Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution Conversations CD

Provident Music Distribution Conversations CD

Newcomer Sara Groves has always wrestled with words. The former high school English teacher began singing as a side job, but found she had too much to say. So she left the academic world behind. Now she delivers Conversations, a collection of heartfelt songs that bring to mind Shawn Colvin and Sarah McLachlan, but with deeply spiritual lyrics that convey complex truths in an amazingly simple way. Whether she's searching for God's voice in the midst of a big decision on "Hello, Lord" or offering comfort to a friend facing death on "What Do I Know," the heart of this Minneapolis-based singer/songwriter shines through. Despite the varied subject matter of Conversations, Sara's main message seems to be that we need to keep talking---about our faith, our fears, our foibles---so we can continue to grow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Conversations CD
Review 1 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
millerm
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This CD is a wonderful collection of songs and praises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great lyrics!

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
artsew
Location:Washington, DC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a new artist for me, and I love her beautiful, heartfelt lyrics and pure singing voice - a wonderful CD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2009
Great CD! Her voice is wonderful and the lyrics have meaning. The tunes of the songs are also great! I like "Tent in the Center of Town."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
G. M. Newton
I absolutely love Sara Groves' CD "Conversations". Every song seems to hit me right where I am especially the songs "Painting Pictures of Egypt" and "This Journey Is My Own". Her amazing talent reminds me of Keith Green. These two artists have really impacted my life with their singing and writing gifts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Samuel
It's a nice CD. The favorite songs on the disc is "Conversations" and "What Do I Know".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2004
Customer Avatar
heidi
This is such an awesome CD! I love the way Sara totally describes a Christian's walk with the Lord! The beautiful lyrics combined with her wonderful voice make this CD a must for all pop fans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2003
Customer Avatar
Alicia
I really enjoy this CD because Sara Groves expresses her emotions so well. Out of her whole CD, I take "This Journey Is My Own" to heart because it is so sincere and honest. A lot of the times when I'm listening to this CD, I feel like saying, "That's what I'm feeling!" Christian music was never a big thing in my life but Groves' CD opened a new world for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Marina
This is a great cd!!!! God bless you Sara Groves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2003
Customer Avatar
Aaron
Sara Groves is like a picture about everything that is right about Christian music. She has great lyrics and the music does quite well to get the point across. I did think that musically, Conversations was better, but that certainly doesn't mean this is a bad CD. My favorite song is probably "First Song That I Sing" although it is getting way overplayed on the radio here. If you liked this CD I would also highly recommend Jason Gay's "A Place Called Hope". Jason toured with Sara last year and his album sounds a lot like Sara's. His songwriting skills are at least as good as Sara's too if not better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2002
Customer Avatar
Ron
Well what can you say her lyrics are thought provoking, voice heavenly brilliant my favorite is Generations, but they are all great the best Christian female artist in the world up there with Australia's Claire Hazzard. One point though is the mixed impact Painting pictures of Egypt could have on people she should have ended the song more positively it comes across as she is wallowing in sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2002
Customer Avatar
Carrie Espeseth
Sara Groves music ministry is very deep and heart touching. She is very real! She challenges us in a real relationship with the Lord. I recently heard her in concert, and it was very obvious that every member of her band was truly worshipping. Get this CD if you want a true worship, heart-challenging experience! "How It Is Between Us" is exceptional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Margi
I LOVE SARA GROVES! SHE IS MY FAVORITE AND MY DADS AS WELL. YOU ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO GET CONVERSATIONS!!! ITS THE BEST!!!THE OTHER ONE IS GOOD TOO, BUT CONVERSATIONS TOPS ALL!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2002
Customer Avatar
Alex
I recently had the opportunity to see Sara Groves in concert at the Greensboro Christmas Conference. Her lyrics cut straight to the heart and really encourage the Christian believer. Her simplistic message coupled with her far ranging voice and intricate lyrics make this CD a high quality purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2001
Customer Avatar
Colleen Howard
I can only comment on the song "Painting Pictures of Egypt" as I haven't yet heard the whole Cd (but I'll be buying it ASAP). That song impacted me immensely. I was driving along asking God why I was feeling the way I was, and suddenly this song came on the radio. It described how I was feeling exactly! It was very powerful! Thank you so much Sara - and I thank God for the awesome Gift He's given you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
Sara
It's been a long time since an album impacted me like this one. Besides being just an awesome album to listen to, the words have incredible meaning. Every song makes me think. I especially love "He's always been faithful" and "This Journey is my own." I highly recommend this CD and I hope she puts out many more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Brandon
I thought this CD was amazing! I heard The Word on the radio, and I knew I liked her. I really enjoy her in-depth lyrics and her smooth voice. How Is It Between Us will really make you think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2001
Customer Avatar
Anne Powell
My daughter bought the "Conversations" CD, and I have fallen in love with all of the songs, very creative!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2001
Customer Avatar
Laura
When I heard the Song "The Word" on the radio I immediately fell in-love with it, but I really didn't care for the rest of her CD. If you sold a single I would probably buy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2001
Customer Avatar
Me
Sara Groves has a great voice, and her lyrics are thought-provoking. However, as a CD, I found that I could not listen to it for long. Her voice often seemed monotone; her voice did not vary much with the different songs. They all seemed to sound the same after a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Conversations CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Todd Reid
I'm a Christian who also happens to be a jazz musician (drummer). The majority of Contempory Christian music has kind of left me flat. But I recently heard "The Word" off of Sara's CD in the car the other day and almost had an accident it struck me so. The music is refreshingly sparce and clean, and the lyrics just cut me. KEEP IT UP SARA!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>