Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]

Capitol Christian Music Group The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]

The Art of Breaking features more of the no-nonsense, musically and lyrically intense punk rawk TFK is known for. Featuring a wider array of sounds, from all out rock stormers to heartfelt balladesque offerings, the group's third release includes "Move", "Hand Grenade", "Hit the Floor", and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
girl
Oh my gosh!I love the song "Breathe You In" so much! I am hopefully getting this cd from my friend(she'd better get it for me) Jk! I think TFK is super cool and yeah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Mount
It is a great cd, a little different than their other stuff. But I still like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather M.
Excellent! I have listened to this cd many times and I have yet to grow tired of it!Great music with even better messages, what else could you ask for?(Favorite tracks: 1,2,3,4,5,6,7..ok, fine ALL)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
s dawg
This CD was pretty good, except it was wasn't as good as Phenomenon . But it is still worth buying. Some of the best songs on the CD are Absolute, Move,and Breathe You In.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ben
TFK is awesome. one thing I noticed was how great the guitars are. There some real harsh solos in there with intense riffs. There has been some judgment passed on this album about how non up front it is. I honestly don't like it too much when music is like that, but I think it is pretty easy to figure out. Very good CD. Buy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2007
This is a must buy. TFK rocks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Eli
I got this cd a while ago... finally got around to writing this review. Alright first of all, I want to congradulate TFK for getting rid of their old rap/rock mix. Rap just wasn't their thing. Their definitely rockers, not rappers. Second, this cd is pretty sweet, though is still somewhat lacking a thorough Christian message. But nevertheless, you can still see the difference between them and secular rock. ROCK ON TFK!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
emily
OK people who are saying this CD sucked, you guys are weird! because in the CD itself they say they wanted this to be a low rock CD. ( not hard rock) i love this CD i got it last year for christmas and i still listen to it even though now i'm into harder stuff like M.C.R and flyleaf and killswitch engage Etc. but this was a really kewl CD and so your all weird and not true punk music listener if you dissed this CD!! - <3 ya
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Heather
I absolutely love this CD!!! OK, so maybe sometimes I have no idea what the songs mean, but that doesn't mean I can't sing along at the top of my lungs! When I actually DO understand them, TFK presents a very deep, rooted perspective on life, love and God. The CD is a little hard for this fan of Third Day and Sanctus Real, but it's very accessible music nonetheless. Maybe TFK departed from previous styles, but I think they struck a perfect stylistic balance with "The Art of Breaking."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
The Great Reviewer
This is over all the worst TFK cd. It has no hip hop wicka wackas or anything. there first cd Set It Off was there best Phenomenon was a good cd, not this one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Big Shane Luttrell
Great!!!The perfect album to listen to if you are just getting into Christan Hard Rock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jonathan
OK. TFK comes out with a hip-hop/rock CD "Set It Off", then for a sophmore release plunges in to Hard Rock, then with "The Art of Breaking" try more Modern Rock.I actually discovered TFK in concert at LifeLight music festival in Sioux Falls, SD. From that night I was hooked.Honestly, I expected "The Art of Breaking" to be harder than it was, but how can you expect anything from a band that changes genre's with each album they release. All this doesn't mean I don't like "The Art of Breaking." I really like "Absolute" and "Go", but if you were thinking this one would sound like "Phenominon" you're gonna be slightly dissapointed.Really this album sounds like a mix between FM Static (which is made up of two of the guys from TFK- one's the singer) and TFK. It's like the guys tried to combine pop/rock and hard rock. They succeed, but at the expence ot some fans I think. They should've stucj with their Hard Rock genre in my opinion, but this CD is still worth having. There are some realy good "hard" songs and beautiful soft ones too( like "Hurt" and "Breath You In").Keep Rockin' TFK!!! (but make it harder next time...PLEASE)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Joe
This is definetly a hip hop, rock band that deserves a thumbs up. I would highly recomend this to any rock fan that is looking for a band that likes to party. My brother and i call it the party animal band. It is definetly a CD to take to you late night parties when your kinda' getting sleepy. The only reason i didn't give this a 5 on rating is just because i'm more of a heavier fan, but this band did satisfy me though and i do look foward to getting some more CDs that they put out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Chris
quick tip... if you are looking for Set it Off or Phenomenon you can purchase them on this site as well but if you want a new driving record from TFK then it's right here. I see people complaining that it isn't the same as the previous records, well if you want an album that sounds like the others then just listen to the previous albums. The thing about bands is that they try different things. If they don't they end up like MxPx and shell out the same music with different lyrics album after album. Is this the most original and daring project ever? No. Is it something different from before? Yes. It is called growing as a band. And to anyone who says that TFK's music is not Christian then you need to look further. God doesn't always slap you in the face and say "Hey I'm God" and neither do the lyrics. Sometimes you need to open your ears and hear the message. If you want slap you in the face Jesus music then open a hymnal... if you want insightful lyrics that make you think listen to TFK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
David C.
Not quite what i expected , still good though i really like the song hurt. and yeah there is a reference to God like in the first song , its talking about how were tired of lies and want the Truth , Who is the Truth?Who is the Absolute?Whos Help do we need?but i do have to agree when its said that the contemperary scene is getting a bad rap. ive noticed that the christian metal(not all bands though)scene seems to be alil more upfront with thier faith , were as the softer music , beats around the bush.i really hope a good band like Tfk doesnt go that way!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jeff
There are some great songs on this cd like Move, Absolute, and Breathe You In. The only song i dont like is Stranger because its just not TFK, too original. Some songs are a little slower that i wanted, and the ele. guitar is fairly weak. Still it was a pretty good cd- but not what i expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2005
Customer Avatar
steven
Wow, and this is called Christian music. No mention of Jesus,God,salvation,inspiration.... NOTHING! BEWARE Christians of wolves in sheep's clothing. Not that they are, but it doesn't show in their work. Anyone can Thank God, but if God was truely in their lives, maybe the lyrics would reflect more. No wonder Contemporary Christian Music is getting a bad rap. Be discerning Christians as Paul said 1 Thes 5: 16-24
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kregor
TFK tried real hard on this one, but I just feel that they fell short. I have the CD right now as I write this, and I think it's nowhere near as good as Phenomenon. I bought this CD at least four weeks ago, and have only listened to the whole thing once. When I got Phenomenon, I had heard it at least five times by the end of the first day. There was a lot of potential here, but a lot of disappointment. It's too bad. Phenomenon's only problem was that it was too short. AoB's problems run deeper; still it's a solid lyrical album, and there are much worse choices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2005
Customer Avatar
me
TFK has done it again, blending awesome music and meaningful lyrics into one package. However, a lot of people are disappointed because this cd has lost the unique Phenomenon sound. But aside from that, these guys can make quality music with deep lyrics. Just remember, this cd is not Set It Off, it's not Phenomenon, it's The Art Of Breaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Art of Breaking, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jason
Really disappointed because now they sound like a regular Christian rock band. Nothing different or unique like their last album. Their sound has totally become ordinary and uncreative. I sure hope they go back to their old roots. I was expecting an improved 'Phenomenon' instead I got an average rock CD. Definitely torn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>