Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word Entertainment Inc Press On CD

Word Entertainment Inc Press On CD

Press On offers the same unique chemistry as label debut Be Still My Soul, albeit with a bit more octane. Given a recording budget and a free reign artistically, Selah and Jason Kyle produced a project that flows naturally from, while extending the scope of, their earlier effort. The heartbeat of Press On remains centered somewhere in the delicate interplay between Allan's emotive piano phrasings, Todd's strong vocal signatures, and Nicol's hauntingly transcendent and versatile voice. But the addition of a full band on some tracks, background singers elsewhere, and a featured duet with Christian music legend Russ Taff on the song "Were You There," all converge to make this project feel "bigger."
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Press On CD
Review 1 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
R Moeller
Absolutely incredible! It speaks to my heart each time I listen to it, and encourages not only me, but my entire family...children included! We are blessed over and over again! It in so refreshing to be able to listen to music that "speaks" ...not just entertains. We can't say enough good about this album. We have passed on copies to encourage others in difficult situations. Stay in tune with God, Selah, and keep albums like this coming!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Morgan
Wonderful. I love the way they do the traditional stuff...actually I love the way they do everything. They are just so amazing, I listen over and over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Raymond Howard
this is the orginal best favorite Selah CD, my wife and I sing along on most songs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Arjan Heiligenberg
Selah, in the psalms is the hebrew word for: take some time to think this over (or something like that) The Selah c.d.'s must have taken a lot of time before producing them, they sound like a great wine must taste after riping for al great number of years. I'm not the psalms and hymns type (used to be a die hard Stryper fan) but this c.d. and the other ones of Selah are ranking close to my favourites (of about a thousand others in the collection).. Decided to buy the solo albums of Nicole Smith as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynette Hooker
Excellent CD .... my favorite is the song, "Press On" -- and also mailed one CD to a friend who is being greatly blessed as I am.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brianne Dirks
Excellent CD and great price. I would recommend this group. It was the first time we purchased a CD by Selah and we were not disappointed. We purchased Hiding Place by Selah at the same time and that CD is excellent as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Absolutely beautiful worship music done like no other group has. Very soulful. Specifically Nicol Smith with her raspy voice will send chills down your spine. My brother-in-law told me to check this group out and based on his selection of music, I was hesitant. But I bought it and fell in love with each and every song. I was selfish for awhile and then let my husband listen to it. He also fell in love with it. We now have all five of their CDs and we love them all. My very favorite song on this CD is How Great Thou Art. So beautiful. But I would say that out of 13 songs, 9 of them would all come next in line to How Great Thou Art. Great music from a great group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Hurt
It is difficult to find the words to describe how happy I was to finally find this CD, Press On. I first heard the song on the radio in my car. I had to pull over and just listen. It took me a long, long time to discover what the name of the group was. I just finally found out the name of the song the same day I ordered this CD. Without a doubt, the most beautiful, worshipful song I have ever heard was sung by Selah, Wonderful Merciful Saviour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jan Elmendorf
I love this CD as well. Listening to this is good for my soul! Great price, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Katherine
This CD grabbed my attention at song #1. Who wouldn't be drawn to the CD by hearing "Oh Draw me Lord"?! Thank you Selah for your great harmony and soul in your music. When I know I want to "sing", I get down with this trio because they know how! The love in the songs is so prominent and wonderful, and the love of God echoes in the instruments and voices. King David said "Let the musicians play!" I think Selah got a hold on that one. I love their fun, upbeat songs from childhood and the stories they share in the cd packet. Awesome. A great group that will be remembered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diane
I was given this by a dear friend; & I loved it the first time I played it! It's beautiful & deeply moving! There are so many songs in this album that are wonderful, it's difficult to select just a few as my favorite.It has now become my favorite worship album.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mary Yan
"There Is A Fountain" and "How Great Thou Art" were our favorite songs. Together with Holy Spirit's work, they brought my husband to tears. This is the first time I saw. They serve a wonderful and beautiful ministry in Christ. May the CD minister you to have a thirsty heart for the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
grace
This CD is just great I listen to it every night I love amazing grace most of all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Nan
You cannot go wrong with anything from Selah!!! Their music ministry is truly a gift from our most Holy God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2003
Customer Avatar
Linda
Wonderful-Merciful Savior became my favorite song from the first time I heard it! This is a modern day group that keeps a spirit of worship in their music rather than beat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2003
Customer Avatar
Lou
I love listening to "Press on," as well as their first CD. Both of them inspire me to continue on in my faith and walk with God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Catherine
Selah is an amazing group that has returned to the original wonderful hymns of praise and created inspiring songs of their own. I love the way they incorporate the native African songs into their albums. And I love their great background vocals and instruments. The Piano and Violin, especially. To top it of they have soulful and beautiful voices that really blend and express their passion for the Lord. It's Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
Brandalyn
This is probably one of the most inspirational albums that I own. Every song will soon become a favorite, and you'll find yourself walking around humming or singing them. I absolutely love this group; they have an amazing strength and sound to their voices. I'm sure that anyone who listens will enjoy it as much as I (and my family) do. God bless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2003
Customer Avatar
Katalin
It's an exceptionally beautiful CD. I can't wait 'til February to see and hear them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Press On CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2002
Customer Avatar
Ronnie Pace
Incredible voices with a really nice touch from Russ Taff, used to sing Press On in the 80's, Selah does it better than anyone I've heard out there! God really moves through their music!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>