Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Daywind Music Group The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]

Daywind Music Group The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]

The third release from Demon Hunter, appropriately entitled The Triptych, picks up where their previous two bestsellers left off- with a serious dose of high-voltage hardcore and full throttle faith. Songs include "The Flame That Guides Us Home", "The Science of Lies", as well as a cover of "Snap Your Fingers" by hardcore legends Prong.
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kolton
This is my second review on this cd. Im writing this second review because my first one is, like the guy put it in the review before me, is totally messed up. I wrote that review a few years back when I was a little 13 year old kid who didnt really know what I was talking about haha. While I still dont think this cd is that great, it definitely didnt deserve the review I gave it years ago. I can understand why some people have problems with the lyrics, they are a bit dark at times, but then at other times I really like them. Demon Hunter is ok but for me I prefer bands like Haste The Day, The Devil Wears Prada, Underoath, and We Came As Romans. Check them out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
cce
Some of the reviews on here are totally messed up. you need to really study the words to the songs in order to get what they mean. this cd is great. the only one i dont really like is the very last one. but other than that this is a great!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Camden Cantwell
Demon Hunter said that The Triptych was their "back to basics" record, and it sure was. Trading a lot of the uber-heavy sound for more of a straight forward agressive metal sound, DH rocks your face off with catchy metal. Lyrics are also more recognizably spiritual on this release.As far as stand out songs go... almost the whole record is catchy enough to make it a favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
SUPERMAN
I havent heard this whole album, but What I've heard is good It is the best Metal out there as of now. But there is one thing that gets me ticked off more then anything. its how people judge bands like demon hunter for there appearance or album covers and stuff. it says in the Bible... Do not Try to remove the speck from your Brotheres eye but instead Remove the plank in your own eye first before you worry about such things. God created Demon Hunter for a reason! To minister to the lost youth that live in sin. look at statistics. Most of the murders and suicides in America have come from the youth!! And thats Bad!!! And Demon Hunter is just the band to minister to the lost youth. Think about it. Its true. Thank you for hearing me out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jordan
I just bought this CD, and it is nothing short of phenomenal. The lyrics (unlike others have said) are extremely uplifting. One thing Dave did in his review was take those lyrics out if context. The song, Not I, is about sin trying to get he lead singer back, saying to bow down, but he says Not I.I strongly recommend this album.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
ME
For those of you who gave this a 1 or less, you clearly do not understand metal, much less Christian metal. DH is one of the hardest hitting metal bands out there. Saying you may as well listen to SlipKnot or Mudvayne is so foolish I cannot put words to it. READ THE LYRICS FOR GOODNESS SAKE!!!!!!! I saw Christ in every song here, I saw a passion for Jesus in every song, I saw a collection of people who fear God and are NOT afraid to say it. This is one of the best CDs of all time. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
CRX
For those of you below who do not think that DH is Christian enough, or too dark, I'd like to share lyrics from "Undying," the third song on the Triptych album: <I>Ever since the day that I was made I've been deciding the end. And I was made of wood and stone that won't diminish or bend. So when the heavy hand of death is here to take me away. I'll be the solid grip of time, forever holding my stay. Nobody ever made a force that took a beating like me. I call the earth and every scum to come and try to fight me. 'Cause when I made the choice to live beyond the dirt that we tread. I felt the curse of mortal limit fall before it was said. Tearing through these days I find the tolerance to strive and push on I know what lies beyond this life for me is already wonNo one can take away the blood that covers over my fall. Without the blood of perfect life I know I'm nothing at all. So now I reign forever hallowed in eternity's hand. No man can shake me from the everlasting ground that I stand.</I><br /><br />That sounds awfully positive and God-fearing to me. At their fan website, DH has actually written down what every one of their songs means, as well as a Bible verse which has to do with the general concept of the song. That's awesome. You don't get this type of thing from just any Christian metal band. This is a great album and I cannot wait for Storm The Gates Of Hell, their fourth album, which will drop November 6th.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
me
Hey, first of all the art is a symbol. Shut the music off and read the lyrics, the words make total sense. It appears they've had a really rough past,I guess some people don't know what that's like. They're just speaking what is real to them. They deal with tough things in their songs. You know what? I'm not so sure they're all bad. The music is pretty cool, that's just my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kyle
I see alot of haters on here but their minds are trapped in a bubble like most Christians are. The world is not all roses, sunshine, and happiness - life is sometimes dark and demented and Satan comes to you in those times to try and dissuade your hope and faith in God. Also, Dave, God is a God of love and war. When He finally makes his return to earth after the Tribulation he comes like a warrior on a white horse wielding a sword of flame. He has also destroyed the world by flood. Sometimes we as Christians need to realize how awesome and ferocious he really is. It would make me think twice about disappointing Him. That said, this album is freaking awesome! Not only does it show the grief and pain in our hearts, it provides a release in knowing our determination and hope in God can help us conquer every puddle of grime and sin that Satan tries to drown us in. DH has been a tremendous help in giving me strength in my trials. My personal faves are Not I, Undying,Relentess Intolerance, Fire To My Soul, One Thousand Apologies, and Deteriorate. This album absolutely rocks and speaks to the soul!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Unknown
Alright I love the cd. Demon Hunter is an inspiration. Now I know a lot of people are hating on them like a few people below. Even though I'm not a Christian, I understand their lyrics and it has a positive effect on me whenever I listen to it. And also these guys are ((SIC)) in concert go check them out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
