Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]

Capitol Christian Music Group The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]

Switchfoot's "Beautiful Letdown" comes three years after their third independently-released album earning them critical acclaim and a hit single on rock and alternative radio with, "Meant to Live." The Beautiful Letdown has quickly proven to be the bands strongest and fastest selling album to date. 11 songs in all from Red Ink Records.
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Review 1 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
cindyamerican
Location:Gatwick, England
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this only for the More Than Fine and Gone tracks, but am loving the whole CD! Switchfoot have delightful lyrics and are technically excellent, from uplifting to calming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Good album, especially like the slower songs like THIS IS YOUR LIFE, DARE YOU TO MOVE and ON FIRE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Switchfoot has proven themselves in this CD. Every song on this CD is awesome!!! It is amazing how much they put into this album, and the songs really touch me personally. The Beautiful Letdown deserves way more than five stars... Wish I could give it more! If you are a diehard fan OR someone who has never heard much of them, well either way you'll love it! I also think it's awesome how they combined some "punk" sound with moving instrumental work. "On Fire" is softer sounding while "Meant to Live" is hard rock, but they combine on this album amazingly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alternative / Rock Fan
This is Switchfoot's second best album. I highly recommend getting it! My favorite songs are Meant to Live, Ammunition, Dare You to Move, Redemption, Gone, and Adding to the Noise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amanda
I am a music enthusiast, but I am very picky about what I listen to. This was kind of a dissapointment. All of the songs sound the same so they get extreemly boring extreemly fast. I do agree with one of the other comments: Listen to Kutless' "Sea Of Faces" before you buy this. Chances are you will like it better. I think the beautiful letdown WAS a real letdown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Katy
If I could, I'd rate this 6 out of 5 stars! It's by FAR the BEST Switchfoot album ever! I love "Meant to Live" and "Gone". Their style, in this album, is definitely punk rock/rock but in some songs there's a little bit of hip-hop (like in "Gone"). It's cool though. "Beautiful Letdown" has a great message about how "I don't belong here". This isn't one of those CDs that only has a couple of good songs because all of them are awesome! I don't know how many "The Beautiful Letdown" songs I have on my MP3 player, but there's gotta be almost all of them! If you haven't bought this CD and you're an SF fan (like me) buying this CD should without a doubt be on you're "top ten things I need to do in my life" list!!! ROCK ON SF!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Zoe
I first became interested in Switchfoot after attending a free (yes, free) concert with my youth group. I wasn't very familiar with their music, but I was pleased to learn that this CD (The Beautiful Letdown) had my two of my favorite songs on it, "This is Your Life" and "Meant to Live." I did not know these songs were Switchfoot until I attended the concert. Having said all that, I was extremely impressed with their mix of edgy rock, soulful chords, and powerful messages. The lyrics are vague at times, but that is to be expected from alternative bands. With this CD, I experienced other great songs, such as "Gone," "Ammunition," and "Adding to the Noise." I highly recommend this CD to people looking for a rock CD with great messages, but not overly preachy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tyler
SwitchFoot did a very good job on this album. Meant to Live is a very catchy song with a very clear message (hence the title)and other songs like this is you life have the same meaning as meant to live. one of the most up beat songs is adding to the noise which is a very unclear song and just kind of a catchy song but Jon Foreman says this song is about just taking time out to have silence and peace to Get Right with God. this album is probably Switchfoot's best I highly recommend it to everyone...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2007
This cd rocks my favorite songs are "Meant to Live" and "Adding to the Noise" and "Ammunition."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
megan
I love The Beautiful Letdown. Switchfoot is my favorite band ever! They're great! The lyrics are so deap and inspirational! I can't choose a favorite song, I love them all too much! Buy this cd!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelly
If you only ever listen to one Switchfoot CD (Not that I'm saying you shouldn't listen to all of them. They all rock!), let it be this one. Every song is amazing. It includes both of Switchfoot chart toppers "Meant to Live" and "Dare You To Mova", and also has some less notised, but amazing songs like "This is Your Life" and "On Fire". Perfect. Absolutly Perfect. I higly recommend Clicking the little "buy" button on this page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
olivia
Oh this is a fabulous cd! I love it! Switchfoot rocks. They're awesome, especially Jon! Sa weet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tyler Weld
This is a 5 star hit!!!!! Meant to Live is one of Switchfoots best songs along with gone. Most of the lyrics on this cd are about living to the best of your ability. This is truly one of the best Christian alternative album I've ever heard....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
I love this cd. It is so awesome. Fire, Dare You to Move, Ammunition, Gone, and Meant to Live are awesome! 24 is different, but I like it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Devin
What can I say? LOVE IT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Music Lover
Awesome cd by Switchfoot. I love "Meant to Live" and most others on the CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kelsye
This cd is fine! It has been perfectly made and beautifuly sung. I know- I review music all the time. It's great. go switchfoot! Keep it up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
ALEXANDRIA BRUTON
IT WAS THE BOMB.YOU RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2005
Customer Avatar
Finbar Calamatis
I loved this CD!! It's really really good. But, i kinda miss the old Switchfoot stuff. It's not the same :-(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Beautiful Letdown, Compact Disc [CD]
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
sarah
I love this cd!!! It totally rocks!!!!!!!!! This cd is my fav one out of all swithfoot cds!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.