Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Stand CD

Capitol Christian Music Group Stand CD

Avalon is back with the unmistakable sound, sincerity and encouraging songs fans have come to love. Their 6th studio album, Stand, features 10 new songs including "The Other Side," "We Will Stand" (featuring Russ Taff), "I Survive," and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stand CD
Review 1 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great CD

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Good Steward
Location:Franklin, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The songs are upbeat and encouraging. Listening to this CD puts me in a better mood and focuses my attention where it should be - on Who the Lord is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
A. J.
When people grow spiritually you can hear it in their voices. The spirit of God can be felt more fully. That's the only explanation I have for the fact that this CD has the most solid collection of Avalon songs on it to date. Sure there are some that stand out more than others, but I can't say that there is even one weak song. Heck, I'd buy a CD of the songs that didn't make it on this one. I read on the Avalon website that Jody will have to step down soon due to health problems. What a terrible thing to lose that man's voice! God bless you brother!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Megan
There are a couple of songs on here that are ok but they have been going downhill since the creed. They are 30 and 40 year olds trying to sing music for kids my age (teenage). I am embarrassed for them sometimes.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Clarissa Mitchell
Stand is one of my favorite albums from Avalon. It reflects a season of joy and renewal.Stand combines a variety of songs: danceable, upbeat anthems like "The Other Side," powerful ballads like "Orphans of God," and even a passionate re-make of Russ Taff's classic song "We Will Stand". I read a review elsewhere which seemed to imply that Stand was, lyrically, just too simplistic. But I believe this simplicity just comes from the "pure and simple joy" that Avalon has experienced.All in all, I think this record starts off perfectly with the bright and upbeat "The Other Side"; and ends perfectly with one of my favorites, "Where Joy And Sorrow Meet". In my personal opinion, that is an all but tear-jerker. It's a superb declaration about finding hope amidist despair. I would be glad to argue that this is perhaps my favorite song on the whole CD. I was really moved the first time I heard it, which rarely happens in my case.Some of my other favorites include "Orphans of God," another smash ballad for Janna Long; "Jesus," a simple praise song led by Jody McBrayer, and I LOVE the passion that Avalon brings to "We Will Stand"!Also, "I Survive" is an aggressive, confident declaration that we WILL survive life's trials. I think you can hear their confidence when you listen to this song.I love every moment of this album! I give it a huge thumbs-up! Go, Avalon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Benjamin
This album is #2 on my list of Avalon CDs! (Oxygen is #1) Every song is terrific. Greg - I thought you did a great job on "Love Won't Leave You", which is one of my favorites, and "Slowly". Jody & Janna - Another AMAZING vocal. I love "Orphans of God", "Somehow You Are", "Jesus" and "When the Time Comes" and was glad that one of you sang them. Melissa - Great job on "The Other Side" and "I Survive". Overall, this CD shows, once again why Avalon has so many #1 hits--AVALON RULES!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Hey this album "Stand" by Avalon is the bomb. Even if you don't like this type of music you will love this album. It is very uplifting and refreshing and inspirational. I would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mary
I loved this CD at first but keep going back to the older ones. I'm with the reviewer that says the quality is not as great as the previous ones. However, I love "I Survive" "The Other Side".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle
I love this CD! I was so excited for it, and it is one of their best yet! Joy and Sorrow is not the greatest song, but I will still give Stand five stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Stand is awesome! I would recommend it to anyone. The lyrics are powerful and the harmonies and background strings and guitars are really cool. A really nice balance of ballads and edge with the classic Avalon sound throughout. Great job, guys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
ERIC
Awesome CD ... inspirational music that will touch your heart ... way to go guys ... god will definetly use this CD/ Avalons music to touch many people .. your FAN ERIC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
Troy Seyfert
Avalon has delivered another great album...but there are some weak points in this 6th major studio project of theirs. The album has a tremendous start with "The Other Side." This is a different "side" of Avalon that we haven't heard in their previous albums...more modern rock. I feel this song is underrated though and needs to get airplay as quickly as possible...a song like this could get them back to the top in Christian music! Their next song, "Love Won't Leave You" is a VERY overrated song. Sounds too much like the old Avalon and doesn't really have much fire to the sound. Next on the album is the powerful ballad "Orphans of God." This song, along with "The Other Side" are the 2 best songs on this album. This song has more of a metallic sound and will definitely be a top song on the charts. We then get to the middle of the album, with "Somehow You Are", "Slowly", and "We Will Stand". While these songs are pleasant to listen to, they aren't songs that quite stand out. "Somehow You Are" does not have a very interesting sound, "Slowly" doesn't have quite the punch of a great song, and "We Will Stand" is a great remake of Russ Taff's song, but will probably not appeal to recent listeners. Eventually, we get to other high points in the album. The worship song "Jesus", sung by Jody McBrayer, is a powerful song that will probably be sung in some churches today...and also is a great sound for McBrayer, who is known for showing off his voice a little TOO much. "I Survive" is an excellent R&B/Rock song that many will find entertaining and great to listen to...while the chords are basic, the song is upbeat and has an interesting key change that makes it an effective song. "When The Time Comes" is probably my least liked song on the album...it seems more like a "filler". "Where Joy and Sorrow Meet" is a powerful ending.The album is much better than "The Creed", but not as high of quality when Cherie Adams and Michael Passions were in the group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
JesusFreak
THIS CD ROCKS! The best song on this CD is "Orphans of God" in my opinion, which reminds us that no matter how hard we fall, God will NEVER abandon us! There is an awesome mix of upbeat songs and ballads and the entire CD is just so uplifting! Great to listen to when you're down and anytime! I recommend this CD to EVERYONE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
notdenise
Excellent!! This album is classic Avalon - lots of "big" vocals and an encouraging message. I love it! I especially like the song "Jesus" but all of them are very good. I find myself turning up each song a little louder because "this is a good song!" :) If you're an Avalon fan this is a must-have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Carissa Ramsdell
This album is absolutley stellar. It has a variety of pop and pop/rock songs, moving ballads to the rock-edge "I Survive". Avalon delivers their finest, bringing back their signature harmonies that listeners have come to love with a more progressed and modern musical style. I have yet to choose a favorite, and cannot narrow down to make a "least" favorite. Lyrics are intellegent and well thought, style varies to encompass everyone's taste.. this album is not lacking anywhere or anything!Way to go Avalon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stand CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2005
Customer Avatar
Olivia
I am in love with your music! I have a couple of your other CD's and love them. I recently got your last CD "The creed" and love it! I can't wait to get this CD! You guys have blessed the lives of so many with great songs like "Everything to me", Testify to love", and all of your other songs. Keep it up!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.