pillarfan
hey hey hey/ guys their lyrics look at them they are Christ centered maybe it's just you can't understand it you'll get used to it..just picture Jesus with a mohawk in heaven he don't care how you praise him as long as you do praise him!!! rocko n demon hunter!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bernie
Awesome cd. I've had this cd for almost 6 months and I love. I would recomend this to most of my friends. BUY IT!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
abigail
I love this cdand first of all, for all you doubters: the name Demon Hunter...think about it...Hunting Demons...as in SLAYING. If you've read books by Frank Perretti such as Piercing the Darkness and This Present Darkness, you get a lot more meaning out of this. They don't mean it in a Satanic way.2nd of all: the lyricsAlthough they may not mention God directly you can look in the Bible and use common sense to decypher their meanings. Plus, the ones that seem "depressing" are often designed to be written from a non-believers perspective and showing that it is much better when you are with God.Also, some are just average, every day things that people go through all the time. If you watch an interview with Ryan Clark he talks about "the tide began to rise" he says it's talking about experience that are supposed to make you think; he said it's not for him to whine about it or for others to whine with him, it's to show people that without God you have no hope! 3rd of all: alternativeDemon Hunter is an alternative for those who like the hard core scene and I'm sure that parents would rather their kid's listen to a band that doesn't cuss, that is Christian, and has a good message rather than one's that have the complete opposite! Whether you agree with Demon Hunter or not you have to think...what would you rather have your kid listen to- Mudvayne, Slipnot or Demon Hunter?I also have a friendly challenge for all those who disagree with Demon Hunter or those who are unsure. Find the meaning of the Demon Hunter songs on their myspace page and maybe then you'll see what they mean. Trust me, they are Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ninnymuggins
I truly wish people would stop and think about the lyrics contained in this album. Their are many Christ-centered songs throughout the album; probably the biggest one is "Undying". Ryan Clark said himself that this song is about the joy and confidence that people experience through their relationship with God. If you go to the band's website, there are explanations for the lyrics in many of the songs. Just because God's name is not mentioned does not mean that He is not a subject of the lyrics. This is by far Demon Hunter's best and most mature album to date. The songs are more memorable and the drumming is much better. If nothing else, Demon Hunter is a band that has mastered the chorus. The choruses in each are unforgettable and creative. If you like hardcore, nu-metal, whatever, you need to get this. Best songs: "Undying", "Relentless Intolerance", and "The Tide Began to Rise".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mark
Congrats to DH for another great cd, and with more uplifting lyrics than their last two, and great high pitched riffs were an awesome addition. I don't mind it when people don't like cds, but when they totally condemn Demon Hunter's latest cd and ask them how they can be Christian it disturbs me. I think that Dave entirely misinterpreted the lines. Who said that they were talking for God, or that any of their songs are trying to make him sound bad. Many of their songs offer hope such as:"Give me a soul that never ceases to follow Despite the infection within". They may not specifically say Gods name, but they are an awesome alternative for non-christians and christians in comparison to other bands, and i know many great religious people who listen to them too. To others,If you don't like the sound then dont listen to the band. There is nothing wrong with music just because it is loud. If you don't get anything good out of it then that is fine, but there are those of us who appreciate it, and can get good things from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Roger
I agree with Dave because if you look at their lyrics you don't see the name of Jesus or God (at least I didn't). God is the one who gives us hope but my wife and I looked at many of the lyrics on three of their CD's and they left us feeling hopeless. We have been there before and don't want to travel that path again. We escaped from the occult once with the Lord's help and don't know how someone who listens to these songs, especially those on the "Summer of Darkness", can see themselves with any hope at all. Perhaps they give praise to the Lord at their concerts but we don't see it on these CDs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kat
There is power in the tongue, says the Word. The power to destroy, and the power to heal. Tis about time some heavyweights took over to defeat the darkness. Do whatever it takes to expose, and then banish evil. Rock on DH!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
aaron
Ok, I have to put this one out and get it out of the way: first, Kolton needs to understand that God is alive, and he is using this kind of music today. To say that this kind of music isn't God honoring (as Dave says) is not true... if you look at the context of the songs, you can understand their power. Ryan Clark is a poet, and he is brilliant at it too, which is why sometimes the music comes off as dark. He may have some darker lyrics, but when you stop and read them, you can see the power behind those words. This band is the best metal band there is--period. The lyrics are especially powerful, namely Not I and Undying. I was so moved with Not I, and it really got me thinking about how I used to succumb to Satan... but not anymore. I won't conform to what I see, and I won't surrender what I have become. If you even REMOTELY enjoy CHRISTIAN metal (which is what this music is, Kolton), then this band will blow you away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jamye
This is my first Demon Hunter cd and it's awesome! These guys do some serious dragon-slaying (hence the band name) with hard-hitting lyrics like the ones in "Science of Lies". Softer sounds are okay but, to me, it's time for the warriors to arise for the Kingdom. These are their anthems.....Sleepytime is over!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Triptych, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mav
OK, if you actually delved deeper into songs like undying you would see that these guys are Christians and this style of music is a good way of getting secular band listeners into the Christian scene. I think thats why they choose an interesting name like, "Demon Hunter". Yes, at first I was skeptical, but we can have all kinds of music. We need some peaceful stuff everyone now and then but it is never said in the Bible that music like hard rock is bad. Listening to these guys day in and day out- probably too much. But everynow and then. Pretty good.And there music (lyrics aside) is sweet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>