Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Provident Music Distribution By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]

Joy Williams exhibits the "joy of the Lord" in all that she does. Now, with the release of her sophomore album, Joy "takes it up a notch." Taking an active role in the musical direction and production process as well as contributing multiple cuts as a songwriter, Joy is the dominating creative force on this new album. The result is a fresh pop sound reminiscent of mainstream artists such as Natalie Imbruglia, Nelly Furtado and Sheryl Crow. Joy challenges listeners lyrically in the song "Surrender" to daily give every area of their lives to God as they walk in the light of His love. The song "Desperate" urges us to depend on God for everything in life. Another highlight is the thought-provoking song "I Wonder" that asks how God could love us so much that He would actually die for us.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paula Zweckbronner
Very good cd she is an excellent artist with a great voice. This album is has great lyrics and touches your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Abigail
Joy's singing is Great with a capital g! I love Joy Williams singing and have been a fan since 2003 and have her first two albums. I love them! Anyone who likes Joy Williams or have never listened to her singing before should buy this album. It is great. My favorites are #1,#2,and #3, but all are great. Keep making albums Joy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Surpriser
-----------------I love this cd! this was my first Joy cd! I had heard "By Surprise" on the Dove Hits 2003 cd and immediatley fell in love with her! I love all the songs execpt for tracks 6 & 10. They're just kinda boring.-----------------------
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kelsey
This album is one of Joy Williams best! I sing a lot of her songs for church and more. I absolutely love her music. She inspires me to be a better Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
no name please
Amazing! This album is absolutely amazing! I enjoy listening to all of her songs, but my favorite is "By Surprise" no wonder she named her album after it... it's the best song of 'em all!!! Way to go Joy!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Alexia
WOW! This cd is so totally awesome! I have never in my life heard a cd that ministered to me so much. Every song is wonderful! I can't pick a favorite, but I have to mention Wish. It talks about wanting to see Christ once during His life. Joy sings it with meaning and I must admit I get teary eyed listening to it. It is such a cool song! I highly recommend this CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
EE
Joy Williams has an amazing voice no doubt but this CD is just not her. I can't really understand the words when she sings. I gave her a 2.5 just for the song "Surrender" because it is an awesome song and it's very ministering to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2003
Customer Avatar
Megan
All I can say about this cd is WOW!!! I love it!!!!! It is one of the best I have ever heard!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
Alexa Parker
This is my FAVORITE CD. It is awesome. A++ I highly recommend you to buy this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2003
Customer Avatar
Faith
This CD isn't bad, but it's not one of my favorites. I really like Joy's old sound better-- this is too close to country for me. But the lyrics are very deep and real, and Joy has a deep, personal relationship with God, which is cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2003
Customer Avatar
Danna
Joy lives up to her name! You can tell just by looking at her that her smile isn't fake, and God blessed her with real joy. I like Surrender the best, but I've got to talk about Every Moment. That song really makes me think how I have held on to every moment I could, and will keep on doing it. I think of my friend that I've known for exactly half my life, (I'm 14.)and how we would laugh until we cried many times, and the many moments I've had with him that I won't forget. I have another friend I've known for three years, but have only been friends with for a few months. I think how many times I've laughed until I've cried with him, and how I'm going to keep holding on to every moment even though we're all growing up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2003
Customer Avatar
Naida
This CD is one of my favorites. There are some beautiful songs to God on here. My friends who are not Christians like it very much. Thank you Joy for giving me such a great witness tool. Keep praising Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sarah
This is the first album that I've bought where I actually like, if not LOVE all of the songs on it. Joy is a very powerful singer and her style is unique. I always listen to this CD if I'm feeling down or sad. Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2003
Customer Avatar
Aaron
I LOVE JOY WILLIAMS! This CD is great...what an exceptional artist! Joy is my new favorite! =) You've gotta give it a listen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jordan Mordick
I love this cd. Both of her cds are SO great!!!!:) I could listen to them all day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2003
Customer Avatar
Leanna
This one isn't as good as the first one but it's still good. Keep up the hard work Joy. God Bless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Cassi
IT IS THE BEST EVER!!!!!!!IT IS THE FIRST CD I HAVE EVER GOTTEN FROM HERE AND IT IS THE BEST!!!!!!She has such wonderful talent and she is really using it for the God.I love the song I Wonder,Surprise,Surrender,the love of the lord endures forever what a powerful song.You will not be dissapointed when you get this CD.It is one of the CD's I Have.Get it NOW!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Melissa
This cd is so totally awesome!!!!!! I REALLY love every song on it! Especially EVERY DAY and BY SURPRISE. Joy is an awesome singer, and I recommend this cd to anyone who likes great music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2003
Customer Avatar
A fan
I love this album! Joy has such a sweet spirit, and her love and trust in Christ exhibit themselves throughout this whole album, which goes far away from being a sophomore slump - instead, it is a step up, musically and lyrically, from her last album, but not so much as to be really different. If you liked "Joy Williams," you should love "By Surprise."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for By Surprise, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2002
Customer Avatar
breanna
I love Joy Williams. My sister got WoW 2003 and 'Surrender' is on it, and I absolutely love it! I have wow 2002 and 'Serious' is on it, and I love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>