Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gaither Music Group Big Sky CD

Gaither Music Group Big Sky CD

Big Sky marks the next chapter in the story of one of southern gospel's premier family groups, matching their inspiring harmonies with a blend of country, gospel, and bluegrass styles. Ten songs, including "Through the Valley," "Walk On," "I Bring It To You," and more.
Average Customer Rating:
3.706 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Big Sky CD
Review 1 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie
I am a huge fan of the Isaacs, and this is my favorite CD by them. Yes, it's different than their other CDs, but that doesn't mean it's bad. The songs are beautiful and touching, and Becky, Sonya, and Ben's voices are amazing as usual. If you listen closely the songs all have a Biblical message in them. My favorite songs from this CD are "The One I'm Dying For," and "I Bring it to You." I would definitely recommend this CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
I love the Isaacs. The songs are awesome and they have good encouraging messages in them. sure the music is a little diffrent but the Bible says "Sing a new song unto Me"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Samantha
I really liked this cd of the Isaccs. It is different than thier other cd`s, but I think they did a really good job. (especially song number 5 barbie bandaids) I have two young daughters and I could cry when I hear this song.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Katelyn Blanton
This album is more along the lines of traditional country...a wonderful blend of country and Christian music.This album is a bit different than the Isaacs' other CDs, and it is actually very good. This is more of a country than a Christian album, so if you're looking for a powerful bluegrass gospel revival, this is probably not the right album for you...but if you are looking for clean country music, then this is a good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Margaret Jackson
I too have loved the Isaacs for a long time but Big Sky is a little close to the edge for me. I probably wouldn't have bought it if I had listened to it first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy
I absolutely love this CD. Yes, The Isaacs have taken a different direction but they have also opened the doors to non-Christians. Look at how many people they will reach through secular stations with their new music. I love them and always will. If you like Country music, then this CD is for you. I think it sends the right message - definitely. My kids are also big fans of The Isaacs and they enjoy this CD as well. I give it an A++++++.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
mark
I love the Isaacs and have been very proud for what they stand for in there music. This is very disappointing to see them go out in a different direction. Not a good CD for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jerelyn Williams
I have ordered other Cd's by the Isaacs and I have liked them, but this is a new type of CD and I have to say that I was very disappointed in it. I didn't like it at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2008
This is an awesome CD. My favorite song is the title track "Big Sky". If you listen closely, you will find a good biblical message in the songs. Good job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shauna Crouch
I love this CD!!! It is so spiritual & uplifting. The Isaacs' voices are amazing. The songs can touch your heart even when you are having a really bad day. Its wonderful to hear the truth & the love for the Lord in their voices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
don't tell
The Isaacs are a good gospel group. Even though this new CD does not give a "out-front" message, the message is there, you just have to listen and with an open mind. I like the music but more bluegrass next time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Greg Parks
This is one of the best sounding Isaacs' CDs to date. People are trying to criticize the Isaacs for this album sounding more country than gospel. They wanted to try something on this album that they had not done before. It does have a country feel, but it still a definite bluegrass sound. They accomplished a smooth sound and they have added some additional instruments. When you see them perform these songs live, you realize that the message is still powerful. Well done guys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Moss
This cd is awesome! The message of the Gospel is very clear and the music is as tight as it has ever been. Keep it going!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lindsey Christensen
Awesome! This is the BEST CD that the Isaacs have ever recorded! It is more of a traditional country album (which is my favorite type of music) than their typical style of bluegrass gospel. If you are into bluegrass than you might not like this album quite as much, but if you like country...than this definitely is a good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2007
The Isaacs have never sounded better than on this CD, but a lot of the songs are more country than gospel in the message. This CD is a great CD, with some great songs, but lacking in the message found on their other CDs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Travis
Let me be first to say I love the Isaacs. I have every project and song they have ever done. I was very happy to hear that Mark Bright was producing their new project. I mean the producer of Rascall Flatts plus one of my favorite groups. It sounded like a marriage made in heaven. After hearing the album I was very disappointed to realize it was not in fact not the case. There are a few bright spots in the troubled union ,(Walk on) is a great fun song. However I was very sad to see the new project did not include the I's beautiful version of ,"It is Well",I respect that the Isaacs are trying out a new sounds musically but the album is more country then gospel or bluegrass..which is fine...but it's not good. If they want to go country with bluegrass take a page form Nickel Creek, Mindy Smith, or even the great Dolly Parton(which the Issacs have sung with many times). We already have an Issacs country album it was a Sonya Isaacs solo album.Anyone remember it???? The Isaacs are their best when they keep it simple and pure This new project...just sounds...well overproduced...indulgent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Big Sky CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
L Bayes
I love the old time bluegrass gospel like the Isaacs used to produce. This one sounds more like country. In the past they also had a strong gospel message, that is very hard to find in this recording.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.