to our God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2002
Customer Avatar
Chris
Absolutely the best Christian/Contemporary music ever. The range of music from Rock (Flood) balid (Boy on a String) to love song (Love song for a Savior)and instrumentation is the best. Definitely a country/rock/r&d sound better than most contemporary music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2002
Customer Avatar
Mixmaster T
You absolutely can not get a better album than this- Christian or secular. Along with U2's Joshua Tree album, this is the best. Liquid and Love Song For a Savior are 2 of the best songs of all-time, and every other song is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2002
Customer Avatar
Robert Iversen
Excellent and brilliant!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2001
Customer Avatar
Arlette
Funny, I just discovered this wonderful CD as of October 2001. I am blown away! The words cut to my spirit and the music is excellent. I especially love Liquid and Dear God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2001
Customer Avatar
Andrew
Simply the best Album ever!!! Must have this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2001
Customer Avatar
George
"Liquid" cut is an awesome song ! Cutting edge and puts the secular junk "out the door" ! Great cd!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Pat Kim
DUDE! THIS CD is AWESOME!!! I got it when it came out a long time ago and I still listen to it!!! There are a lot of good songs like "Flood", "Liquid", "He", "love song for a savior". All the songs are good if not excellent. Get it NOW!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2000
Customer Avatar
David Joy
The debut album of Jars Of Clay that didnt get much attention until the buzz clip video of Flood went to rocket into television that fans started ga-ga about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2000
Customer Avatar
Sara
Awesome! This CD is by far the best Jars of Clay has ever done. The original acoustic sound will make you want to keep listening to it. You'll enjoy all the tracks almost as much as Flood!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2000
Customer Avatar
Karen
I would definitely recommend this CD to anyone. It's really good! I love every song on the CDI recommend all of the other Jars of Clay CD's too! ENJOY!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2000
Customer Avatar
Christa
I love this CD! Jars of Clay rules!! I love the songs Flood and Liquid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jars of Clay, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2000
Customer Avatar
Danielle
What a GR-8 CD!! With songs like "Liquid", "Like a Child", and "Flood" it's spiritually up lifting...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.