Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Shine: The Hits CD

Capitol Christian Music Group Shine: The Hits CD

A shining example of the ultimate Christian pop band, the Newsboys deliver all their best! Songs include "Entertaining Angels," "Take Me to Your Leader," "Step Up to the Microphone," "WooHoo," "Spirit Thing," "Reality," "Believe," "Breakfast," "Shine" . . . and three new songs!
Average Customer Rating:
4.953 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Shine: The Hits CD
Review 1 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
sandy
This CD is great! They did a good job picking the right songs. I really like the three new songs: Joy, Who?, and Praises. Some other of my favorites are: Take me to your Leader, Breakfast, Shine, and Believe. My advice: Get this CD and any other Newsboys CDs from Going Public up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Nicki Kate
This album is great. There are so many wonderful Newsboys songs that it was impossible to fit them all onto this special hits album. I do like "I Got Your Number" though--it has become one of my favorites! I like the different sound and the bouncy, upbeat music and singing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Eric Tumperi
I have lots of Christian music to pull from my collection, but the one that I play over and over (like, right now even) is Shine! Just awesome. Can't wait to hear the new CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sara Bull
GREAT!!! The best CD ever! Everbody I know that has listened to it likes it. The only time it has ever been out of a radio is when we got Thrive, another Newsboy's CD. This is the best CD ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
J
"Shine" rocks!! I love this cd!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
Hannah Adams
The songs on this CD are just some of the best songs that the Newsboys have written. I thought it was cool that Toby Mac sang with them in "God is Not a Secret." I also like the three new songs (Joy, Praises, and Who?).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Michael Hines
I love "Shine"! It is my favorite song. The newsboys made a tremendous breakthrough by using great music but keeping the music pure and true. I like "Breakfast" and "Joy" as well. Keep up the good work newsboys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2004
Customer Avatar
Joshua Clayton
This is my first taste of the Newsboys ... and I must say, I was impressed. Finally, the dignity of the name of "Christian pop music" has been restored. Music style a bit hard to explain ... kind of like medium rock with a techno influence. Impressive. My favorites were tracks 1,2,3,5,6,10,11,12 ... yes, half the CD!! The most impressive thing about the "boys" is their creative lyrical quality. They write extremely inventive modern lyrics without compromising OVERT glorification of Jesus Christ. "God is not a Secret" was the "blow you away" track. TobyMac's backup makes for a great showpiece... Peter Furler showcases his ability to change vocal styles from track to track ... and lyrical style .. andthe other band members manage to keep things interesting with various styles. Put it this way: this won't be the last time I give a Newsboys tune a spin in the old CD player.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2004
Customer Avatar
Emily
This was the first Newsboys cd I bought. It's totally awesome! It has all of their best songs on it. If you're not familiar with the Newsboys I highly suggest that you buy it. You won't regret your decision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2003
Customer Avatar
Erin
This is a great c.d. It really brings out the meaning of being a Christian. I love the songs, breakfast, I'm not ashamed, but my favorite is shine! I dance and sing to it in the car!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jake
This CD ROCKS! This is a must buy for anyone. I love "Entertaining Angels" "I'm Not Ashamed" "Shine" "Reality" and my favorite WooHoo. I just bought this cd and I love it. God bless you Newsboys!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2002
Customer Avatar
Manjana
This an awesome CD. The first time I heard it at summer camp I love it. I hope the Newsboys will be around for many more years. Your music rules Newsboys. God Bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Nathan
It didn't take much time for me to end up loving this CD! I love every song on here except I Got Your Number. I kind of wish that Love Liberty Disco (yeah, it is kind of dumb but I still like it)would have been put on here instead of I Got Your Number. But 16 good songs out of 17 is very good. My favorite songs are Shine, Breakfast, Joy, Spirit Thing, Woohoo, and God Is Not a Secret. I definitely won't be ashamed to share this with my non-Christian friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
D.J.
Oh my gosh, Joy rocks! I'm so excited about it! I LOVE this CD! This is definitely the best CD there is. I'm so so glad so many other people like it, and Joy. "Who" and "Breakfast" are so cool. Newsboys fan 4eva!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
P-TownGirl
Hey, I love this CD. I would have given it a 5, but I don't like "I Got Your Number"; it sounds too much like that group that sings "I would walk 500 hundred miles...". Anyway, it's a great CD...go buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2002
Customer Avatar
aj
This album is one of the best albums the newsboys have ever made! Its the best cd I've ever listened to!!!!!! I can't wait until they make their next album. Newsboys rock!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2002
Customer Avatar
Peter Walton
I really like this CD. Breakfast, shine, i am not ashamed, joy, entertainin' angels and a whole bunch more were real awsome. hope yall like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2002
Customer Avatar
kpa
This CD rocks!!! It is so AWESOME it has all the best songs of the best band. I am a newsboys fan forever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
Ethan Campbell
I cannot believe I'm complaining about this CD, but I wish there were more songs just because this was the first Newsboy album I ever heard. So wish there were more like 30! I'm a complainer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shine: The Hits CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2002
Customer Avatar
A Fan
What can I say? The Newsboys are awesome and here they are at their best. The music is great, the message is truthful and inspiring. So the next time you hear a Newsboys song, don't just listen. Sing along with all your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.