Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Daywind Music Group Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]

Daywind Music Group Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]

Demon Hunter's self-titled debut roars out of the starting gate and doesn't look back. Smashing guitar work and a crooner's screams have never sounded so good. Hypermelodic madness!
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
L.T.Gandee
it's loud! i like it that way. i read the lyrics in the album booklet. they're not exactly straight forward Christian lyrics. some are about paying for the bad things you do. some are about not letting God in our lives. it's not songs that will be sang in my church anytime soon, but i didn't see any lyrics that would make me think its a negative influence.i like country/bluegrass and hard heavy metal.... nothing in between. it's easy to find country/bluegrass gospel Christian music, but a little tougher to find music like this that's "soul safe" for lack of a better way to put it, and still has the sound of an angry chainsaw. it's good stress release music. i'm likely to buy their other albums too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Ninnymuggins
Well, I finally bought a cd by Demon Hunter. They have three albums out now and I frequently hear songs from all of them on the radio. I liked what I had heard, so I decided to get the debut first. Some people think that Demon Hunter's music is cheesy and over-produced. Could be, but I really enjoy it. It has one of the coolest booklets I've ever seen. It is made up of four chapters like a story with an illustration at the beginning of each one. The chapters are "Letters From the Seventh War", "The Red Wasp/The Everlasting Death", "Love and Grace for Fallen Souls", and "The Awakening". The chapters are listed in a table of contents at the beginning of the booklet. The album contains two ballads which are "My Throat is an Open Grave" and "The Gauntlet". Vocalist Ryan Clark does a very nice job with the vocals on these two songs as well as the hardcore vocals on the others. A lot of people look down on Demon Hunter because of their "dark" lyrics. The same thing happened with Dan Weyandt and Zao. Give this band a try. You'll end up liking the music and the lyrics. Steve Rowe said that he was excited about this band. So am I. Best tracks: "Screams of the Undead", "Through the Black", and "A Broken Upper Hand".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
wtonysimpson
Great album by a great band. I listen to everything from Enya, ABBA, & Country to WASP, White Zombie, and even Eminem in secular music and Eddie Ruth Bradford (she's great too), Clay Crosse, and Third Day to Vengeance Rising (pray for Roger), Stryper, Bloodgood, and DEMON HUNTER...I own this CD already... somewhere, but since I can't find it I am buying it (lost SOD too) AGAIN. It is that good. Demon Hunter is that good of a band. Support them with your purchase and most importantly with your prayers... You'll get a LOT out of it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Todd
I bought this album with average expectations but it just blew me away. If you like hard rock/heavy metal, do not hesitate to buy this album.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2004
Customer Avatar
Nichole
This is one of the best cds I've ever heard. If you are considering getting it...DON'T change your mind!!! Buy it now!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2003
Customer Avatar
Joe
Best band in the world. You have to buy this. If I could give this CD a higher rating I'd give it 100.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jon eddy
The first time I heard them on the Real Player audio clips, I thought: I have gotta have that CD! It is whithout a doubt, my favorite band! They are the heaviest band I have ever heard! (literally!) I used to be a big fan of Liti-kriss, and I still think they're cool, but Demon Hunter rules! If you like EXTREMELY heavy metal, this is the band for you!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ratwire
Yes! It is official, the best death metal act of the decade (and 90s) have arrived. DH are a blend of the heaviest metal mixed with a soul and melodic edge not seen too often in the genre. You can forget Knot or Pantera.....this is pure gold. Buy it to show your support, we need more bands like this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
the Iron Cobra
I am back to the halls of Musicforce to let you know about my new favorite band of 2002. When I first heard their single,"through the black" I was EXTREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEMMLY skeptical. But with all the hype they had been building and the fact they had one of the coooooooooolest names I have ever heard I decided to give their first disc a try. And I was simply BLOWNAWAY! From the opener to the last track I simply cannot describe the way I felt (it was like the first time I heard ZAO). This is some of the best musicianship and studio work I have EVER heard. To describe the way they sound like is pretty easy-Slipknot done right. The vocal work screeeeeeeeeeeeeeeams Slipknot influence along with the Drumming, but it's better! No I am not kidding, the way D.H. flows from rip your head off vocal growls to top-notch clean vocals is just stunning. And most importantly these guys love God and are not afraid to show it in their music. Their songwriting is encouraging and challenges kids to get up and go with God. Before I go let me say that Demon Hunter is NOT!!!!! a Slipknot rip off, they simply took what Slipknot was good at and PERFECTED it. Added uplifting lyrics that glorify God not the kinda stuff that you had to eat soap to feel even remotely clean after singing along (ala Slipknot). Demon Hunter rules and I truly have become a diehard fan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Chris
I have been waiting for the debut of this album for over a year now, and it is finally out. When I first heard the name Demon Hunter, I was hooked and I didn't even hear the music yet. My favorite song has to be "Through the Black", that's the first song I heard from them and is still my favorite. No other band can come close to touching Demon Hunter's talent. Death Metal is without a doubt the best music in the world. I AM DEMON HUNTER!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2002
Customer Avatar
Josh Turner
I had heard the "Through the Black" demo version on the most recent Solid State sampler CD. Being a strong and dedicated number one Zao fan, it took me awhile but the one song of Demon Hunter's was enough to replace Zao. I anxiously awaited October 22nd, longing for the day that Demon Hunter would be heard worldwide with the release of their debut album. When I finally got my hands on the CD, they didn't let go. The amazimg blend of the harmonizing voices on the choruses blew me away. The intertwined screaming with singing, plus the precise machine-gun drumming with the bazooka bass riffs added to the ferocity of the already-powerful head bashing guitar blasts made this the best album I've ever heard. Demon Hunter is a truly talented band, blending elements never seen before in heavy metal with classical aspects of rock-my-face-off harcore. Doing with five people what Slipknot can't do with nine, this band smashes all competition and is at the top of my list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2002
Customer Avatar
Chris
This album is seriously amazing... It blows away everything! I can't even put it into words. The best track I'd say is "Turn your back and run".Go out and get it! The only problem I have with it, is its only about 40 minutes long. It could be longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Demon Hunter, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2002
Customer Avatar
Donny Whitman
I really need to give Demon Hunter applause for the work they have done on their first album, the lead vocals sounds truly amazing and completely solid. Mix project 86 with Rob Zombie and there you go. Demon Hunter stands out in that, while the music is fast-paced and hard, it has a definite rhythm and some really, really descent misc. Vocals. The guitar and bass are magically delicious, and the over all feel of their music gives an OH YEAH! feeling instead of a big OH BOY! It just stands out more than anything I've heard in a long time. If you want to try something different then usual, yet something to make your friends drool over, I highly recommend Demon Hunter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.