Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Joy: A Christmas Collection CD

Capitol Christian Music Group Joy: A Christmas Collection CD

You're invited to a glittering celebration of the most JOY-ful holiday of the year! Avalon offers sparkling new songs of the season, best-loved carols, and old chestnuts like "The Christmas Song" and "Winter Wonderland."
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Review 1 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
MG
This is one of my new favorites! I LOVE this CD, especially "Joy (To the World)", which is a fresh twist on the traditional carol that makes you want to get up and dance. Also, "Jesus Born on this Day" is simply beautiful. I sang this with the kids' choir at my old church years ago, and was thrilled to find it on CD. You will adore Avalon's sparkling voice talent and refreshing rhythms!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carrie Bennett
This is an awesome cd - Avalon is known for their close harmonies and they do deliver. Great addition to my Christmas collection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
This CD is 8 years old, but I loved their new take on old Christmas carols and their inclusion of some newer songs. Beautiful arrangements! Favorite song is We Are The Reason.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Grady
Avalon "Joy" Christmas CD is so worth the purchase. I have recommended it to many people and have played it over & over.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Emma Austin
I truly enjoyed this Cd especially JOY TO THE WORLD love the way Avalon does it,but i lovedthem all this is a great Christmas CD.Greatvariety
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alice Hein
Loved the CD. Nice to have some Christmas music that's a little different from the traditional, but still has some traditional elements.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Barbra Fox
This cd truly brings JOY! I love the renditions of the songs on this cd - and wonderful collection of songs on it. It brings our family into a wonder on the season and Christ whom we celebrate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Clarissa Mitchell
I first heard songs from this album at Christmas time in 2002. I had already become somewhat of a big fan of Avalon about a year before, but I didn't hear about it until 2002.I bought this album at a locate Lifeway store just a little bit before Christmas in 2003. When I took it home and listened to it, I was amazed! I already had a few favorites from the radio, like "Jesus Born On This Day" and "Light A Candle," or how about a very exciting and unforgettable rendition of "Winter Wonderland," and I especially give a big thumbs-up for Jody's shining vocal talent on "Don't Save It All For Christmas Day"! But when I heard the full album, I added some new favorites to my list, which included the calming, peaceful arrangement of "Good News," or how about a beautiful arrangement of the always classic "Christmas Song" with lead vocals by Janna Long.I certainly believe this is one of the best Christmas albums out ther! I'm not just saying that because I love Avalon; I'm being totally honest. Actually, it happens to be my favorite for the Holidays. Buy it here for yourself or for a friend or family member. It's the perfect stocking-stuffer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Benjamin
What a wonderful album to listen to at Christmastime! I got this CD on Christmas 2004 and knew I loved it the first time I heard it. "Joy" is a fun, upbeat version of the original and is one of my favorites. I LOVED "Don't Save It All For Christmas Day" (Jody is REALLY GOOD on this song!!!) and "We Are The Reason". Get this album to make your Christmases even more merrier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2002
Customer Avatar
Sarah Boyer
I love Avalon. I just saw them in concert! I give this CD 1,000,000,000 thumbs up! Go AVALON!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2001
Customer Avatar
Aaron Krause
I enjoy Avalon's stuff very much. They are one of my favorite groups. They're even more spectacular in concert. This album was one of their very best. I got it a couple days after Christmas last year because that was when I first heard about it. It's a very good album. I usually don't like it when artists change old Christmas classics and mess them up (Stacie Orrico is a good example of this) but I really enjoyed many of the old Christmas classics on this album even though they were a little bit more poppy. The only thing I didn't like is when they mixed up a of carols together on one of of the tracks. A bunch of my favorite carols got chopped off. But otherwise this is agreat album.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
April
My favorite Christmas album for a couple years now has been "The Season of Love" by 4Him. I still consider that my favorite, but "Joy" is definitely a close second!From the upbeat and catchy "Joy to the World" to the beautiful ballad "We Are the Reason" this album sparkles and shines with all the magic of Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Joy: A Christmas Collection CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2000
Customer Avatar
J Bos
Just dropped in to my local favorite CM store looking for music to do for our special Christmas celebration service. This CD was still in the shipping box. Demo'd it...loved it...bought it and we'll be adding some of the tracks to our music package! All God's Best To You!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.