Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Essential Records The Long Fall Back To Earth CD

Essential Records The Long Fall Back To Earth CD

The acclaimed rock band is back with lyrics that explore real-life issues and day-to-day experiences of the beauty and tension of relationships---and why they're worth fighting for! Arena-swelling rhythms and '80s-influenced sound flavor this 14-track CD that includes the songs "Two Hands," "Closer," "Hero," "Headphones," "There Might Be a Light," "Scenic Route," "Forgive Me," and "Heaven."
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Review 1 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good music

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
mama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion this album is better than their latest, The Shelter. I bought the two and listen to them both, but I like this one better. Great music, jars are top musicians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christian Lingner
Now going on 15 years since their astounding debut, Jars of Clay returns for the first time since 2006's acclaimed, "Good Monsters" with their tenth project, "The Long Fall Back to Earth." Although some of the songs are lengthy and repetitive, most are positive, mid-tempo tunes sounding similar to Brandon Heath and the vocal style of Phillip Larue. "Two Hands" is probably the catchiest song here, but they are (unsuprising) superior when they dig a little deeper, especially on "Boys (Lesson One)" and the near title track, "Safe to Land." Both hook-landen tracks have an intimacy that only such a mature band can capture. Absolutely brilliant, is the single way I can describe their songwriting, listener relatable and so emotionally expressive, this album is award-winning music in the making. Plenty of others deserve a mention, "Headphones" and the gripping, "Scenic Route" are great examples of this veteran bands' musical abilities. Not many artists can create 14 worth while tunes back to back, that neither get boring or fall into the cliche category. So though the heaviness of some songs may keep this disc from grabbing lots of new fans, at this point in Jars of Clay's career, it's not about topping charts, but making good music. And they have thoroughly succeeded with this one. ~ Christian Lingner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
GJG
This CD is very, very, very (did I mention very?) GOOD. There are more special sound effects that in earlier records, but it is as good as anything they've done before. 'Two Hands' and 'Boys (Lesson 1)' are by far the best tracks. There is also a really nice insturmental introduction to the CD. All in all, I give it 6 out of 5. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patty G
For the longest time, THE ELEVENTH HOUR was my favorite JARS OF CLAY CD...but this new one...WOW! Fantastic writing, creative instrumentation! My favorites tunes are HEADPHONES and DON'T STOP. Can't wait to introduce it to all my friends. We're Catholic and so much Christian music is just too cheesy and transparent to us. Yeah for you boys on stepping outside of the box!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carlton Lopez
Good music but a little light. This one sounds like it would be liked most by teens and to me it was a little different from what I have heard from them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tone E
Personaly, I am tired of hearing people say that this album is not Christian enough or that the lyrics are not deep. Most of those complaints are aimed at "Closer" and "Boys (Lesson One)". My only question is, since when are the concepts in those songs not Christian? Closer is about getting better relationships with one another ("Love one another as I have loved you") and Boys is a song about a father giving his son advice (Proverbs, anyone?) Just because they do not insert "Jesus" into every song or copycat other praise and worship songs does not make their album less Christian. I love Jars of Clay's ability to not make the same album over and over (like many Christian artists of today.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thomas
This release is as good as 'Good Monsters' or anything else Jars have done. With most artists one has to be content with 2 or 3 good tracks and the balance of the album is uninteresting. Jars of Clay consistently produce albums FULL of good songs. They are melodic enough to be catchy from the first listen, but complex enough to reveal musical subtleties again and again. We should know by now not to put them in any narrow category (80's wave) or to criticize them for what we think they are "trying" to be. They are quite simply among the most capable and entertaining Christian rock bands ever. "Hero" and "Safe to Land" are great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather
There is very little, musically speaking, that Jars of Clay has not done well. This album is no exception. The way they can trade music genres in and out, and still make it sound so them, never ceases to amaze me. That being said, if you are not a fan of 80's new wave music, you may not like the sound of this new album.I have one more bit to add. I have been noticing this type of mindset about christian music come up alot lately, so much so that I feel need to address it, especially since it was brought up about this particular album. Since when does christian music have to only be of the praise and worship type? God wants us to see the world, the whole world, through His eyes, to see His truth. Personally, I rejoice when I find artists that aren't afraid to sing about things that fall outside the box of christianity and put God's perspective on those things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susie Douglas
If you are a true Jars fan from day one, you will love this new CD. I think it's one of thier best! They do what they do best, true music with lyrics that are thought provoking & spiritual. I admire that they are not a "sell out" group just to make bank. They have stayed true to their giftings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark M
Well, it's good that the description clarified that they didn't intend any type of overtly Christian album here. Jars of Clay is basically trying to emulate a hip, indie band with this release. Most of the CD has a 80's retro techno feel that you will either love or hate. What I disliked more was that the lyrics are, for the most part, completely esoteric and obtuse. In the past Jars has shown that they can write spiritually deep lyrics without being cliche. Here they just seem to want to be 'clever' which comes off more confusing. If you are a fan of Jars of Clay pre-Good Monsters, buy with caution.Highlight:Two Hands
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Long Fall Back To Earth CD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dave Crowe
I give credit to Jars for expanding their musical palette. However, this sounds very little like their groundbreaking first album.I suggest you listen to "Don't Stop." If you like the song, you'll like the album. If youfind the song annoying-well, it's a long fall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.