Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD

Capitol Christian Music Group Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD

The third album release from downhere carries on their sharp, clean modern rock sound with fresh arrangements and worshipful lyrics. Wide Eyed and Mystified includes "Surrender," "Dying to Know You," "The Real Jesus," and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Review 1 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good Downhere CD

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
SoCalSteve
Location:SoCal
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like Downhere, there is no question this is worth buying. They're a gifted band.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jutta Mcmahon
Love it! Classic Downhere Style!! These songs immediately become part of your personal favorite collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Dockerty
The more music I hear from Downhere the more I like them. I like my Christian music to have a little life but not too rappy or hard rock sounding. Downhere fits the bill perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
MomHenderson
With all honesty this is the best album I've ever heard. Take inspiring, in debth lyrics, combind with fabulous vocals then you have Wide Eyed and Mystified. Everyone in my family loves at least some of the songs. Aside from the always mention "The More", "A Better Way" and "Little Is Much", songs toward the end are as meaningful as the first three songs. Taxiing my son & his Basketball team members (high school), they particularly love "1000 Miles Apart" and "I Miss You Here" Keep in mind they are NOT Christian music fans. "1000 Miles Apart" could be a huge hit on mainstream radio if the label ever released it. It's about racial and ethical prejudice and how "It not our houses, it's our hearts 1000 miles apart". This CD is for those from 3 to 103.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sara Behrends
I would have to say that this is in my top two or three for favorite albums of the year. I absolutely love the sound of this group, and honestly cannot fathom why they aren't more well-known. If you haven't discovered Downhere, this is the album to do it with! The tenor in this group is phenomenal, with a range that can't be emulated by anyone currently singing Christian or secular music. And these songs are fantastic. I find myself going back to this CD time after time. I should probably purchase another one in case something happens to this one! Keep it up, guys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
JJ
WOW! Just WOW! This has to be one of the best albums I ever heard. 13 songs, each of them terrific and worthy of much radio play. Why this group isn't as big as Casting Crowns or Third Day, I cannot comprehend. Every song is just terrific. The first three songs stand out as the best, but the rest are awesome as well. And no, this is NOT a Greatest Hits album. Downhere is just this good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Steven
I originally first heard and was slightly impressed by Downhere back in 2001 with there self-titled debut. I really liked a few tracks on the album, but I did not feel it was truly a ground-breaking or great album. Not bad but not spectacular either. When their "So Much For Substitutes" album was released in 2003, I could not believe the progress that they had made in just one album. Truly one of the greatest Christian albums I have ever heard and criminally underrated, "SMFS" was an amazing blend of spiritually focused/provocative lyrics and creative musicianship. But I have to say their 2006 release, "Wide-Eyed and Mystified" has to be one of the biggest dissapointments I have ever heard from any band in any musical genre. Although lyrically they do not lose their spiritual focus which I definately appreciate, contrary to some of the other reviews on this site that does not make this a great album!" There is one song on this album I really like and sounds like it could have been placed on "SMFS", "A Better Way". Every other song on this album, although not all terrible, really isn't even worth a second listen and does not grow on you with time. Very dissapointing, hopefully their next album truly "Mystifies", the way this album certainly did not...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kent Henderson
This Cd is fantastic. We met these guys about 5 years ago playing for 45 kids at a youth rally. We thought their writing was thoughtful and the music was inspiring. "Wide-Eyed" is such a great balance of creative instrumentation and shared lead vocals. It feels more like a journey than a bunch of radio-formulated songs, yet several have you singing along the first time through! Keep up the good work guys. For listeners burned out on the "it-all-sounds-the-same" music that we hear so much of, this is your cure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jamie McDonald
Downhere has a fresh, unique sound that I find very appealing. "Remember Me" is a good example. Many of the songs are creative, honest-to-God worship. "Surrender" is one of many examples. There's also a lot of heart-felt "I and You" or "you and me" conversation taking place that speaks to the vertical (God) and horizontal (neighbor) relationships we must continually nurture. All-in-all, a wonderful album worth purchasing and playing for many years to come!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
henry marquiss
This CD is SPECTACULAR. It gives honor to God with dynamic/moving lyrics (tears kept coming to my eyes) on a soaring pop/rock music sleigh. It gets my vote for CD of the year. Praise the Lord for Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
korey
This one gets a 5.0 wow. great music. great lyrics. buy a batch of these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wide-Eyed and Mystified CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
maggie sheesley
THAT CD ROCKS MY SOCKS AND FLIP FLOPS OFF!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.