Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Word Entertainment Inc Be Still, My Soul CD

Word Entertainment Inc Be Still, My Soul CD

Rediscover your favorite spiritual hymns in contemporary arrangements! Raised by missionary parents, Todd and Nicol Smith started singing together in the isolation of the African bush. They sing in both English and Kitubu (the native dialect of Zaire) on this unforgettable collaboration with keyboardist Allan Hall. Features "Bika Mono Ve (It Is Well)," "Great Is Thy Faithfulness," and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Be Still, My Soul CD
Review 1 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Neumiller
One of their early CD's, but the music and Wordhip is timeless. If you like Selah you will enjoy this CD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Dahl
"It Is Well" is the song that led me to buy this CD; I heard this by Selah on the radio and it literally gave me "goose bumps" to hear it sung with such passion. I am so glad I bought the CD and have since bought all of Selahs' CD's. This one remains my favorite, it puts me in prayerful thought and also gets my "toes to tapping" and always makes it "well with my soul".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Couch
Awesome CD. This group is one of the best I have ever heard. I have 3 of their CD's. My only wish is that they would do a CD that had ALL new songs on it. It seems that they repeat several on each CD. I listen anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Miller
The first Selah cd I had ever gotten was Hiding Place and absolutely loved it! Their style is so sincere, moving, very well-blended and just beautiful. Be Still My Soul is excellent, as well. Since it was their first album, it's not as diverse and musically creative as the later ones, but it's so anointed and genuine. Be Still My Soul is my favorite hymn, and the first time I listened to Nicol singing it, with that AMAZING voice of hers, I cried, it was so honest and anointed. Each song is performed with such deep feeling... you know God used each song at some point in each one of their lives to prove His faithfulness. I highly recommend this cd!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anne
I love Selah and I love the"Be Still, My Soul" CD. I have this one and "Hiding Place." I play them constantly. I have given them to several others and they also love them. I miss Nicol on the newer ones and some of these seem to include a faster beat, and not as worshipful, as the ones I have and love. One of my dearest friends just died and I had given her these SELAH tapes and she listened to them alot before passing on into the presence of God. Her husband thanked me for introducting her to SELAH. I hope they get back to the sound they had in the beginnings. It's all good though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
I have 5 of their CDs and I would say that this one comes in 3rd place. Their CD "Press On" far exceeds this one. Still very good music as I take it this CD started it all. Very soulful music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Archabald
High quality and good selection of songs. I really liked this CD and recommend it to anyone who likes Selah!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mary Jane Brown
I love this song it speaks to my heart and speaks the my very thoughts ...it has gotten be through some rough times in my life ...Thank you so much for your sensitivty to the leading of the Holy Ghost. Mary Jane
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
grace
I love this cd especially precious Lord take my hand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Wanda Fandrich
I praise Father God for giving us His annointing power through music of committed and yielded vessels. It so moves me. Thank you Selah for your awesome testimony.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2002
Customer Avatar
Mrs. K.
Wow! Christianity Today was RIGHT in saying Selah does "some of the most passionate singing in all of Christian music." (In a review of their first album, Be Still My Soul.)We are new Selah fans, but are RUSHING to buy their albums now.Thanks so much for featuring their work on this site!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2001
Customer Avatar
Arthur Pangemanan
Selah is simply the best. Unbelievable vocal ranges and great control on high notes. They also did great arrangements on the songs. I saw them perform at my undergrad college, Union College and they rocked!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2001
Customer Avatar
Laura Dawson
You can absolutely feel the Spirit move within you when you listen to this CD. Selah is among the most talented and spirit-filled Christian artists out there today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2001
Customer Avatar
Heather Nicholson
This album is one of my absolute favorites!! Todd, Nicol and Allan are truly awesome people who have a tremendous love for the Lord and others. That love SHINES through their music! I have met them and consider them dear friends and I just pray that the Lord continues to bless them in all that they do!! I love you guys!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2001
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
I was really touched by Selah's music. I shared this album with several friends of mine and they really loved it. I also shared it with some new friends from out of state and now they have copies of the album too. It has been such a blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2000
Customer Avatar
Carol Epstein
These three talented young artists are heaven sent. Their angelic music will leave you filled with peace. I can't get enough of them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Be Still, My Soul CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jerry and Nancy St.Clair
This is one of most moving and beautifully sung and arranged Christian albums we have ever heard! God is within Selah's soul-when will there be another album??? "When I Survey the Wondrous Cross" was just tearful and joyous at the same time! The rest of the album follows with every song just singing praises!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.