Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]

Capitol Christian Music Group Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]

These Portland natives offer their hard hitting debut release. Kutless combines sincere and plaintive vocals with absorbing, dynamically intense new hard rock. Produced and engineered by Aaron Sprinkle. Includes "Your Touch", "Vow", "Again", and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.88 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
kaylee
Kutless is an AWESOME band that you can listen to and enjoy the beat without all the negatives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ryan
After getting hooked on kutless's newer cd's, I decided to check out their older stuff. Considering this is their first release, it is very incredible! Very good album! I can't give it a rating lower than 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ryan Melton
This is a great cd! It really rocks, but I think I still like Hearts Of The Innocent better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
SUPERMAN
WOW!!!! This album is totally wicked!!! this is what christian Hard rock is all about! Kutless is sweet!!! out of all the cds I have from them this one is By far the best! And who cares if there copying secular groups they probably just like that sound and it is actually a good thing its like all those secular groups except Christian!!!!! Oh Yeah I LOVE The Rap Part in Pride Away Its so Cool!!!! My Faves are Probably "Tonight" "Pride away" and "Your Touch" "Run" Is good too!!!! Heck there all great! Buy this album you wont regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michaela
Hey! Awesome!This Kutless CD is SOO Awesome!The first time I heard them over the internet I thought, "Geeze these guys are crazy, a CHRISTAIN ROCK band? No way!"But After I've heard them on the radio, and at my frinds house.. Oh Geeze, I am a Kutless FAN!Even my mom likes em'!And whatever with what that Ward from Ohio, or whatever said.. What the? So what if you guys are copying other secular Rock bands? That's the point, isn't it? To bring from Secular to reality!! Thats WHY I listen to you! Whatever they say.. You go guys!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2007
This Kutless cd is the original and Best cd they ever came out with a big cd for rock fans like me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
YO
Kutless' self titled debut is One of their best cds. I still like Hearts Of The Innocent better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
JoshuaDC
The album 'Kutless' is a great collection of songs, but not exactly 'Kutless' songs. Even though this is their first album, the styles of the songs are radically diffrent from the thier style on the rest of thier albums. Every song but two are in Drop D and have the same power chord layout. The songs are very simple technically, but man, they sound great. 'Your Touch', 'Tonight', and 'Down' are all great songs, with the passionate song 'Run' (the hit radio single) mixed in, along with the song 'Grace and Love', which, although a great song, seems a bit out of place in this heavy album, since its just a piano and few simple chords along with soft vocals. Buy this album, but don't judge Kutless by this first recording until you've seen the rest of their work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Derrick
Alright, now let us adress the "hype". Kutless is really good. With songs like "Tonight" and "Your Touch" they really rock. However we are neglecting all the other bands that rock just as hard. What Happened to Thousand Foot Krutch, Falling Up, P.O.D., Skillet, Classic Crime, Day Of Fire, Disciple, Flyleaf, Red, and Jonah33? These guys are just as solid as Kutless and most of them provide an interesting and enjoyable listen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2005
Customer Avatar
Gina Farnsworth
Yes, this Kutless cd is mellow but there is nothing wrong with a change. I think the music and lyrics are beautiful. I will continue to purchase anything they produce because I believe they play from the heart. God Bless you all!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2004
Customer Avatar
Ward
Not to be a cynic, but I agree with what Ben from Cali mentioned earlier. Instrumentally and vocally these guys are rip off imitations of many secular and Christian bands already out there. Guitarists recognize immediately the simple and repeated guitar riffs and bass lines (power chords either slammed or strummed over and over again... in dropped D on both guitar and bass to make it even easier to do...). The vocals are weak in some places (His scream makes me want to cry out of its utter weakness...). Even more disappointing is seeing these guys in concert. They shared the stage with Thousand Foot Krutch and newbie rockers Falling Up. TFK rocked hardest, with Falling Up knocking my socks off in surprise. When Kutless came up and tried to get the crowd to jump, half the audience (including my seven member group) decided to leave out of boredom. Their concert was feeble. Maybe they had a bad day (or two) the last three times I've seen them live. I don't know.To give the group props, the lyrics are not watered down at all. I was impressed listening to the ministry oriented lyrics. They hit hard, no doubt. But the energy, instruments, vocal quality, and overall originality of the band don't do the lyrics proper justice. All in all, not a band intro CD for someone just getting interested in either Christian hard rock or hard rock in general. The CD is not original or groundbreaking in the least bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2004
Customer Avatar
Matt
This CD is so great. You have to buy this. It's awesome if you are a rock fan. It speaks the word. You'll be blessed by this CD. God Bless You!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2004
Customer Avatar
Joshua Clayton
I don't normally listen to hard rock ... but I listened to a copy of this and was pleasantly surprised. For once, hard-hitting truth is not compromised in such 'accessible' music. And the fact is I did appreciate that the sound takes more of a melodic approach, even in the songs where they 'rock out'. I'm not a fan of this music style - so let me comment on the lyrics. Tremendous towering achievement. Your Touch is full of desperation and appreciation. Vow is a song of repentance. Run (my favorite) is a song God sings over His rebellious people, calling us back. Pride Away is so awesome - a cry for God to remove our pride. It's definitely got its strong moments musically, also, probably because of the melodic rock approach. However, at times, the guitars begin to sound the same. By about the 7th track, you may think, "haven't I heard that riff or that same sound before?" You probably have, earlier in the album. And some of the songs just need a little more VELOCITY. Not fast enough!! Again though, the whole thing is lyrically strong and diverse, while the whole album is a heavy piece of chunky, roaring guitars ... with some definite strong moments of creativity. Not bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jon
Sweet CD. It is the best CD ever! It not only has amazing music, but it also has amazing lyrics that honor God! That is really cool. They are really talented musicians and I can't wait to get their next CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
Will Curry
This cd is awesome. A great mixture of hard rock and worship music. I really like this album. ROCK ON!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2004
Customer Avatar
Aaron Smith
This group kinda caught me by suprise. I really didn't know what to think when I heard their name, but their music is definitely awesome. "Run" is such an inspiring song and you can totally relate with the Christian complacency in that song. I think its awesome that you don't have to turn to the world for great rock, but there are still some bands that glorify God with their lyrics like Kutless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Greg
I have to disagree with other reviews in that I think these guy have a lot of talent. They have good music and God filled lyrics. I think this is a greag CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ken Butler
This is one of the most spiritually powerful albums I have ever heard. It draws you to God in so many unexpected ways. I listened today at work and was brought to tears in shame for the lack of respect that I show my God.Great CD!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Elisabeth
Six Flags in New Orleans concert was awesome. The songs I loved and needed to hear were Run and Your Touch. You guys are so nice and just really awesome! Love the accents! "Smile, if not for you for GOD, he loves you!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kutless, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ben
This band is basically a rip-off of every mainstream alternative/rock band that's made it big over the last couple of years. Their musicianship is pretty good, but their lyrics contain no depth or originality whatsoever. I don't think I'll ever be able to listen to "Tonight" without laughing at how it's completely ripped off from Creed's "What If". I don't think I'll ever understand everyone's infatuation with this band. If you're that starved for an alternative then go for 38th Parallel, 12 Stones, Pillar, East West, Embodyment (their new stuff, unless you like screaming), POD, Trust Co., Epidemic, Lifehouse... anyone with talent!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.