Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tooth & Nail Records Storm The Gates Of Hell CD

Tooth & Nail Records Storm The Gates Of Hell CD

With Storm the Gates of Hell, the members of Demon Hunter have crafted their most elegantly melodic and yet blisteringly fast and thrashy album to date. Their fourth full length album includes "Follow the Wolves," "Fiction Kingdom," "Thorns," and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Review 1 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Camden Cantwell
Storm The Gates of Hell is somewhat of a departure for Demon Hunter. The record has a lot of melodies and incorporates more straight hard rock elements than past records. It is also one of DH's densest records to date. This isn't to say that they've returned to the uber-hard style of Summer of Darkness, but rather that the record had a lot of production done on it. It's like a sonic attack on your head. Of course, this isn't necessarily a bad thing. It's a good release that pushes the boundaries of what we thought was, but also keeps the extreme aggression that old fans have come to love.Standout songs: Lead Us Home, Sixteen, Fading Away, Carry Me Down, I Am You
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ray
Great CD it's amazing how DH has continued to improve with each CD and that's tough for a band with as many great songs as DH has had in the past but now is the future and the guys do it again. Well worth the money hey just drop that Pepsi out of your routine and buy this CD you WILL NOT be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrew Delamater
Demon Hunter's latest album is an artistic masterpiece. The band has gone to great lengths on this album to create a great artistic work. The lyrics are rich and poetic and have the layer of depth and meaning that Demon Hunter is known for. Most of the songs are quite melodic, while still maintaining a respectable level of heaviness. There is a lot more singing on this album and there are plenty of heavy, catchy melodies.While there where a couple songs ( Follow the Wolves, Fiction Kingdom, Wrath of God ) that were not as good as they could be, almost every song on the album is of amazing quality. Any fan of melodic medal with deep, meaningful lyrics will be well pleased with the album.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
SUPERMAN
Mano-Daze!!!! DH Never ceases to amaze me!!! With great God-Fearing Lyrics with Deep spiratual meaning... And Great Songs too!!! there sound is beyond awesome.... They have everything in this CD!!!! they have the heavy songs!!! (Storm The gates of Hell, Sixteen, Incision) And touching Ballads.... (carry me down, Thorns) I really reccomend his Cd if you Love Melodic Metalcore with a message!!!! Oh and one more thing!!!! DH's Lyrics may be dark but they are true... I mean life cant be all roses and Candy!!! The lyrics Are Dark And mysterious.. but they also have great spiratual meaning to them... Buy this album!!! You Just might Find your new Favorite band!!!! God bless y'all!!! Have a great Day!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mathew Oliver
Poetry doesn't say what it means directly, sometimes you have to read between the lines. Each song is a poem put to music. In storm the gates of hell, he talks about standing up to battle evil in this world. Its based almost entirely on a few Psalms verses. Are you trying to say that the Bible has no meaning? Thorns says not to cut yourself because Jesus has already been cut for our pain. Carry me down says to let go of the pain when someone dies. the band has some stuff behind each song and a Bible verse to go with it. I give the cd thumbs up. I like how the band has added more hope to the songs. this type of music is aimed mostly at people who cant seem to find it because their world has been turned upside down or filled with more pain than anyone should see. these songs and the Bible have more meaning than you know, you just have to find it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
dh fan
I hate to burst your bubble here, but storm is a bit corny with the whole "storm the gates of hell" and "lead us home". For instance, "Storm" what gates? Do they mean make a difference in this world? Do they think they're changing the world, or defeating Satan? Jesus has already got that covered.I like the "guide us home" in the tryptich ,once it was cool, but now its starting to get carried away.Fiction kingdom? Maybe, though tracks 4 and 5 are good, I like their 2 previous CDs much more because seem to be way more realistic.Head bangers have no feeling if they don't mean something. "One final heartbreak,and blinding lights will guide our way. They will call us by our name. UNDYING!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elijah Parker
Absolutely incredible! Demon Hunter is becoming more breathtaking every time they release an album! The piano accompaniment in "Thorns" and "Follow the Wolves" and the string instruments in the background in "Sixteen" truly added to the main heavy metal of their songs, making them even more moving than ever! It's hard to choose any one favorite song, but I would have to go with either "Fading Away" or "Follow the Wolves".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Storm The Gates Of Hell CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tim
Very good CD, good guitars, great lyrics and surprisingly the lyrics rhyme. Great buy!! Buy today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.