Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gray Matters Christmas Songs CD

Gray Matters Christmas Songs CD

Jars of Clay and gems of Christmas! With the first full-length seasonal release from the Grammy-winning group, one of Christian music's most successful bands brings their unmistakable harmonies to holiday greats and original compositions. Includes "The Gift of St. Cecilia"; "Peace Is Here"; "Drummer Boy"; "God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen"; "Evergreen"; "Gabriel's Message"; "In the Bleak Midwinter"; and seven more!
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christmas Songs CD
Review 1 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the eclectic mix

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
lindee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jars of Clay has combined old favorites with new arrangements, and introduced new pieces that will become favorites! A wonderful eclectic mix for Christmas and the winter months!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laura
I loved this CD!!! It has great Christmas feel to it. I especially like the new songs they have included. They are very peaceful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie Armstrong
I love Jars of Clay but this was very very disappointing....really terrible.I have all of their albums and always go and see them if I can when they tour.I wish I had never bought this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rosie Weinrich
I ordered this cd after seeing Jars of Clay's Christmas concert. I have 3 of their other cd's and their Christmas cd is just a great as everything else they do!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
James Ruark
We've really enjoyed the Cd. It is unique. The song's remind you of the traditional song's but with a twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
DB
Great CD. Love it. Love some of the twists they put on the song. I don't like the song "Wonderful Christmstime" but I love the Jars of Clay's version. It's a good CD to listen to while you watch the snow fall outside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bruce Graham
Some of the songs were very good, while a few were not up to Jars' normal high standard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Christina Phillips
Jars of Clay may have waited to produce this album to present it just right. I love it. I am a nearly 70. My grandchildren sing and dance to it they are under 7. Need I say more. Great job!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbara Elliott
This was a major disappointment. I like Jars of Clay and expect more of them. This fell far short of any expectations. It dragged. Maybe I can find someone to give it to. I can't imagine listening to it again. I give it half a star because at least it doesn't offend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
JJ Beck
This album is a very well done Christmas album. The songs are very mature. Wonderful Christmastime, Love Came Down at Christmas, and Peace is Here are three terrific tracks that deserve some radio airplay.Hibernation Day is a unique and upbeat song that is more of a winter song than a Christmas Song.Winter Skin is an ok song. Not the best but not that bad.The Miracle of St. Cecila's and Evergreen are the two instrumental pieces. While not particularly good, they are not bad either.The remakes of their classic God Rest You Merry Gentlemen and Drummer Boy are also well done.A totally remade O Little Town of Bethlehem grows on you with time. Gabriel's Message, Christmastime is Here, In the Bleak Midwinter, and I Heard the Bells on Christmas day are the other songs. All are welldone renditions.So overall, I give this album about 8.5 out of 10 stars, but I'll round that off to 4.5 out of 5 stars here. If you are looking for a unique Christmas album, I guess this is for you. While it's not for everyone, I think it's worth checking out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christmas Songs CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
TC
How many Christmas albums are there you could listen to year round? Hardly any, until now.The arrangements are so unique, this could beJars most experimental release yet.Love Came Down At Christmas begs to be a radio single. O Little Town of Bethlehem sounds like it was hijacked by Radiohead.Too bad they didn't include a few earlier Christmas songs they've done, like Bethlehem Town.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.