Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Daywind Music Group Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]

Daywind Music Group Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]

Shocking critics by becoming the fastest selling new band in Solid State Records' history, Demon Hunter are heading back to the studio to raise the bar again. This time, in their sophomore release, 13 new tracks offer a faster, heavier, and catchier take on their previous self-titled effort. Includes Beheaded, My Heartstrings Come Undone, Our Faces Fall Apart, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Babba the Jutt
Demon hunter has done it again!!! this is Demon hunters best album!! Hands Down!! It has it all.... It has the extremely heavy songs... "Our Faces fall apart" "Beheaded" the In between "Anhilate the corrupt" "THe Awakening" And the slow songs.... "My Heartstrings come undone" "I play dead" This is a great album but sometimes it bugs me how people judge this band!! THey say the song titles sound to scary or the album cover is gothic.... Or Crap like that!! Demon Hunter may look a little different but you cannot judge anybody... Just because Gods name isn't mentioned in the songs it doesent mean there not christian... In fact Demon Hunter has to be one of the most christian groups out there.... You might even think the lyrics are depressing, But if you read between the lines.... then you'll find great spiratual meaning in the songs... Actualy on DH's fan website they have the meanings of all there songs from there debut, to there latest album!!! in fact when I listen to Demon hUnter it really helps me in hard times... Read some demon hunter interviews then your mind might be changed....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
David Bolen
I like the sound but not impressed with the lyrics
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
pillarfan
Wow I love Demon Hunter. My church got me into them. If you like hard rock I really recommend this cd!! I really enjoy My Heartstrings Come Undone. Demon Hunter rocks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I give DH a 4 because their music is outstanding! This CD is far better than their previous one. They are talented. But it is sad that they are abusing this talent, they have such potential to tell many metalheads the good news of Jesus, but they have lost the point of life! Their lyrics just dont impress me at all! This album would be the best if the lyrics were Christ-centred. I pray that God will use their potential anyway! Yet if you just want to enjoy the music, then I would recommend this to you. But the best band albums are: Living Sacrifice - Reborn; Disciple - by God; and Horde
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2004
Customer Avatar
Anita Wright
Nothing better in the hard music scene. Nothing. This CD blows every other CD I have heard out of the water. It is an extremely heavy CD, uplifting, (to a degree) and it has good guest vocals, which help make the CD stand above everything else. If you are a fan of Slipnot and the likes, BUY THIS CD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kyle
I enjoyed Demon Hunter's first album, but this one didn't impress me as much. It has a bit of a different sound than the first..it's definitely heavier, and the lyrics are thought-provoking and speak of redemption and following God. However, I just couldn't get into this album as much as I did the first one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jeremy
Put this CD on the top of your must-have list. I loved the first one, but this was even better. More hard-hitting thought-provoking lyrics along with the incredible musical talent make this CD one of the best I've ever heard. Watch for the guest vocals too - most excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2004
Customer Avatar
Joel
Demon Hunter is probably the best band in Christian music at this time and in a long while. Their first CD sang of redemption, pain, and being separated from God. Their new singles: Not Ready to Die, and The Latest and the Last promise more of this except harder hitting and more challenging lyrics that encourage the listener to grow in his/her faith. The great sounds of Demon Hunter teams up with such bands 36 Crazyfists, Blood has Been Shed, Killswitch Engage, Thousand Foot Krutch, and The Agony Scene that will be sure to not disappoint new and old Demon Hunter fans alike. Unlike most heavy metal bands Demon Hunter gives the listener hope while still giving the hard-hitting sounds that any heavy metal fan will love. Demon Hunter's new CD will be sure to please the fans they already have and attract legions more diehard fans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Daniel
For those Hunter fans out there who bought their debut, that was nothing compared to this one. Keep your eyes out for this one when it hits on the shelves because not only does it have some interesting guest vocals on here, but the music is impossibly heavier and darker and the lyrics are even dark *even for a Christian band*. If I haven't convinced you yet, the new lead singer from Killswitch Engage is even on here for guest vocals. For more info visit their website www.demonhunter.net and download their 1st track off the new CD...it's 5 minutes long! Another thing I am expecting, a nice long sophomore release.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Summer of Darkness, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2004
Customer Avatar
mitch torgerson
This cd is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.