Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Capitol Christian Music Group Vice Verses (Deluxe Edition)

Capitol Christian Music Group Vice Verses (Deluxe Edition)

Sunlight and shadow, laughter and pain, hope and fear, doubt and faith. Join Switchfoot as they explore the polarity of human experience in music and song---and celebrate God's unfailing love. All-new songs include "Afterlife," "The Original," "The War Inside," "Dark Horses," "Rise Above It," "Selling the News," "Where I Belong," "Blinding Light," and more. 24 Songs total.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
 out of 
(1 Review) 1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1 review)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vice Verses (Deluxe Edition)
Review 1 for Vice Verses (Deluxe Edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Switchfoot: Scripturally inspired and relevant

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Location:Kenosha, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a fan of Switchfoot for years, and with each of their new albums I've been consistantly amazed. The depth of Jon Foreman's lyrics (son of Mark Foreman, pastor and writer), and the quality of their musical "sound" (a blend of incredibly tuned and diverse mix of guitars, keyboards, versatile drum beats, and Jon's "quietly strong" voice) have always been stunning, but the songs on Hello Huricane upped the notch just a bit. And now, continuing the alliterating trend comes Vice Verses, a CD whose title comes from the song "Vice Verses" which speaks of life, death, and humbly asks God to point out the meaning of it all , ask for assurance. Their single "Restless" is a beautiful, longing worship song, a sub-genre that Switchfoot has been increasingly moving in (such as their previous singles from Hello Hurricane "Your Love Is A Song", "Always", and the non-single "Sing It Out", and of course their worship songs from their earlier releases). "Dark Horses" is about the homeless young children and teens Switchfoot has worked with in the Christ-based San Diago organization "Stand Up For Kids"... very inspiring. In an interview, Switchfoot explained the meaning of "Afterlife": how as believers we tend to hold on to the idea that we hold a "free ticket to Heaven" and then we don't try to influence the world around us. "Selling The News" challenges how the media has tried to influence and change our generation; a very relevant song in our post-modern Lady Gaga culture. Several other songs further explore themes concerning God and man, in only the way Switchfoot can. On their website it says that this deluxe edition also includes a live version of Hello Hurricane... so this is a great package!
3of 3voted this as helpful.