Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]

Capitol Christian Music Group Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]

* Bursting with musical flavors and nuances, this CD blends urban rock and hip-hop with the unity of faith! TobyMac introduces you to different sounds from diverse cultures in "Hey Now," "The Slam," "Gone," "Burn For You," "Atmosphere," "Poetically Correct," "Stories," "Getaway Car," "Fresher Than a Night at the W," "TruDog," "Phenomenon," "Gotta Go," "Catchafire," and the title track.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great!

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
angmar
Location:raleigh, nc
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife loves this CD. She loves to dance to almost all songs on it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The typical Toby CD

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rose Waldron
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have found that about every Toby CD is the same for me. There are some songs that I love and play a hundred times, some that are OK, and a few I just never listen to. I suppose that is true of most artists CDs though. Anyway, I loved Catchafire, Diverse City, Gone and Gotta Go, which is hilarious. For his good songs it is always worth buying. Toby is fun and unique and I own all his CDs.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chloe Davidson
I loved, loved, loved this CD. I love how all of the songs are so "diverse", yet they all show a little bit of tobyMac. He is truly gifted man, and i hope he keeps this "momentum" up!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah De Souza
Well If you love Toby Mac than you will enjoy this album. He always does a good job and it is really one of a kind. Every time he comes out with a new cd he really impresses me. So, If you want something up beat, and hip hoppish, this is the CD to get. The song, Diverse City is my favorite so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristen and Joshua L.
This album is TOTALLY AWESOME! It's one of our favorite ones! 'Burn For You' is one of the best ones - and the CD emphasizes the beauty of Diversity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ronise Elliott
I dont know why people keep putting bad reviews up about this CD.Tobymac is an amazing singer with a very christian message in his CD(S)My favorite songs are diverse city, atmosphere featuring DC talk and hey now.My friends and family love them as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
I LOVE THIS CD!!! It totally rocks. I love all the songs, theyre SOOO great!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Revived
There have been times I believed in Toby. When people said he wasnt for God, I still thought he was. After this... I wonder what his true intentions behind his music are. I still believe he is a God-fearing man, but like a friend of mine once said, Theres a difference between singing about God and singing for God. Which one is Toby doing? I hear him screaming Toby Mac in many of the songs. And whats with the whole baby thing? Yeah, I know its part of the rap language, but Ive never used that word in any song that was meant to be about God. This is just sensitive me here, but Atmosphere kinda ticked me off too. Gorgeous song, no doubt about it... but once again we get the baby in there. Then, as if thats not enough, Toby has to go with the Atmosphere remix (the best song on the cd) starring dcTalk! Man Tob, you were dcTalk! Get back together with Tait and Kevin (long-term) and lets make some real music. Okay, Im almost done now. Toby Mckeehan, once you prove to me that you are here for Gods fame, and not for your own, then Ill be happy. With Portable Sounds, you get a lot better, man, bring on another like that. Remember your words I dont want to gain the whole world and lose my soul.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Revived
What is this? Is this Toby trying to show off his own name, or is this Toby trying to spread the love of God? Don't get me wrong, I'm a dcTalk fan and TobyMac has produced a lot of songs I like... but this album was not good for me. Why do I get to hear Toby's own name in so many of the songs?
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jonathan Boersma
Very good album with lots of different sounds. I started to buy more of his music after listening to this album as it does not happen too often that I really like almost all the songs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
L. Phillips
I do believe this is the very first Christian CD I've ever purchased. I noticed my young boys were interested in rap/rock style music and I wasn't about to start letting them listen to any of the stuff on our radio stations so I went online and listened to a few tracks...I was hooked!My 3 yr old's favorite song is "Catchafire" (Whoopsi-daisy) and was mine too until I was forced to listen to it over 200 times. "Phenomenon" actually sparked a conversation about baptism in the car between me and my 8 yr old son. Who knew?!I've since purchased everything he's ever put out. All the music is great and there's not too much rap, not too much rock and frankly the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I'm not a big fan of the very few more mellow sounding songs that are on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shaelyn
What can i say this CD is so totally awesome! It praises God and the music and voices are great what more can u want, also i got my friends to like it to. We listened to it at my birthday and ever since they want to listen to it whenever they see me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darren
I had never really listened to Toby Mac until seeing him in concert in the fall of 2007. As an adult volunteer at a Christian Youth Center, I attended because I care about what we allow our children to see & watch. While I wasn't a fan of this style before the concert, his lyrics helped pull me in. I really like this album, and love the message. If you are a parent, remember that it isn't the medium that we should be concerned about, it's the message. This album has the right message in today's medium. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Caleb Brasher
Not to bad for Toby, but sometime he should do something like Jesus Freak, but this was a good CD. Atmosphere is great, Getaway car is kinda funny, but all in all it's not to bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
HelloKittygirl:)
Okay, I really like the song "Gone" and a few others, but I found most of the songs ANNOYING. Not one of my favs.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ok CD
Prrrrty good Toby. ILL-M-I is the best song ever by TobyMac. Miss the rap though. Hey Now was pretty good, and so was Gone. My friends get a kick out of TruDog: The Return, and my 8 year old brother loves Gotta Go. I dont see why everyone in the reviews likes Atmosphere so much. The remix is OK, but its too slow for me. Could have used some more rap, Toby, but you get a 4.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
olivia
i love this cd soooooooooooooooooooooooo much. my favorite song is atmosphere remix. i only dislike 1 song!! how many cds can u say that about???way to go toby!!!! u rock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kailey
TobyMac so rocks!!!!!!!!!!! I loved this cd! It has a great sound and awesome lyrics! Me and my friends all love it! It apeals to guys and girls in a positive way that so little music does these days. The best songs in here are: Hey Now, The Slam, Gone, Diverse City, Getaway Car, and Burn for you. Also, TobyMac comes back with the former dc talk members for an awesome sound in Atmosphere remix!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Adam (Age 14)
It was awesome.My favorites were: Stories, Hey Now and Atmosphere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Welcome to Diverse City, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Hannah Adams
I have been listening to this CD more than I used to, and boy, is it good!!!! Best songs: "Catchafire," "The Slam," "Atmosphere," "Gone," "InTRUding Again," "Diverse City," "Getaway Car," "Ill-M-I," and "Phenomenon." I know that's pretty much all of them, but they're the ones that really got me. I'd give this album a 10 if I could!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.