Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]

Provident Music Distribution If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]

Jars Of Clay's latest album continues the musical tradition they pioneered in earlier albums and takes it to the next level. Described as "a rare blend of innovation, artistry, ministry, and simple, good-natured fun, If I Left The Zoo features "Famous Last Words," "No One Loves Me Like You," "Collide," "Goodbye, Goodnight," and eight more songs including the hit single "Unforgettable You" premiering in the movie Drive Me Crazy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cody Tidwell
I recommend you get yourself this. This is my first Jars CD and definitely not my last!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
jties
I'm in my 40's, and a Christian. I have been a music fan of rock, folk, and alternative rock. Chicago, Alanis, Pearl Jam, CSN, Goo Goo Dolls...eclectic. This is a fantastic rock album in its own right performed by a Christian group. Very innovative. Borrowed sounds, but obvious in a tribute kinda way (Grace - John Mellencamp; Goodbye, Goodnight - Beatles). To say the lyrics are simplistic means you haven't really listened to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
Joel T.
This is a great CD. It is my favorite of any Jars CD. My favorite songs are Grace, I'm Alright, Can't Erase It, and famous last words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jordan
This is a really good album that I greatly enjoy, but it is no where near as good as their first two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2004
Customer Avatar
Seth Friederich
I don't understand people when they say this album isn't any good. This is actually my favorite Jars Of Clay album, I really like all of the songs! Some upbeat, some mellow, all great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
Melissa
I would borrow this CD, but I wouldn't buy it. Only a few of the songs are good enough to wanna buy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
MJ
Jars of Clay is one of my favorite groups. I have 3 of their albums. My favorite song is "Worlds Apart" off their first album. This album is definitely worth picking up if you are a Jars of Clay fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jason Love
This CD is totally awesome, I liketracks 1,2,3,4,5,and 6. This isone of the best one's I have evergot. Good Job, Jars of Clay!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2002
Customer Avatar
Ben
While there are some very good songs (Unforgetful You, No One Loves Me Like You, Hand, and River Constantine) songs like I'm Alright and Can't Erase It are just plain annoying, with no lyrical substance. Sounds like they were rushed into putting out a CD lacking in the famous Jars musical and lyrical quality. Good songs balanced with bad ones turns out a mediocre performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Laura
This is one of the few cd's I have that I like every song on. It's awesome! I especially like "collide". This is probably one of my all time favorite cd's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
Alex
This is the BEST CD in the world and Jars Of Clay is the BEST group on the planet!!!!!EVER!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
JD
If I left the zoo is a good cd. It is a good album although I like their other 2 better, I would recommend this cd to anyone who likes acoustic based pop-rock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2001
Customer Avatar
Paul
It took some time for IILTZ to grow on me, but like all Jars albums, it has become one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2001
Customer Avatar
Miguel
To clear this out Jars of Clay is a very talented band. Unfortunately, this album does not show much of their talent. The first two albums were indeed the best with much deeper poetry and larger acoustic scales. This is a good album indeed but they sound a little bit off coming up with something different with something like the Counting Crows. Songs I would recommend in this album are "No One Loves Me Like You", "Hand", and "River Constantine".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2000
Customer Avatar
Amy
I have loved Jars of Clay since I first heard them when they were the opening act for Michael W. Smith, but I was a little disappointed by Much Afraid. I must say that they are back and better than ever with this new cd. It has a great sound and deep lyrics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2000
Customer Avatar
Nancy
This CD is amazing. I definitely recommend it. They are an incredibly talented, spiritually deep group. The songs on the album have an incredible depth, as well as being great music- great engineering and recording. I don't know why anyone would not give this 5 out of 5 rating. JOC are amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for If I Left the Zoo, Compact Disc [CD]
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5