Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Faith: A Hymns Collection CD

Capitol Christian Music Group Faith: A Hymns Collection CD

Award-winning Avalon bring their unique voices to familiar favorites on this fan-requested Brown Bannister-produced album. Includes "Blessed Assurance"; "Great Is Thy Faithfulness"; "It Is Well"; "I'll Fly Away"; "In Christ Alone"; "Amazing Grace"; "How Great Thou Art"; "The Solid Rock"; "Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee"; the patriotic anthem "For Freedom"; and "Holy, Holy, Holy."
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Review 1 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leagirl
I love the old hymns so this is a great CD for me. lots of old favorites with a brand new twist. Really great!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
xyz
I absolutely love this CD. Their voices are beautiful and I am so grateful that all of the lyrics are God honoring and Christ centered - it is so hard to find truly Christian music these days. I would recomend this to anyone and encourage them to really listen to the lyrics. Praise God for such a Christ following group of singers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Hildebrandt
This is a beautiful uplifting CD. The arrangements add today's sound with traditional hymns, but without losing the flavor of the original arrangements.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tara
This CD has beautiful arrangements of well-known hymns. I would recommend this product to anyone who enjoys listening to hymns performed by small groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
First Bapt Chu Walnut Valley
We are thoroughly enjoying our Avalon CD. Our teens are signing and acting out "In Christ Alone" in our service. All numbers bring a new life to the hymns we all love with a contemporary sound performed with sensitivity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Fred Annis
The cd was well done. Excellent sound and quality. I have followed Avalon for some time.This is a nice variety of songs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leo Mazuera
When you mix the talent of Avalon with the deep and rich lyrics of old hymns, you have an album that is truly a masterpiece! There should be more of these kinds of albums, using all the great hymns of old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tanis Schwaninger
Wonderful CD. The music is magnificent. The blend of voices professional. The messages are uplifting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ingrid Creager
This beautiful singing and music bring you back to a more joyous time! The voices, and how they harmonize are fantastic! A must have for your music library!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Wanda Watrous
This is one of the most excellent renditions of the old hymns. It is wonderful. We need more from them. Thank You.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Danielle Robinson
This CD is absolutely amazing.I've always loved Avalon,but this brings the old traditional songs into a new light and a new style.I am absolutely thrilled with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Mojica
I have been listening to Avalon I believe for about 20 years. This album has blessed my soul for I love hymns and I love the contemporary sound given to them. I teach voice and my Junior High students loved it, praise God! On the other hand I am terribly disappointed that the music book has not been released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dallas Pymm
I am sure that if you like Avalon you will love this CD. The songs on this CD are most of my favorite hymns and probably favorites of every Christian. It was a little modern for my taste in style. If you like the old hymns you may like this CD, but if you are not into the contemporary music style, you probably will not. If you like the contemporary style, this CD might just be for you. I can not say anything against Avalon's singing ability, but I can only give a 3 because of the quality of the songs. The delivery was not my taste.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tom
Avalon has done it again! With each CD they just keep getting better and better. All of the hymns on this album sound great, just like their voices. This is a great CD for hymn lovers and Avalon fans alike. My favorite hymn, The Solid Rock, sounded especially awesome, although I'd expect no less from Avalon. This CD will minister to your heart! And, since they are doing hymns, the lyrics are awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Another great CD by Avalon. It gave my goose bumps. I would recommend this CD to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Alyssa
This is another wonderful cd from Avalon. I love the arrangements of In Christ Alone (which is my favorite hymn), Amazing Grace, and How Great Thou Art. This is definately on my Christmas list for this year. Another great release from Avalon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Brooke
What a performance. With this album, Avalon has taken such classic songs such as "Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee", and "In Christ Alone", and brought true life to them. This album is truley thouching, beautiful, and inspiring. Avalon does an amazing interpretation of my favorite hymn, "Amazing Grace", with still sticking to its powerful yet soft roots. This is an excellent album, and highly recommended to add to your collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
brian sparks
FAITH is an awesome cd, Avalon continues to provide great music.I love all of these hymns, but I especially like "I'll Fly Away" and "Jesus Medley". I have been using this cd in the mornings during my quiet time and it has really spiced it up. Thank you Avalon for another spectuacular cd. If you are in search for a great cd, then I highly recommend this one. You may want to grab several, Faith makes a great Christmas gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
"Faith" is an amazing collection of old, classic hymns as well as relatively new ones. Avalon captures the reverence that these hymns are most-widely known for while adding a modern and fresh feel to it. Such as in "In Christ Alone" -- although it has been redone a number of times, Avalon still finds a way to put a new spin on it while keeping the sacredness to the song (which makes it my favorite hymn on the record). One thing that I also appreciate about this album is that Avalon was willing to explore different genres of music and add their own personal touch to it all-the-while not compromising the superb vocals and harmonies they have always been known for. This album covers styles from jazz to gospel, but this team of four still execute each song with the most skill and care that would be expected from any music fan. Great job, Avalon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Faith: A Hymns Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Joseph Neal
A highly anointed offering by one of Christian music's most popular groups. My favorite hymn on the album is "How Great Thou Art", a modern twist on an age-old classic. Like Stand, this album shows the group's sound getting better and better with each album. A must have for any Avalon or Christian music fan. Add it to your collection today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.