Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Essential Records Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD

Essential Records Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD

The second full length from Red is a passionate set of hard rock ballads and stomping riffs, set alight by orchestral strings, soaring vocals and sing-along choruses. Innocence & Instinct includes the smash hit single "Fight Inside" plus "Death of Me," "Shadows," "Take It All Away," and more.
Deluxe Edition includes:
  • CD/DVD with 4 Extra Songs
  • video for "Death of Me"
  • Behind the Scenes footage
  • extended booklet
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Review 1 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love RED

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Matt
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is an awesome second album for RED It can not compare to End Of Silence although no album can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Quintessential RED album

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
BDAWG
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This album hit me right when I needed to hear it. It's amazing how God brings specific music and lyrics into your life at the specific time He knows it will impact you most. A powerful and honest record from the guys in RED. Newcomer to RED? Start right here!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ryan Melton
This CD take everything that made the regular edition so awesome, and brings it up another notch!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Justin
Some are saying this album is more on the dark side, more talking about bad things than good things, and that there's no redemption message except in Forever. I even saw a reviewer from another website say this wasn't Christian at all, and he misunderstood "Never Be the Same" to be a love song about a man and woman. Actually, both are wrong. "Fight Inside" starts the album off by talking about the struggle of man, and how without God we can't survive it. The album goes on with spiritual messages such as "Death of Me" about dying to yourself, a big Christian message. Following are "Start Again" and "Never Be the Same" about realizing how far he is from God and wanting to come back to him. "Confession", "Shadows", and "Out From Under" are more songs about the struggle, while "Ordinary World" is about transitioning seemlessly between life as you've always known it and new life, which could mean a lot of things, not all of them necessarily Christian. "Take It All Away" is one of the most redemptive songs. While presented mostly as a darker song, the end vocals "You take away" acknowledges that God and God alone takes away our sorrows, and in the end we must rely on Him to do so. That is the ending to the first album. The bonus tracks at the end are "Overtake You", "Forever" and "Nothing and Everything. "Overtake You" resembles "Death of Me" as it is about "taking over" or winning the fight against your darker self, another "die to yourself" song. "Forever" is a song about a man who was far away from God, but God is bringing him back. "Nothing and Everything", the final song, is a slower and different version of "Fight Inside" (but mostly the same words), as though ending the album with a twist. It's sort of saying that the stuggles are starting over over again, but the mellowness could suggest that he is closer to God and his struggles will continue to lead him closer. It's a true picture of the reality of the Christian life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
kewldude
This CD is totally worth all the money you spend on it! if you are hesitating.......Buy it now!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trev "McNev"
This album was absolutely GREAT!!! I still like their first a little more, but heck I gave that album 5 stars too!! Here is a little suggestion for skeptics: BUY IT!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nigel
This is a very solid cd.A lot of great music. The only problem I have with it is,like already said,it focuses on the fight,and not the relief we get from God.Forever is the only song that shows that.I liked the bonus features and stuff though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angel
More good music from Red. I really like these guys! The music is very emotional and spiritual.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matthew Adams
After buying EoS in '08 I've been waiting anxiously awaiting for their next album and a year later my prayers were answered. Having only heard short pieces of some of their songs I was blown away by the power of Fight Inside and the rest of the album didn't disappoint. Red has truly matured in their use of instruments and vocals making this an album that'll course right through you. Sadly some songs do sound very similar and do lack diversity like EoS. But what mainly got me was the lyrics, having nearly memorized them I find them an almost a half-finished sermon. Focusing mainly on the pain and not the relief that God gives was a real downer. If you can't get the music to get you pumped it might leave you depressed. Red is still my 2nd favorite band, EoS is still my favorite album, and I anxiously await what they do for their next album. Hopefully it'll combine the power of IaI and the glimmer of hope in EoS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kees Van Kempen
Great album from this great band.This album couldn't be better.Worth a listen and again and again, well you know what I mean.And realize this is only their first effort.Go buy it nowif you haven't got it already!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephen
Wow. Yet another solid release from Red. I think they've evolved into a better sound from End Of Silence, don't get me wrong, that's a great album, but Innocence and Instinct has a more refined sound that I like better. The only problem I have with it is the screams, they're not my favorite but they work with the music. The dvd is good too. Over all, this is a great album. I'd recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Baker
I love Red. I got this CD two days after it came out and it is all I listen to. It is so worth your money. I would buy it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
JB
This CD is TOTALLY amazing! Simply, a must have. It is almost impossible to choose a favorite song so i won't. The following songs caught my attention right away: Fight Inside, Overtake You, Death Of Me, Shadows, Never Be The Same, and Forever. One of my personal favorites is Out From Under. The beginning of this song probably has some of their hardest sounds yet. Extremely amazing CD overall. Buy it right now!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark Feauto
Don't misunderstand my 4 star rating! This is an excellent album! Red is one of my favorite bands... If not my favorite band! They beautifully blend the heavy rock feel with a certain element of screaming, to stringed instruments and an ambient sound! Just as with "End of Silence", this album has incredible lyrics! I felt that overall the sound was a bit softer than "End of Silence", which isn't a bad thing! Just a slightly different sound. Still amazing! "The Fight Inside", "The Death of Me", "Mystery of You", "Ordinary World", and "Nothing and Everything" are my favorite tracks... I can't say I don't like any of the songs, there's just some I favor over others. It's really hard in my book to get 5 stars, so it's really good when I give an album 4 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Justin
This album is awesome. I've only had it for one day and I already love it. "Fight Inside" is the best song of this album. "Death of Me" and "Never Be the Same" among others are also good. The style is a lot different then End of Silence, but this album is great too. And the Death of me music video is awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carl
This CD is phenominal!!!! It's one of my favorite CD's of the year! Michael's voice has improved greatly and it makes the music just that little bit more awesome. listening to some of the somgs has almost brought me to tears because of the sheer passion of the music. you can tell that they poured their hearts into this album!! 5 stars easy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Josh
This CD is gonna ROCK!!!!! the songs are great, the lyrics are absolutely phenomenal!! The video for Death of Me is one of my favorite videos of the year. I can't wait for this CD to be released!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
edwin
This CD is amazing! Depth of work, sincerity of lyrics, passion of voice are a few of the many reasons this is better than End Of Silence. If you like EoS you will love this CD...nothing remains the same and the subtle creative improvement makes this a must have CD>
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Josh
I think cd is AMAZING.I was really scared of Red having a sophomore slump, but I was surprised.the vocals are softer than End of Silence but that makes this just a more diverse cd.the one downpoint is the songs are shorter but that doesn't make a whole lot of difference....I can't really chose a favorite song because they are all great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Innocence & Instinct, Deluxe Edition CD/DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
This isn't a great CD to represent Christian music. I'm not saying I don't like Red, I like them. I just don't like this CD. I liked their first CD but not this one. I wouldn't buy it. The lyrics are great but not the music it sounds the same. I hope their next release is better.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.