Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Forefront Eye On It

Forefront Eye On It

TobyMac returns! Successfully combining elements of rock, pop, and hip-hop, he focuses his music on real-life struggles, his faith, and the glory of God in this crazy world. Includes "Me Without You," "Steal My Show," "Forgiveness," "Speak Life," "Unstoppable," "Lose Myself," "Family," "Thankful for You," "Made for Me," "Mac Daddy," "Favorite Song," and the title track.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eye On It
Review 1 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a very deep message

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I feel as though this album could have been WAY more deeper lyrically and had much more of a stronger message. Toby Mac is older now and has been in the christian music scene for for a long time. I feel like instead of pushing a really powerful gospel message, he's just staying comfortable with the catchy pop tunes that lack spiritual depth.
His really good tracks on this album, including "Lose Myself" and "Me Without You" bother me in a sense because Jesus name is not even mentioned in these songs. It's not just those two either. When you look at the album as a whole, it
is clearly noticeable that Jesus name or God's name is hardly used at all. For me, that's very disappointing.
Of course, there are some really good songs such as "Forgiveness", "Unstoppable", and "Favorite Song", but if you aren't into music that doesn't have strong lyrics or christian themes, I definitely would not recommend "Eye On It" to anyone who fits in that category.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Catchy songs, but lacks something

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start out by saying I like Tobymac and have seen him in concert; he seems sincere, likeable, and has a lot of energy and talent. I also like many of his songs, but the problem I have with this new CD is one of growth. Toby is one of the biggest Christian artists around, but his songs don't seem to go beyond personal stories that talk about the way God is helping him out. This is not bad at all, but there is some substance lacking here. Yes, he has songs that will have you smiling and moving like Me without you, Steal my show, Unstoppable, Forgiveness (with Lecrae, encouraging us to forgive others since we've been forgiven), and the sweet song about him and his wife, Made for me. Yet I feel as if Toby should mention God and Jesus more in many of these songs (such as Me without you, Steal my show, Lose myself) because we have no name to go with who's changing his life. Yes, we know it's God, but why not mention it? In addition, God shouldn't have to steal the show, he should be the star of it. And the song Speak life, while it's a good message about saying encouraging things, should be worded a little differently, because only God speaks life (I could be nitpicking, but it sounds like some heretical preachers I hear). I know this music is geared towards the kids, teens, and young adults, but the body of Christ needs some deeper meaning behind these stories. Yes, God helps us, but how about singing/rapping about the glory of God, His sanctification process in our lives, the joy we can have in Him despite our selfishness. He may touch on some of these things, but only in a surface way. At this stage in Toby's life he has the platform to teach and encourage youth to read and study their Bibles and avoid trappings of the world, but sometimes it doesn't go beyond entertainment. It's good to have fun, but that only goes so far in a world that desperately needs Jesus Christ. Go buy this CD and enjoy it for what it is, but I pray Toby will begin to challenge himself and his listeners with the deepness of scripture.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TOBY MAC

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
howierd68
Location:Ulyses,Ks
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS MY FIRST ALBUM THAT I HAVE BOUGHT FROM TOBY MAC AND IT IS VERY GOOD . I LIKE 8 OF THE 11 SONGS ON THIS ALBUM BUT ALL ARE VERY GOOD . CANT WAIT UNTIL THE NEXT TOBY MAC ALBUM IS OUT
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
lovemusic13
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cousin is actually the one that owns this, but every time we get together we listen to it. WOW. This is my absolute FAVORITE Tobymac cd ever!!!! All the songs are so fun and some really have stories behind them. Although, my least favorite was Mac Daddy- that really reminded me of the Big Mac at Mcdonalds. But all the other songs I love and have them memorized by heart! Great job Toby! The best one yet!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Memere G
Location:Mass.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Have not found a CD of Toby Mack's that wasn't the greatest. Love the music. And the stories in the songs "GREAT"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my teen was in love at first hear.

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Berto
Location:Vancouver, B.C.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toby Mac continues to capture the attention and interest of young and old alike with his music. My daughter had the words memorized to one of the songs within a couple of days - and I'm very grateful that they are worthy of memorization.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome CD

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
polaris
Location:Tofield, Alberta
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I listen to a Christian Radio station in my area, I love most of the music. I wanted to get my kids aged 9, 6 and 4 more into listening to Christian music so while I was on this website reviewing other CD's I came across Toby Mac. I had not heard of him before and not sure if I recall listening to him on the radio. I liked what little I heard on the website and ordered the CD. So glad I got it and so are my kids. This CD is cool enough for my kids to listen to and I love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great price

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mel1
Location:AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have given better scores if I liked the whole cd. There were a couple of songs that I just didn't care like. There was nothing about cbd that was anything but great. Great prices. Great products.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This CD

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
anne
Location:gillette, wy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love Toby Macs Music and this is one of his best Cd's ever!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lona Sue Jensen
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to the concert so I had to get the CD. Excellent message and music!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter loves this CD

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Chandler, AZ
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this CD as a Christmas present for my teenage daughter. She has listened to it many times since Christmas, and has told me how much she enjoys it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunflower
This is TobyMac's best CD yet. I really enjoy "Speak Life," "Favorite Song," "Me Without You," ect. Toby did a good job sharing his faith on this cd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eye On It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Toby Mac is great once again. This ablum seems directed more toward his personal life, letting us get to know him a little better. Great songs, music and best of all, great messages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.